We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You feel right at home”
other travelers have booked this property
Living-room, free WI-FI and cable-tv with basic Scandinavian channels.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living-room, free WI-FI and cable-tv with basic Scandinavian channels.
Sandvikstorget 2, 1st floor (main entrance-black door) Bedroom with double-bed (160cm)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Living-room, free WI-FI and cable-tv with basic Scandinavian channels.
Sandvikstorget 2, 1st floor (main entrance-black door)
Bedroom with double-bed (160cm)
Bedroom, view towards small room. (a fold-up camper bed/baby-cot can be placed here)
Double-bed (160cm, can be devided in 2x80cm)
Living-room with sofa. (now glass doors between the dining-area)
Dining-room, seats up to 8 persons.
View from the kitchen.
Kitchen, fully equipped with everything you need, also a dishwasher.
Bathroom with shower. (we can wash your clothes, 150NOK for one machine (7kg)
Floor-plan (now furnished a little different)
Our car and our house
MB 230E-1981-sometimes I offer to drive/pick you up at the airport (on request)
Our house Sandvikstorget 2 on the corner.
Sandvikstorget and the statue of Madam Felle
Our house from up the street.
Close to the sea. Just over the main road.
The tree on Sandvikstorget, and the staue of Madam Felle. (our house to the left in the background)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bergen, Hordaland, Western Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christi R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“You feel right at home”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed 3 nights at Johan and Trude's place in Bergen and loved every minute. The apartment is beautifully decorated and extremely light and clean. Perfectly situated only a few minutes by bus from the main centre of Bergen and with 5 different bus lines very easy to get to. We felt very much at home in the apartment and would highly recommend it to other travellers. Johan was a great host and we will definitely go back. Excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom floor heating and the fact that the place is spacious and bright
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L
1 review
“Live like a Local”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a lovely, well-located property. Johan is an amazingly supportive host/owner. It is easy to catch the bus down to the Sentrum. There is a convenient grocery store just a block away saving you significant money if you want to cook your own breakfasts and the like. The parking is interesting...but Johan will help you understand the parking rules and get the appropropriate parking passes as needed. It is clean and has what you need.

The main bed was a little low for my Mom (elderly) to use...so she stayed in a bed that was a little higher off the floor in the lounge and worked just fine.

The heated bathroom floor was wonderful. The shower, while a common configuration, was at first a little odd for us since we were from the US. It worked very well once we got the hang of it.

The only caveat is the tight stairwell...I am afraid my bags gave me a couple of nice bruises while getting them up the stairs. The property is secure and well located. I did have a minor issue with the amount of light coming in through the windows at night as I am a light sensitive sleeper - just a personal preference.

Being that both of us have intermittent hot flashes - the duvets were a bit heavy to sleep under at times...but all in all comfortable and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Johan is such a bonus and an ambassador for Bergen/Sandviken.
Liked least: Not my two cents - but my Mom missed washcloths!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W
Houston, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Live like a Local”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This cute apartment is right on a main residential street and within easy walk of public transportation. There is a convenient grocery nearby which we used since prices in Norway are quite high. The owner, Johan, is helpful and full of good information about the surrounding area. Being that we were from the US - we thought the shower unusual but useful. My Mom wished for a top sheet, washcloths, and fresh towels daily which is just not the norm. I was not disturbed at all and had an appreciation for the compact, clean accommodations. She and I ended up switching beds as the main bed set rather low for her. The bed in the lounge was easier for her to get up from since she is a bit older. The stairs can be a bit much to negotiate if your bags are heavy. Parking is a little difficult but not impossible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and very helpful host!
Liked least: Quite a bit of light pollution in the apartment when trying to sleep. The road is a bit busy up until about 8 pm every night.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN_Travel...
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
761 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Located a pleasant 15-minute walk (or 5-minute bus ride) from town center, this apartment takes up an entire floor (bedroom, living room, dining room, kitchen and bath) in an historic neighborhood. It is immaculate and spacious, but it is the owner, Johan, who sets it apart, because he is dedicated to making your stay the absolute best it can be. His e-mails before our arrival provided good information about things to do and places to eat, and he was waiting at the door for us when we got off the bus from the train station. A very pleasant stay that I would recommend for anyone looking to avoid Bergen’s over-priced hotels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sincere helpfulness of the owner.
Liked least: No problems.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sriind
kuwait
1 review
“Home away from home, Excellent home with great support from Johan”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed 3 nights with my my wife and two children. Johan was so quick and supportive from the time of booking and till we leave his apartment. Apartment was well maintained and we felt like Norwegian living style. Location was great, 15-20 min walking distance to the main city attractions.
Johan was very responsive and he is always trying to help the guest. I strongly recommend for the people who want to experience homely atmosphere and do not expect any room services and make our own food. We are vegetarian and we found very convenient as mini market is just opposite to the apartment and we cooked our own food with cheap!!!!!
Thanks to Johan for his extensive support and cooperation!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old building and owner response
Liked least: nothing specific
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin_C2...
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Gorgeous, Stylish & Great host”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was great and as expected - light, modern and airy in a truly beautiful old home. Wi-Fi included was great.
Local area is mixed but comfortable and easy to walk around & enjoy.
Easy to locate for us & taxi. Good reliable options for transport & parking.
Our host Johan was friendly, available & helpful with info & small things like light changes whilst respecting our space.
Johan had considered our 5yr son & set him up in the small room rather than the lounge but gave the choice to change.
Host operated laundry option used - prompt service & neatly presented.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the apartment & helpfulness of Johan the host.
Liked least: Access of the balcony area.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing