We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and family room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very comfortable beds in the family room that accommodated a family of four. The shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were an added plus. Breakfast and light dinners were excellent. The hotel is centrally located near the harbor surrounded by many shops and restaurants. Best to take taxi from train station if it is raining or taxi to the airport if you want to arrive faster than the airport bus which takes a little longer due to multiple stops. Both are conveniently accessible outside hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was fantastic! We would definitely stay here again. Bergen is a must see in Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Camilla sorted our lost booking as if it was no problem. Great location. Light buffet dinner was delightful and plenty for us. Waffles in the afternoon were a fun and generous idea. Room was clean and comfortable. Highly recOmmend. Private guest tower view is a must see.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We reserved a "family room" for the three of us to recover in after flying straight from California. The room we were given looked nice, but did not have a second bed as expected, just a couch. We assumed the couch would convert to a bed and accepted it, but when it came time to open it up, after struggling with it for a good fifteen or twenty minutes I determined I couldn't make it work, and this wasn't just mechanical incompetence; there were pieces broken and missing. So we went down to the desk and were told sweetly "Oh, yes, that bed is broken, sorry - don't know why you were given that one - We'll put you in another room". Okay, mistakes happen, so we packed up our stuff and arranged to meet a desk agent at the new room, but when we got there - no agent! After a while, my wife got tired of waiting in the hall and went across the square to the Radisson and asked if they had a room, which they did. Her return roughly coincided with the arrival of the agent, who we thanked for her time but explained we were checking out. On our way out the manager tried to convince us to stay, but we were done. No regrets.

Room Tip: If you need a second bed, make sure it is made-up in advance.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Perrydigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, with nice staff and excellent service. 800m to the city center, and you are close to nature, Fløibanen and some good hiking. You have good sized rooms, free waffels/pancakes, and a light meal in the afternoon/evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swank76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is housed in a historic building right next to Bryggen. The tower is worth visiting fora good view of the harbour and the staircase is worth walking down to get a sense of the building before its current form. The room wasn't big but was quiet. Both shampoo and conditioner (and body lotion) were supplied which was the only time in Norway out of four hotels we stayed in.
The breakfast was ok. Disposable egg cup and plastic spoon were a bit out of place but paper cup for coffee so that we could have some to go (and seem to be available for the rest of the day) was a nice touch. We didn't do afternoon pancake or the dinner buffet so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyprufrock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is in an old building at a very convenient location near the harbour and Bryggen. The rooms are stylish. The hotel not only offers breakfast but afternoon and a light supper. This is all included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This Clarion in Bergen is not like the North American Clarions at all - this is a very fancy high-end hotel - with an equivalent price tag. But we managed to get our money’s worth out of it as this was one of the few hotels we found that would allow four people to stay in a family room. On top of that, we managed to get by without buying any meals in Bergen - the buffet breakfast is excellent and we each openly left with a sandwich to take for lunch and no-one seemed upset. Then at 4pm you can make your own pancakes, and in the evening they have a “light” buffet which is ample for dinner. The hotel probably has one of the best locations in Bergen, and the airport bus stops right across the road outside the Radisson.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank covecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
664 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 49 in Bergen
310 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $215 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing