We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Central, historic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had two short stays in May/June at either end of a cruise. It's been beautifully and gently restored and adapted from a merchant's house to its new role as a hotel. You can see other merchant's houses along the road but if you stay here you can go almost anywhere in the building. It's at the harbour, right in the old centre of the town. Each room was excellent and individual in character. The staff were all friendly and helpful. At all times there was a security/doorman to greet you and help you with any problems. Everyone spoke English.

We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in the dining room which again was individual. The food was very good but it's not "haute cuisine".

There also modern hotels nearby but if you want to immerse yourself in this historic town this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side are quieter. Rooms at the front have a better view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for The Hanseatic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in Bergen and made the right choice with this Hotel. Bedrooms are nicely decorated, very clean, comfy beds. Nice big bath.

Lovely bar, enjoyed a couple of cocktails!

Restaurant very pleasant.

Great location, right in the centre. Perfect place to explore Bergen.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank EMMAJOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is tip top!! While the corridors are angled and off skew as befits the history of this building, our room was a spacious surprise with all the comforts you'd hope for.
I foolishly left my red sunhat behind during a 6am departure to catch a flight. Can't praise the service from Erik enough! Outstanding service with incredibly good cheer. He posted my hat to my next destination in Norway and emailed each step (found the hat, posted the hat) to keep me informed. Favourite sunhat received safely! This is service worthy of accolades - it really makes a hotel shine above others! Thank you so much :))
Mary Anne, Sydney

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maveliscek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Det Hanseatiske which was a merchants house while we were in Bergen. If you want to understand this property, take the complementary tour at the museum on the corner, and then walk through the other part of the "Bryggen". Each room in this place is different. We were fortunate enough to get an attic room with the original 300 year old crane and rope in the bath. The room had been remodeled and everything was very up to date complete with light dimmers!

The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is a lovely and a great way to start the day. The location is just a few steps away from the old wharf, the train/bus station is about a 10 min walk, and the tram to the "stave" church is just across the main square. If you want to eat with the "locals", there are several good restaurants just of that square (near the art museums).

We would highly recommend this if you are looking for a great place to stay in Bergen while you are working your way along the east coast, or are doing the "Norway in a Nutshell".

Room Tip: We stayed in room 447 which had the old crane and was an inside room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Outstanding. The hotel is in the old wharf area of town. It may be a reconstruction but if it is it's faithful to the original wharf structures - wooden construction, all angles and weird staircases and very quirky. A nice room though no view - I suspect not something they thought of in 1170. Good bathroom and facilities, great breakfast and good service. The location is the best feature, next to the fish wharf on one side with bars & restaurants, and right in the historic part of town. To be honest, it's difficult to imagine a better tourist hotel in Bergen.
And if you think it's expensive, welcome to Norway. Comparatively speaking, it's good value.

Room Tip: We had a 'luxury' room which was good, can't comment on their standard rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A very cozy hotel in the middle of Bergen center. Although unconventional, it was a breath of fresh air for a guy who travels a lot for business. Stayed here one night and was really impressed by the unique hotel room. Its great living in a cozy hotel like this when traveling for business instead those standard "cold" hotel rooms!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank henrh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hotels rooms and restaurants have been put into an historic building at the center of activity in Bergen. Summer nights can be very noisy.

We had a room on the inner fourth floor, with skylight windows and low beams. The area was spacious, but I had to be extremely careful not to bash my head on the beams, But it was quiet, and had both a shower and bath.

The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid outside rooms if noise bothers you. Avoid attic rooms if you are very tall.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
664 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 49 in Bergen
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $176 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing