We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip back in time.”

Gamle Bergen Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen
Ranked #17 of 129 things to do in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the 19th century, Bergen was Europe's largest wooden city, and its busy, steep and densely built-up streets, squares and alleyways gave it a unique character. There are also few large towns and cities that have experienced as many major fires as Bergen has. The appearance of the city has changed on many occasions, sometimes amidst great drama at other times old houses have been replaced by new buildings and major redevelopments. But Bergen has also taken care of its historic past. Old Bergen is a reconstructed town with approx. 50 Wooden houses from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. Here you will find private homes from various periods, as well as a number of shops and workshops. Countless rooms and objects bring the city's history over the generations to life. A visit to old Bergen provides some answers as well as a breath of nostalgia. Actors make the stories come to life. How could life in Bergen have been 150 years ago? What did it look like? What did the people talk about? In beautiful surroundings you may meet both landlords and servants from times past. We have outdoor playground for children, and in the pound you will find ducks and goose. From mid June until mid August our a la carte restaurant Old Bergen Traceteursted is open daily (closed on Mondays). In the museum shop you will find traditional cinnamon buns, soft drinks, ice cream, coffee, candy, postcards, books and souvenirs. The museum is open every day from the middle of May until the end of August.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A trip back in time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a "living" museum which makes you feel how people lived long ago. Some of the buildings were locked and could only see in through the windows which was a pity but the overall experience was great!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mazza1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    72
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There was nothing to see.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had high hopes and got there earlier than they opened so we spent some time looking around and examining a model while we waited. Once we were in and had bought our tickets we found that there were only 3 houses open, with glass barriers so that you couldn't really go inside and no people to talk to. It was far from interactive. The few other tourists were also pretty disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jtrippernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
341 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Attractive buildings nice walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you have the time and the weather walk out to this museum, it's quite pleasant. The houses here are attractive, but there's little on the inside so you may be better off going when the museum is closed and you can just wander around outside - but for free

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

went here in the beginning of summer. It was a charming place. Cobbled streets, tiny wooden houses, very neat and fun. I thought it was better if we can go into the houses, but oh well.
If you went in the summer, there is an ocean swimming area at the entry.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful recreation of the old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Steep cobbled streets, densely packed wooden houses recreated from since 18th century. While labelled a museum, it is an open air attraction of revived long-ago norwegian private homes to cafes and shops in an idyllic locale.

There would be much more activities and guided tours in summer, it was a *dead town* when we were there in Spring. The only other group of visitor was a family + children in raincoats armed with bread crumbs to feed ducks and gulls.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RyanTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamle Bergen Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen also viewed

 

Been to Gamle Bergen Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing