We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 1/2 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you have an early departure or very late arrival this might be a good choice as the hotel is literally about 100 feet from the terminal while being a 45 minute bus ride or 25 minute cab ride from downtown. The large breakfast buffet was one of the best we experienced while in Norway. We asked for and were given a quiet room at the end of the hall. The glass on the bathroom doors is semi translucent so someone in the room can see into the bathroom. A mistake was made on our bill at checkout but was promptly corrected by management when brought to their attention. The thermostat seemed permanently set. This was the most expensive hotel of our stay in Norway costing about $500 for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback - We appreciate your honest opinion.

We will continue to challenge each other to be better!


Tina Våtvik Olsen - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 885 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Positive: Walking distance to the airport, only one in Bergen. Nice room with a view to the runway. There were egg&bacon at 4 in the morning for breakfast, i did not expect that.

Negative: The restaurant is connected to the lobby. There was strange and irritating music. The Clarion hotels have an very "eco-friendly" approach. This means that you sometimes walk in total darkness because of electricity savings. Some noise from airplanes.

A curiosity: The hotel have forbidden all form of "hanky panky television"..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Two nights at the Clarion BGO and very happy with choice. Right on terminal so great for early morning departures. Staff always helpful. The restaurant menu is a little short on choice but the food was excellent. As is common in Scandinavia, food and drink is pricey compared to UK. About 25 mins to Bergen by car or transfer coaches nearby.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned for those who need to catch an early flight, the welcome at reception was very warm, and the room was spacious and comfortable. It all started to go wrong when we went to the restaurant. The 'manager', or at least the man who seemed to be nominally in charge managed to lose our order, and even after he had come back and taken it again, nothing appeared for another 45 minutes. as we had only ordered one course because we wanted a quick supper before an early flight, this was frustrating. eventually some distinctly average food arrived, and then when we tried to get the bill, our so called manager/waiter was nowhere to be seen. We eventually found him chatting away to the receptionist. We were clearly not pleased with what had happened, and to be fair he apologised and made a deduction from the bill. Nevertheless, the service was appalling, and we noticed that we were not the only people who were annoyed and angry at this man's appallingly slovenly approach to his customers and to his responsibilities. I should add that nothing that happened was the fault of the young and obviously inexperienced waitress who was trying her best despite the incompetence and indifference of her boss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moratin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Visited recently for a short meeting, and decided to come a bit early to enjoy the hotel the night before. Wasn't able to try the spa since the couple in teh hot tub when I peeked in didn't look like they wanted company but I did try the restaurant. Appetizer soup was recommended and was okay (lukewarm like it had just been nuked) and was missing its garnish. I pointed it out and discovered it was discounted on the tab when I paid, a nice touch. The main course was quite good, a hanger steak with mushrooms.

Breakfast was really excellent. I especially liked the orange juicing machine and the spicy smoothies, and the coffee was better than the average slop that Norwegian hotels usually offer. Fruit was properly fresh, and for the gluten-free people I'm sure the separate gluten free area with its own toaster would be appreciated.

The room was excellent and comfortable with the HUGEST pillows I've ever seen in a room, and the lighting and workspace was adequate for my needs. Would have been nice to have a desk lamp instead of overhead spotlight though- I loathe overhead lights in hotel rooms if at all possible to avoid. Bathroom was spotless but I missed the bathmat- it's rather convenient to have something on the floor to absorb post-shower footprints.

Finally, the meeting facilities were very convenient and the front desk helped me out of a printer related problem quickly and with a smile. Internet connection is fast and reliable and the meeting room technology worked without a hitch. Also was great to be underway so quickly after the meeting was over, with the airport so close and the arrivals/departures on display in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed here several times commuting to and from the oil rigs, the staff are all lovely and friendly and make you feel welcome.
Ideal location for the airport as 2 min walk away.
Being where it is there isn't much option for eating unless you grab a sandwich from the airport, the food is quite terrible, the menu is small and doesn't seem to change.
They have 4 options on the snack side and 4 options on the main courses, I've eaten most of it and its not that good, very stodgy and not much effort put in. Breakfast isn't great either.
The kitchen lacks inspiration and its a pity as everything else with the hotel is A1.
You do get a slight aviation fuel scent in the rooms facing the runway but I've smelt it in other airport hotels.
Rooms are really quiet.
I only stay here because of the location and it is 300nok dearer a night than the ones 2k away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

It's at the airport, and that's 30-40 min from city center. Still, it's one of my favourites. Big and great bed, clean, super breakfast, love the interior and design, frendly staff. Just great! And I like the view as well, the airport runway :)
Everytime I'm on a business trip in Bergen, this hotel is my first choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reiselykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
724 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Address: Flyplassvegen 551, Bergen 5869, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#2 Family Hotel in Bergen
#2 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $144 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is built in direct connection to Flesland, Bergen's airport. From the airport you can walk straight into a vibrant hotel with a personal touch. A visit to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is the best way to start or finish your stay in Bergen.The hotel has 1600 square meters of conference venues with a total capacity of more than 1200 people. Our 16 meeting and conference rooms are designed for modern requirements, with large windows and the latest technical solutions. We have experienced staff who will help you to plan and run a successful meeting, conference or other event. Our aim is to solve problems that may arise before they become an issue, so that you can focus on your work.At the same time, we are more than a conference hotel and have something for everyone. The restaurant and bar Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson serves food inspired by Manhattan using locally sourced ingredients. If you want to unwind we recommend a visit to our relax department PAUSE on the top floor. Recharge in the sauna or work out in the gym with a view of the runway.We welcome you to a modern and trendy design hotel with interesting architecture, modern art and musical inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing