We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Museum of Bergen - The Natural History Collections
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.01*
and up
Bergen Card
Ranked #54 of 122 things to do in Bergen
Attraction details
Wherever
Level Contributor
209 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Not Open”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ther museum was closed for renovation. However, there was no indicastion of this i nthe guide book or at the Tourist Infromation office - so, we wasted out time climbing the hill to it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibitions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Natural History Collections have a huge and exciting collection of animals, both from the Norwegian fauna and from exotic corners of the world. The Museum has maintained its original 1800s’ exhibition style, which creates a special atmosphere and bears witness to a time when the world was still unexplored. This is a place you could stay the hole day and just enjoy :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AGV-Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

An excellent experience, the place is a museum within a museum. The layout is really old style, just as you would expect a century ago. This is not true for the entire museum, but from the attendants I understood some of the collections are preserved for their old layout in addition to the displayed animals or the like.

The only unfortunate thing is that the Museum will be closed for maintenance and restoration for the next several years from 1st November 2013.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent collection. First-rate exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, the Natural History Collections are great for a rainy day. And it rains a lot in Bergen. I stopped in here on my last (rainy) day in Bergen. This is an excellent collection of natural artifacts. A real mish-mash which I like. It reminds me a bit of the Teylers Museum in Haarlem, the Netherlands. With the many natural objects in the old-fashioned display cases, the collection really does have an old world feel. There may be more modern, "slicker" museums, but I wouldn't change a thing in the U of B's Natural History Collections.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great collection, perfect for a rainy day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in because I love museums. And as a further incentive, any students get in free, but the 50nok entrance fee was very reasonable anyway. I was surprised by how great this museum was, an amazing range of diversity in the zoological collection, and the Whale Hall exceeds the hype in the brochure (I walked through 3 times and still hasn't seen everything). The museum is only loosely structured so visitors can wander where their interests take them, but there are a few really great plaques that go through the anatomy and evolution of some animals.

The temporary exhibits were visually stunning and interesting as well. I'm fairly sure I saw some kids activities to occupy them and make them engage with the collection too. And as a final bonus the museum had that old museum aesthetic I just love. I would absolutely recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank runawayanthmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University Museum of Bergen - The Natural History Collections also viewed

 

Been to University Museum of Bergen - The Natural History Collections? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing