We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great service”
Review of Bastant Stolegaten

Bastant Stolegaten
Ranked #88 of 382 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We went their twice during our stay in Bergen. The Happy Meal (Small soup & half an open sandwhich) was superb and good value for Bergen. The service was excellent, there was a good selection of drinks and the cozy atmosphere make a visit to this little place well worth the walk up the hill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danc974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    46
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

While all the tourists seemed to be frequenting restaurants on the wharf, I was very glad that my travelling companion had stumbled across reviews for this place on TripAdvisor and that we went to check it out. Hidden away from all the hustle & bustle of the tourist area, we enjoyed two lovely meals here - I would have happily gone back a third time and based on the quality of lunch we had on our last day at another restaurant, I wish we had gone back again! Delicious soups, great sandwiches and a yummy dessert. On top of that, fantastic service - the guys running the place were incredibly friendly and a pleasure to talk to! Definitely a must-visit place if you're in Bergen!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An amazing 'hole in the wall' local little pub”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

While in Bergen for a couple of weeks, this great little pub soon became out local. The meals are fresh, natural and just the right size to make you feel happy and satisfied. Get the 'happy meal' - small soup and 1/2 sandwich - best of both worlds!

When some friends came to down, we spent a drizzly afternoon chatting in the warm lil pub while having a few drinks and enjoying a tapas plate.

Enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hippiepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Has been to this place many times and finally I got down write a review!
This place has the best price/quality ratio on wine/drinks and food in Bergen! They have some amazing red wine, while not cheap at 600,- NOK, you understand why when you taste it! Hands down maybe the best I've ever tasted! To top it of it's all organic and comes from small vineyards where attention to detail goes down to the very plants that grow together along with the vine ranks. Drinks are very good as well!
Food is great too! it is "home made" with nothing but natural ingredients. Have a happy meal with half a sandwich and a small soup! Really good combo!
Do yourself a favor and walk up from the city center (about ten-fifteen minutes) and eat and drink at one of the best places in town!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great drinks and coctails!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The drinks and coctails are still a well hidden secret at Bastant i think. However, they mix them up with passion and love when you ask for it. Bring your friends and let the bartender enjoy you with the history of the drinks and coctails. This is a great way to start a birthdayparty!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastant Stolegaten also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Bastant Stolegaten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing