We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best possible location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best possible location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel is located on the best part of Bryggen, right in the very center of Bergen. We had a beautiful room on the top floor, with a good view of parts of Bryggen. As the room had no air-condition, we had a little challenge regarding the rather hot weather during our stay - all windows were in the ceiling, so if we opened too much, the occasional rain shower could make the room a bit wet. The breakfast was excellent, as in most Scandinavian hotels, including decent coffee. We came to Bergen by bus, and the hotel is within walking distance from the bus station, and the bus to the airport stopped right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Morten_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    374
    120
    44
    17
See reviews for
211
556
50
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

During our recent holiday, this was one of the best hotels at which we stayed.

The Flybussen from the airport dropped us at the door. Tickets for the 45-minute ride were NK 90 each and can be bought with cash from the driver or with a credit card from a ticket machine.

The building itself is a treasure! It has been boldly decorated with accents of purple and bronze, offset with crystal chandeliers. The very high ceilings and thick carpets underfoot add to the ambience, as do the comfortable chairs and sofas arranged in the lounge off the foyer. The library area in one corner would not look out of place in a stately home.

As for the accommodation… We were thrilled with our room which overlooked the harbour. The room itself was large, with enough space for a coffee table and two lounge chairs, in addition to the chair at the desk. The large bathroom was thoughtfully planned; the heated towel rail was a luxurious touch, as were the extra towels.

Prompt attention was given by Maintenance staff to replacing a blown light globe in the bathroom. (However, one of the two bedroom windows abuts the wall, so there is no room to pull the curtain across. It needs to be pushed across, but to do that requires a rod. Attention Maintenance staff again, please!)

The meals provided are included in the price of the room; that’s a huge saving in Bergen. In the dining area, there was always someone from the kitchen available to explain what each dish was and to replace empty platters. Although there was not a huge range of food available, no-one seemed to go hungry! (Dinner each evening while we were there consisted of one soup, one hot dish, one potato dish, one dessert and plenty of salads. We certainly liked nearly everything on offer and didn’t mind clearing the table ourselves.) Serve-yourself tea and coffee were available from the dining room throughout the day.

If you’re able to climb a few stairs and are not afraid of heights, do take the time to access the tower for a 360 deg. bird’s-eye view of Bryggen, the harbour and its environs.

A small supermarket is located up the hill to the right of the entry and it’s a short walk to the funicular up to Mt Floyen. The walk up to the town itself takes you past the shops and restaurants of Bryggen and the Fish Market, all interesting viewing in Bergen.

We had expected a wonderful location on the wharf, two meals a day (as well as make-your-own pancakes mid-afternoon), and friendly staff, but we had not expected such sumptuous surroundings.

We would definitely choose this hotel again and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very nice hotel, fantastic room, lovely bed and pillow. Clean. Breakfast, a afternoon snack (pancakes), and a evening buffet included in the price, a nice surprise since I din't know that when I booked the room. Very good location.
I will stay there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 992Mona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I wish I had an adjective to describe this place ... all I could come up with was "OK"
rooms were .... OK
service was ... OK
food was ... slightly less than OK but acceptable for the price (free)
location was good but the views were ... OK
if you are just spending a few nights in Bergen then this is not a bad choice. if you are spending more than a few nights in Bergen ... don't. its crowded with tourists and is not overly impressive. fun for an evening or 2. after that best to move on to more interesting places in Norway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, although we didn't get the sea view we had imagined beforehand. We could just glimpse the water when standing by the window. The room was small but cosy. It was clean, nice and well decorated, but there was a high pitch beeping sound which kept annoying us all the time - from the ventilation or something?

The hotel is beautifully decorated in nice colours and furniture. The lobby and restaurant were nice, and the breakfast buffet was good. The mid-day snacks and dinner menus were fine for me, but people who like more meat and heavier meals will probably not be sated by what was offered later in the day.

I was slightly disappointed by the gym and the relaxation area. I would have expected more facilities in the gym, with more apparatus. The relaxation area was also right next to the gym area, so if you want to relax, you definitely cannot do it if somebody wants to work out. The sauna did not seem to be turned on either (it was sweltering hot outside, though. But I'm just saying...).

The staff was extremely helpful and sweet. No complaints there!

Location, location, location!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Facing the waterfront on the edge of the town and the old fortress the location is perfect especially for jet lagged first day visitors. Early checkin is available if there are rooms so be sure to ask. Rooms are up to date, staff is friendly, wireless is free.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We're in a family room on the second floor with our four kids. The room has two double beds. We've pushed them together to reduce the chance of anyone falling out and maximize bed space. We co-sleep at home so this works for us. For those who sleep more traditional I wouldn't try this with more than two kids, as the room and beds aren't huge. There was a travel crib in here when we arrived and using that could make this room accommodate three traditionally sleeping kids.

The location is great for Bryggen tourist stuff.

Breakfast is very good, and closes at 9:30 on weekdays and 10 on weekends.

Make-your-own free waffles are available from 3-6.

A free light dinner is available from 6-9. Norway is laughably expensive and with these eating options, one could avoid spending any money on food. We've still eaten out, but it's great knowing that we can supplement this way, perhaps feeding the kids at the hotel and then going out for a dinner that they wouldn't like, for example. We had the dinner tonight and it was pretty good. There was a soup, a few cold salads, salad stuff, a couple of buffet hot containers with sliced meat, (bad) mashed potatoes, bread and butter, and the same standard mediocre dessert that they have every night, some sort of flan.

We went up to the tower today, which provides as good as view as any pay-to-climb-it tower that you can find all over Europe. One wonders why they haven't made it into a really expensive guest room.

In short, if you can find a room in this hotel that can accommodate your travelling party, it's a great choice and the wide variety of free eating options, if used, can offset the high room prices.

It's worth noting that we originally booked two rooms, but I called to ask if we could somehow squeeze into just one by using extra beds. It turned out that the family room was available, even though it hadn't come up as an option online. It's worth calling.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mckmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing