We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to feel like you are part of the history of Bergen, go nowhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“If you want to feel like you are part of the history of Bergen, go nowhere else.”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Let me first say, I REALLY enjoyed Bergen and Det Hanseatiske Hotel. The hotel is funky and charming and very comfortable with great internet access and a super location.

1. For those people complaining about the noise, don't stay in the center of town if you want peace and quiet. I was never really bothered by the noise and had my windows open every night due to the heat.

2. Regarding the rooms being sauna-like, the weather in Bergen in the summer does not justify the cost of AC. I asked to use a fan and they supplied me with one. I slept like a baby in their fine linens.

3. The buffet breakfast was acceptable but not special.

4. I would say the staff tried to be helpful, but it seemed more student-run than professionally staffed. At a small hotel like this, I was not expecting a concierge to help me with recommendations. Could they have been more helpful? Yes. Was it a problem? No.

5. Price -- everything is expensive in Bergen. $10 for a beer, $15 for a bowl of soup, etc.. I was able to get a room via hotels.com for less than $150 a night, which I think was a very good deal in Bergen.

If you want the comforts and services of a big hotel, try the SAS down the road. If you want to feel like you are part of the history of Bergen, go nowhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    216
    70
    31
    6
See reviews for
74
326
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is the only review I've ever written, to my recollection, but don't want anyone else's vacation spoiled. We just got back from a trip to Norway, spent 2 nights at this hotel in Bergen (had 2 rooms both nites, both with same problems). Location is great (in theory), rooms charming/quirky, but the downstairs restaurants turn into bars that DO NOT CLOSE. There is NO a/c, so to breathe you must leave your windows open to the street below, filled with drunken crowds (and I mean crowds of hundreds, throwing glass bottles, screaming, etc) until past 4am. Yes, 4am. (And even then some revelers were still going strong). We begged for a fan several times, but couldn't get one for over 24 hrs. Rooms were stifling, and unbearable if you tried to close windows, even though the outside temp was cool. (I think it was due to ovens in the restaurants in the connected buildings and downstairs). Lack of sleep for 2 nites seriously hurt our Bergen visit, as did the hordes of people and the enormous amount of "tagging" (ugly graffiti painted all over buildings, even hundreds-years-olds stone walls). In short, loved Norway but found Bergen highly over-rated and this hotel deficient in the main thing a hotel should allow for: actual SLEEP.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athabascariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

There is extreme noise from bar-goers on the main frontage of this hotel until about 3am. Mostly on Fridays/Saturdays I think, but occasional noise on other nights. You can't close the windows because there's no A/C so the room would be a sauna on hot nights. Even with the windows open there's very little cross ventilation. The hotel should at least purchase fans for hotter nights.
This hotel has a lot of charm, a dead center location and reasonably large deluxe rooms, but nothing else really impressed me. The buffet breakfast is second rate by Norwegian standards. The colleges kids working the front desk were polite but not really professional hotel staff (busy facebooking, smoking on the front stoop with friends...). Very few hotel amenities.
Bottom line: overpriced and not making an effort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fran9669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Det Hanseatiske is a lovely, charming hotel with all the modern amenities. The layout of the entire hotel awoke my sense of exploration. There are lots off odd angles and short halways to wander about. The staff was kind and helpful. Our room was at the top with a slanted roof and beams crossing, so you must be careful to not knock your head (remember to take a nap on the flight).
The four starts is a result of the rooms being sauna-like in a rare heatwave that occurred. There is no AC, but the staff was kind enough to give us a strong fan.
There are multiple restaurants associated with the hotel. I especially enjoyed the outdoor seating at Mezzo for excellent fish.
I'd definitely go again, but with a few sun dresses in case it gets too hot ;)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

The bottom line: I thought it was overpriced for what it was.

Positives:
Great Location - in center of town
Nice rooms - even our attic-type room was pleasant.

Mixed:
The first day breakfast was excellent and varied. The second day, the breakfast choices were spartan.

2/3 of the personnel did not give correct information and seemingly didn't care. One day I asked if the Internet was down - shrug of shoulder and "don't think so" response.
One day there were 3 young women working on the computer at the front desk - they all ignored me when I asked a question.
No one knew where the closest ATM machine was.

I think there are better deals to be found in Bergen. Bergen is a very small town and if you don't mind walking, you could save at least $100/night.

Don't miss these in Bergen:
One night we ate at Cafe Opera. Great meal and reasonably priced ($55 for 2).
Informative 1 1/2 walking tour led from the Visitors Center
Nice level, rock paved walking trails at the top of the Funicular.

  • Liked — Large bathroom
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano, italia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Very nice hotel, but a little too expensive.
The room is excellent and the bathroom too, but it is a little noisy (due to its excellent position overlooking the fish market, harbour and town centre).
Very nice and helpful staff.
No sauna-we were disappointed.
And breakfast is a little below the Norwegian average.

  • Liked — bathroom and bathtub
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elenita976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We agree with many of the comments made by other reviewers - on both sides of the scale. It does have history, charm, and potential; most of the negatives would be easy to rectify (e.g. the breakfast).

What we did not see mentioned in any of those reviews, however, was the downside of its central location - NOISE!!! The street noise is bad enough - throughout the day and until the wee hours of the morning (e.g., 3:30AM). But the room we were assigned, #35, was directly over a very popular pizza parlor! The noise level was the worst - by far - that we've ever encountered in any hotel, anywhere. Our friends were in #38, around the corner of the building, so didn't get quite as much noise, but still had difficulty.

It's a shame, because otherwise we would recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — historical structure
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conch-Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Property: The Hanseatic Hotel
Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing