We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$116
Hotels.com$116
FindHotel
Priceline$117
eDreams$111
Travelocity$116
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
328
281
93
42
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
328
281
93
42
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of character charming hotel perfect location bryggen fg bath waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 756 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

The Hanseatic was comfortable, the rooms were clean and well appointed. Extremely convenient location, about 50 feet from the world heritage site, one block from the station to go up Mt. Floyen, and within a couple blocks from the Torget Fish Market. The breakfast was very good and the location can’t be beat. If you want to feel like you are staying in one of the historic buildings similar to the Bryggens but want to do so in comfort, look no further.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is situated close to the harbour and is part of the UNESCO world heritage site! Close to the shops, fish market, bars and restaurants this hotel is perfect!
Inside the hotel offers quirky decor that is sumptuous and comfortable! The bar area is cosy, the restaurants are really lovely, check in was quick and easy! The rooms are all uniquely decorated with a different themes, all maintaining the quirky decor and fixtures and fittings! The underfloor heating was a godsend in the bathroom. We had a roll top bath, walk in shower and twin sinks. Our room was in the 4th floor and had its own staircase, a seating area, really comfortable king size bed and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was really good quality and the selection of hot and cold food was really good too. Overall a really pleasant stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank woods1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

This is in an old building in Brygen which was the headquarters of the Hanseatic League. Bathrooms have been modernised and were quite spacious. Our room had an armoire for storage. The floors creaked but that’s part of the charm of an old building in a historic area. We walked to the fish market where we had lunch one day. Around the corner is the museum dedicated to the history of the Hanseatic League.

Also if you are going to go on a cruise, it’s a short taxi ride away to the ships. It’s walkable but maybe not so convenient with luggage.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Friendly reception staff is always a good start to a stay. Buffet breakfast couldn't be faulted with a huge range of choices. I particularly enjoyed the fresh breads and fish selection. Room was quite small but as always in Norway a huge bathroom including a bath. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marilynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Check-in was nice and welcomed by hospital person

Antique room but not neatly fixed with new equipment blended without taste and value of old things

Look nice but could not sleep the whole night because noise from upper floor walking and dropping something. Noise from outside as the hotel did not invest for sound proof window. In fact old buildings can have all these properly fixed on.

Problem was reported to in-charge staff at 9a.m. hoping that the room can be changed. The answer was only the hotel was busy. No help could be done.

Originally plan was for 2 nights stay but without being taken care I could not spend another night without sleep quality and I wouldn’t let inhospitable people punish me at cost I spent. Of course I move to a much nicer hotel at approximately same price but much better room. There are plenty nearby.

Of course I paid for both nights for one night stay as their one time business seemed more important than long term.

Apart from that the Do Not Disturb light was on while we went out to find a new place to stay but staff came into the room, did the bed and changed towels.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Srayut E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews