We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay - if you need to be close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury , UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The only place to stay - if you need to be close to the airport”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Ideal location for our late arriving flight, given its within a 3 minute walk from the airport. Not ideal if your after a base to explore Bergen given its a circa 30 - 40 minute drive to Bergen town centre.

Well maintained and newly built with some great nordic design features. Modern rooms albeit similar to many other international conference hotels. Good breakfast.

Ticked all the boxes - no compliants

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenairport, Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear Mr and Mrs Smith!
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Mrs Solmunde
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    262
    71
    28
    10
See reviews for
91
209
64
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed in this hotel, as my fiance was leaving the country, and we wanted our last day together to be filled with quality time.

We arrived early, but got a room at once. It had a lousy view of the parking lot, but a very interesting view of the shower: A completely clear glass box in the middle of the room. We see each other naked every day, but some privacy when scrubbing down would still have been nice.

The WiFi is prepaid, but is offered complimentary by the staff. I've read some complaints that you have to fetch new cards at the reception whenever it runs out, but I got three at check-in with no questions asked.

Maybe it was because it was around Christmas, but I could get complimentary cookies, cofffee, gluwein, etc. in the reception area.

Breakfast was very good, though they started putting the buffet out at the time when it was supposed to open. Made my fiance have to settle with a cracker with cheese before leaving for his plane. When I got back after dropping him off, I had a very nice breakfast with good bread, scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, etc. etc. The breakfast here is supposed to contain a lot of ecological products. I didn't really notice many of those...

This hotel is great if you need a comfortable place to wait for a plane leaving early next morning, and the walking distance to the airport is perfect. If you want to stay in Bergen, though, choose somewhere in town.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlSHHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

So called design hotel. Towel holder hanging over the toilet. Only one set of towels, no floor towel/mat. Soap dispenser in the shower defect. Pillows too big. Rooms, food and drinks highly expensive as hotel has the monopole role directly at the airport. Small rooms. Carpet not thoroughly cleaned. Ice from footpath in front of the hotel not removed. Breakfast waiter had dirty shoes. Breakfast better than standard, except that no bacon was offered. Nice and big jacuzzi in the gym overlooking the runway. All in all you are better of with any other hotel near the airport if you dont care for design but the good old comfort at reasonable prices. Even if you take a taxi from the airport to the Scandic Bergen Airport Hotel it will be lots cheaper. The Scandic even provides free parking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoastalVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Nice staff, right by the airport, comfortable room, great buffet breakfast. My only complaint is the wireless internet code is good for only 12 hours, 3pm to 3am. Then you get another one from front desk. Awkward.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kulnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We arrived in Bergen about noon after an uncomfortable overnight flight to Amsterdam and a plane change to Bergen. The hotel is only about 200 meters from the airport terminal door, so we left our bags on the airport's baggage cart and pushed them up the slope to the lobby entrance. Despite a published check-in time of 15:00, the registration desk checked us in immediately, and told us we could simply leave the baggage cart in the hall when we were done with it.

The standard double room was spacious by European standards, which means it was still small in comparison to what most Americans expect. But it was more than adequate for the one night we expected to be there. Nicely decorated, and everything worked. Note to American guests: in an increasingly common European practice, you will need to insert a room-key card into a slot in the wall near the door in order for the lights and A/C to work. Nice assortment of toiletries in the bathroom, and almost too much hot water in the shower. Although our room faced the airport runway and terminal ramp, the soundproofing was excellent and we were not disturbed by aircraft noise at any time. Dinner in the restaurant was a little expensive, but not excessively so. The breakfast buffet (included in the cost of the room,) was excellent, with everything from an English style full hot breakfast with eggs, sausages, beans and broiled tomatoes, through fresh fruit and muesli, to local preferences like smoked fish and pickled herring. Drinks in the bar were VERY expensive due to Norway's high VAT on alcohol.

This hotel is less than three years old and is decorated in a very spare Scandanavian Modern style which we found quite appealing. We would happily stay there again were we ever to go back to Bergen.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakektn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nicely decorated and good breakfast. However no towels in the room, we had to ask for them to be brought up. Also no free shower gels etc as you'd expect in a hotel for this price. We booked online shortly before we arrived and this seemed to cause confusion. Room was quite small. A good 20/30 drive into Bergen. Parking was in airport car park and some distance from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejay150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The rooms are good, not big, but comfortable, with modern touch, impeccably clean, friendly service. The most impressive - breakfast buffet which had all from salmon to tropical fruits. The richest offer we have seen so far in our years of extensive travel. The price is a bit elevated, but you wouldn't regret it in the end.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicDjuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
582 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 47 in Bergen
605 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Address: Flyplassvegen 551, Bergen 5869, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#2 Business Hotel in Bergen
#2 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is built in direct connection to Flesland, Bergen's airport. From the airport you can walk straight into a vibrant hotel with a personal touch. A visit to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is the best way to start or finish your stay in Bergen.The hotel has 1600 square meters of conference venues with a total capacity of more than 1200 people. Our 16 meeting and conference rooms are designed for modern requirements, with large windows and the latest technical solutions. We have experienced staff who will help you to plan and run a successful meeting, conference or other event. Our aim is to solve problems that may arise before they become an issue, so that you can focus on your work.At the same time, we are more than a conference hotel and have something for everyone. The restaurant and bar Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson serves food inspired by Manhattan using locally sourced ingredients. If you want to unwind we recommend a visit to our relax department PAUSE on the top floor. Recharge in the sauna or work out in the gym with a view of the runway.We welcome you to a modern and trendy design hotel with interesting architecture, modern art and musical inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing