We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place to Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hardanger Fjord

Hardanger Fjord
Book In Advance
More Info
$389.02*
and up
Hardangerfjord Day Trip from Bergen to Oslo
Ranked #4 of 124 things to do in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We did the Hardanger Fjord in a Nutshell tour from Bergen. It is a self-guided tour with an open ticket for the relevant public transport along the way. We did bus from Bergen to Norheimsund, ferry on the Hardangerfjord, bus from Ulvik to Voss then train from Voss to Bergen. There are no tour guides and you have to work out where to go yourself. Having said that, with the brochure we had from the Bergen Tourist Bureau, it was all very straight forward with the various forms of transport stopping and starting very close to one another. You could easily save some money if you do some research and make the connections yourself and pay directly to the individual transport operators on board. As for the fjord itself, it is simply amazing. It is a truly beautiful part of the world with pristine waters and spectacular mountains. The little villages along the way looked wonderful and we spent a good 3 hours at Eidfjord where we hired some mountains bikes and had a picnic by the water. Just a tremendous thing to do in this part of the world. The buses and ferries were not crowded when we went (late May), although the train from Voss to Bergen was pretty packed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    126
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the Great Flords of Norway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hardanger Fjord area is fantastically beautiful. It is a smaller sometimes lesser know fjords and is apple country. It has much to offer if you take route 7 on the drive to Bergen. Keep your eye open for fantastic scenic views and stops at the Voringsfossen and Steinsdals fossen. Take your time and enjoy the drive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EurofileSMNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
249 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Not so crowded than Sognefjord”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

In our case we didn't use a cruising tour.
As long as we saw Hardanger Fjord,no
ships were there.As a matter of course
we enjoyed Steindar Fall where we could
see a back-side in midway from Bergen.
In this Ulvik,Rica Brakanes Hotel is by
the sea(Fjord).Quiet area.You can enjoy
an ordinary stay before you will go to Voss
station(Bergen railway).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TOMY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Spectacular Scenery........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The wife and I opted for a do it yourself tour of the Hardanger Fjord after discovering that the Norway in a Nutshell tour covered ground we have travelled prevously. Took the ferry from Bergen to Rosendale (Nkr350) the local bus (#760, Nkr94)) Rosendale to Odda and bus (#930, Nkr303) from Odda back to Bergen. Takes a bit of planning but is very doable and thouroughly enjoyable scenic experience. If you only have a weekend (like we do at present) best day is a Sunday as there are more logical bus connections which give you a break of about 1 hour between travels to have a look around. The ferry trip from Bergen to Rosendale is very spectacular and the Bus trips from Rosendale to Odda to Bergen are brilliant especially if you have a front row seat like we did. The bus drivers are impressive, very smooth and certainly experts at their craft on the narrow Fjord main roads. Brilliant day out and one that, with changes to the route would certainly do again maybe with a couple of over night stops to really "smell the roses" and especially to explore around Rosendale a little more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank HandHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gentil
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hardanger Fjord”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice Fjord that you can drive to and around by car. Watch the weather though - in May on the same day we had sunshine, rain and snow! It rains a lot here, and for my money the Swiss lakes are a better place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardanger Fjord also viewed

 

Been to Hardanger Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing