We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but terribel at gluten free food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A very nice hotel, designer rooms and lobby. Rooms are nice, but to many whit split beds. To chair, tabel, DVD player, desk.They have free tasting, and vaffels or other for guests at evening. Easy transport right outside. And staff in front desk.

But if you have allergi, I have gluten allergi, they are terribel! No, qlue what they do. Have bred right over fork and nife. They can't help you whit getting breakfast, first time beans was whit gluten. Staff that didn't want to help.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Tor arne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

First-rate hotel. splendid location. Warm, comfortable feel. Rooms are generally spacious (at least the doubles are). Front desk staff is fabulous. Evening meal is a bonus; includes hot and cold items.


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
2  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roza Linn L, Hotel Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for your great review and that you enjoyed the stay at the Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with other readers

We hope we will see you soon her again

Best regards from all the staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is right next to the Radisson Airbussen Airport Bus stop (which is very handy when you are lugging big suitcases) and the Bryggen UNESCO listed area. It is 5 min walk into town and about 10 minutes to the railway station. The rooms were funky with great bathrooms and good WiFi. The building itself is very interesting. Staff were friendly, the buffet breakfast was superb, free afternoon waffles were great and the evening buffet was perfect. Not cheap (hey, it's Norway after all) but excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roza Linn L, Hotel Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for your great review and that you enjoyed the stay at the Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with other readers

We hope we will see you soon her again

Best regards from all the staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have been in several hotels in Bergen, but am not particularly happy with the Thon or Scandic hotels. The Admiral hotel is too old-fashioned and the Radisson Blu even for Norwegian standards just too expensive.

The Clarion Collection Havnekontoret is offering best of all the others: reasonably prices (for Norwegian standards that is), excellent location (Bryggen), parking next door (shared with Radisson Blu), right in the city center. The ferry terminal to Stavanger and Hirtshals is just round the corner.

The rooms are comfortable and large enough. The front desk staff is particularly friendly and breakfast is good.

This will be the hotel I will stay on my next trip to Bergen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked Clarion Havnekontoret to celebrate our wedding anniversary based on the rave reviews in Tripadvisor and I must say that for the price the hotel rather disappointed.
On arrival we found that there was no access to the main entrance for push-chairs. I queried this with reception (also asking for a 'wheel chair side entrance' or similar). But no, we had to man-handle both luggage and the push-chair up 3-5 steps to enter the hotel. That would have been OK but none of the staff on duty offered to help but rather watched as we laboured.
I had been very specific on the booking regarding size of room, view, upper floors etc but none of this seemed to have made it through the booking system and it was only after being first in one cramped room with no view that I had us transferred to a slightly more spacious room with a limited view.
Breakfast was OK but by nordic standards nothing special.
Staff were generally of limited assistance. We just got the impression that everyone working there was part-time or a student.
The only exception was the kitchen staff who were both friendly and helpful - as we were travelling with our infant son we had the usual odd requests.
I know it's central and with some nice historic features however with so many gold plaques saying that so-and-so stayed here, customer satisfaction etc It just didn't seem they were talking about the same hotel we experienced.
For the money I'd prefer a family room at the Hotel Grand Terminus.

Room Tip: There are a lot of rooms overlooking a central courtyard which is not very scenic. Views are availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandJ_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Rooms while small like most European hotel are beautifully decorated. Hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area. They have a wonderful free breakfast. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Lobby is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roza Linn L, Hotel Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for your great review and that you enjoyed the stay at the Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with other readers

We hope we will see you soon her again

Best regards from all the staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great location if you want to not only be able to see the water but quickly walk into the city. It was a nice surprise that breakfast was included and they have a nice little self cook grill you can cook eggs and bacon if you want. The staff was also nice and helpful

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront are worth a few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
680 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
321 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $207 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing