We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic budget accommodation in a expensive country”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Citybox Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citybox Bergen
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic budget accommodation in a expensive country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Citybox Bergen has a fantastic location in the city center of Bergen, only a 5min walk from the Train- and Bus station, and a 10min walk from the Fish Market-area. It is a budget hotel, however it has everything you need and if you do it like us; spend a little extra, you get your own bathroom. Although, we were told that there is only two rooms that share one bathroom if you would like to have that option, which is nice. Citybox has a common area with a big sofa and a tv which is perfect for relaxing after a long day of exploring the city. In the common area they also have a microwave and a kettle so that you can heat your own food and make your own coffe/tea, which really commes in handy when you are travelling on a budget!
Also, the staff is really friendly and helpful. The Reception Manager, RoseMary, was always smiling and she helped us with all our questions and she even went and bought us things we needed for our camping trip because we were arriving so late!

All and all, we would recommend Citybox Bergen and we would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were told that the rooms with private bathroom had been refurbished in May and they have a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    127
    97
    27
    16
See reviews for
43
142
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice place. Clean rooms. It's a pity that they don't serve a breakfast....And the computer system doesn't work well... But beside this, location is perfect and rooms are comfortable. And I think that the price could be a little bit lower...Very nice and helpful staff. Especially two girls: Ingeborg and Catie. They always smile and have a good attitude to the guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here mid-July 2013 and it was pretty much what we expected having read the reviews. We chose Citybox fully due to the price and location (and because all the Ibis's were full - otherwise we would have paid slightly more to stay there).

So Citybox is fine if you're expecting a private-room hostel-type accommodation. The furniture is IKEA (including mattresses) and we had a room with shared bathrooms. The rooms are sparse (although they do include towels) with no toiletries or room-safe. As I said, we were prepared for this and had no problems with it. We never had any issues with the washrooms/showers being in use, and even though we were there a Friday and Saturday night, the rooms and halls were quiet. The double-blinds on the windows are nice given that it doesn't get fully dark during the night. The receptionist was very helpful and the coffee in the cafe was good. Although it seems expensive, you'll likely find that everywhere else is more so. It's the reality of being in Norway. There is a convenient grocery store across the street to save money on food.

I would stay here again, but would try to book in advance to get a room with an ensuite (the maid left some rooms open during cleaning and I had a sneaky peek).

Room Tip: If on a budget and used to hotels, shared washroom is fine. However I'd book the ensuite if I we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emwm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at city box hotel. We knew this was a budget hotel but when we arrived it was worse than many hostels we have stayed. When they say it includes wifi this only works from a common room by the front door so don't expect any Internet in your room. The cafe in the hotel is not fresh and very pricey although the coffee was really good. The mist surprising was after reading on their web page s out luxury beds we had two singles pushed together that were clearly on their last legs and blood and urine stains everywhere it was disgusting!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were touring through South Norway, and Citybox was a cheap (for Scandinavia) convenient option. A fairly minimal room - large enough, clean and functional. It looked recently refurbished. Bergen is not huge, so a 15 min walk away from the Harbour was not a great inconvenience. The electronic key system didn't work well, but someone was in attendance to sort it out. A little cafe attached, with a supermarket across the street made it easy for food & drink.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can suffer from street noise, but brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Room was filty, some kind of congealed body fluid smeared on wall. Lino on floor, ingrained dirt everywhere. Some other rooms I saw seemed to be furnished to higher standard and were cleaner. Wifi will not work in many places other than reception. Bed linen and shared bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee5p33dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagestad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is not a regularisering Hotel, more like a hostel. I booked in advance and recieved promptly an e-mail with instructions how to selfmade-check-in if arrival was after reception hours. We arrived late at night and the girl at the front desk called me to say they had problem w check in and that she waited for us. Much appreciated. We slept well, room was clean with a nice view of mountains. Shared bathroom worked fine. It was quiet at night and I think I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Bergen

Property: Citybox Bergen
Address: Nygaardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citybox Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices.Our rooms are cheap because we keep our overheads down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place to hang your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel.Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Bergen.If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Bergen is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citybox Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citybox Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing