We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Enchanting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Bergen is a beautiful, rainy city. Think smaller, wetter, Seattle with more attractions. The Det Hanseatiske was built in the 1200's and is 16 rooms, beautifully appointed to capture the Hanseatic Culture from the 17th Century. The included restaurant is top drawer, and the rooms are spacious and inviting. Our room had THE best bathroom we have ever experienced in Europe.

Norway is a very expensive country, and by Norwegian standards, the rate at $285 nightly would be considered a steal. This charming lodging in the heart of the Bryggen community, close to truly outstanding restaurants (and suggestions by the hotel should be trusted) and less than three short blocks from the funicular which should not be missed.

Room Tip: Bring rain gear, good wet-weather shoes, and layer, layer, layer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madqdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 623 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed two nights following a two-week fjord cruise. We were given a room on the fourth floor, had to take the elevator to the third floor then lug bags to fourth. The room was nice, beamed ceiling in room and bathroom is a nice touch. We found it odd that there were ear plugs on the side tables. Found out why that night; local youth partied hardy in the harbor area until 0300. Also the walls for our room were paper thin. All that said, the location is very nice. Amenities in room were very good. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaltimoreHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at this Hotel just 3 weeks ago over 3 nights. The Hotel overcharged us, compared to our booking confirmation, by 1.790 NOK, which is roughly 240 Euros. I figured this out when we got back home and have in the meantime sent them 3 eMails to explain and ask them for correction. They didn't even got back to me. I agree with what most of you are probably thinking right now "why didn't you check before you paid" and you are absolutely right, I should have. Just make sure you will do this when you stay there next time.
As nice as a Hotel and it's staff might be such a situation is unacceptable and I, based on this experience, would not recommend to stay at such a Hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank StephanLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived after a very long flight from D.C. via Copenhagen and were greeted by wonderful people. The manager was concerned that the room we had booked would be too small for us and a month's worth of luggage. As it was early we sat for a while in the small lobby and then left our luggage to walk a bit and get our bearings. When we returned, we were upgraded to what I would consider a junior suite with loads of room, fabulous bathroom, comfortable beds at no additional charge. Our luggage fit perfectly.

The care and concern continued at every level including terrific breakfasts and excellent and reasonable dinners and knowledgeable wait staff The whole tone was making guests as comfortable as possible. Going above and beyond was a hallmark. The manager accompanied us and our luggage to the station for the scenic train to Oslo, our next destination and loaded our luggage onto the train since there were no carts or others to assist us.

Would go back just for the hotel although we loved Bergen.

Room Tip: Be explicit as to what you need. Higher floors are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before and after our Hurtigruten trip. We stayed in the same room on both occasions. The room was large with a comfortable bed and a superb bathroom complete with bath. Our stays were during the week so the room at the back of the hotel was very quiet. Breakfasts were typically Scandinavian and included the nicest yoghurt I have ever tasted. The staff were very and helpful. One went out of his way to find information for us when there were some doubts about the sailing of our Hurtigruten ship. The sailing the night before had been cancelled.
This hotel is quaint and quirky. We loved the uneven floors, the huge sloping wooden beams and the decor.
The hotel is in an excellent location right at the city end of the Bryggen and above the museum. The hotel entrance is along the right side when facing the museum.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again for its friendliness, service and most of all a chance to stay in a beautiful old building with lots of history.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you are worried about size. Back rooms are very quiet except for Saturdays w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhondaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Right in the center of the hustle and bustle of the port is this lovely boutique hotel. Just behind the Hanseatic museum. You might never walk in as it looks like an old brick building. What a pleasant surprise!!! Old world charm with very modern accents. We paid a little extra for a deluxe double...and had a terrific room (343). Very large, very modern bathroom, elegant bed linens, large flat screen TV, tastefully decorated. A perfect oasis in the middle of the city. One night it was raining so hard we had a drink in the bar and ate in the hotel restaurant. It was absolutely charming, what a treat! Even if you do not stay in the hotel would recommend to try the restaurant, excellent fish, seafood pasta, and other specialties... A must visit for all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Hanseatic Hotel is right by the Fish Market in Bergen, Norway. It is in an old building but is modern and comfortable with all the facilities you could wish for.

The hotel has great style and flair with an interesting mixture of textures.

It is very centrally located. Although we had a room right on the road, there was no noise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
334 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $94 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing