We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 with the family.

The best thing is the location, right next to Bryggen...the UNESCO World Heritage "old town/trading quarter" in Bergen. the harbor is right there as well, so the Fish Market is barely a 10 min walk at leisurely place...same distance to the Funicular and several large restaurants. To top it off, the Airport Shuttle stops right outside the door and is a viable option even if you have large bags with you.

We had a Family Room, which meant that it was the largest room we had in our Scandinavian adventure. Here was more than enough space for 3 people and several bags and the extra couch bed. The bathroom was large as well. The only issue I had was the view into an internal courtyard (would have been nice to get a harbor view) and the lack of an electronic safe in the room. The bed was 2 double beds put together, but this again is a cultural problem across the region and some how can't be helped.

As many before me have mentioned...the view from the Tower is great. It offers a unique high view of the harbor...so it's a must to get up there.

Staff was the friendliest we had in Scandinavia, always happy to help out with anything, including heavy luggage, pillows, maps, directions, etc...

The breakfast was decent and included in our room rate. Good choice of food. We also ate the Fternoon pancakes and lit evening meal a couple of times. Definitely helps in getting the budget under control.

Overall, I would stay here again, if given a chance. Although the other side of town near Old Bulls Plass seems a bit hipper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    375
    120
    44
    17
See reviews for
211
557
50
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I just like this place best when I'm in Bergen. The price is a bit in the high end, but the location, historic place and rooms are worth it. The rooms are not particularly big, but enough. Good with a work station in the rooms. The breakfast has some fruits and greens. Would have liked a little more greens, though. The breakfast is not the biggest or best in Bergen (if that's your thing, then you should rather stay at Hotel Norge), but I like it best there still.
There is a tiny work out station with a treadmill in the basement.

The airport bus stops right outside as well. Very close to the historic Bryggen.

Also, the hotel owner does NOT use tax havens to avoid tax to Norway, but pays his fair share in tax to the welfare system in Norway. I like that too.

Room Tip: The superior room with sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passport007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very comfortable beds in the family room that accommodated a family of four. The shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were an added plus. Breakfast and light dinners were excellent. The hotel is centrally located near the harbor surrounded by many shops and restaurants. Best to take taxi from train station if it is raining or taxi to the airport if you want to arrive faster than the airport bus which takes a little longer due to multiple stops. Both are conveniently accessible outside hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was fantastic! We would definitely stay here again. Bergen is a must see in Norway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Camilla sorted our lost booking as if it was no problem. Great location. Light buffet dinner was delightful and plenty for us. Waffles in the afternoon were a fun and generous idea. Room was clean and comfortable. Highly recOmmend. Private guest tower view is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We reserved a "family room" for the three of us to recover in after flying straight from California. The room we were given looked nice, but did not have a second bed as expected, just a couch. We assumed the couch would convert to a bed and accepted it, but when it came time to open it up, after struggling with it for a good fifteen or twenty minutes I determined I couldn't make it work, and this wasn't just mechanical incompetence; there were pieces broken and missing. So we went down to the desk and were told sweetly "Oh, yes, that bed is broken, sorry - don't know why you were given that one - We'll put you in another room". Okay, mistakes happen, so we packed up our stuff and arranged to meet a desk agent at the new room, but when we got there - no agent! After a while, my wife got tired of waiting in the hall and went across the square to the Radisson and asked if they had a room, which they did. Her return roughly coincided with the arrival of the agent, who we thanked for her time but explained we were checking out. On our way out the manager tried to convince us to stay, but we were done. No regrets.

Room Tip: If you need a second bed, make sure it is made-up in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perrydigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, with nice staff and excellent service. 800m to the city center, and you are close to nature, Fløibanen and some good hiking. You have good sized rooms, free waffels/pancakes, and a light meal in the afternoon/evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swank76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is housed in a historic building right next to Bryggen. The tower is worth visiting fora good view of the harbour and the staircase is worth walking down to get a sense of the building before its current form. The room wasn't big but was quiet. Both shampoo and conditioner (and body lotion) were supplied which was the only time in Norway out of four hotels we stayed in.
The breakfast was ok. Disposable egg cup and plastic spoon were a bit out of place but paper cup for coffee so that we could have some to go (and seem to be available for the rest of the day) was a nice touch. We didn't do afternoon pancake or the dinner buffet so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyprufrock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing