We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fjordside for a rest”
Review of Fjordside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fjordside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fjordside for a rest”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

4 of us stayed at Fjordside for 2 nights. I was attracted by the grassy roof pictures and the fjord views. We wanted to stay near Bergen in a quiet B&B. Rita made this possible. We found some nice fish and groceries nearby and cooked our own wonderful meal in the apartment and on the outside grill. On constitution day we traveled to Bergen for the parade. We also visited the famous composer's home near Bergen, Edvard Grieg. Rita will help you with other interesting sites to see. Don't stay 2 days like we did, it is much too short. We stayed in Norway 9 days, much too short, but we saw a lot of the country. We talk about this trip all the time. Fjordside is not big, but is very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN_Traveler_37167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our appartement was comfortable, clean, full equipped and above of that so lovely. We enjoyed the garden and the view over the water.
We felt like home!
We were touched by the hospitaly of our host. The were so helpfull and so kind.

The situation of the lodge is really great and easy to find even if (like us) you travel with public transportation. It's close Bergen and many other things to do and to visit.

Even if the weather are not with us, that was a very beautiful week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Mika_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Fjordside, Unfortunately only two nights. We really enjoyed the terrace where you can barbeque with a view over the water and the appartment was comfortable and clean. Make shure you time your trips to bergen if you go by public transport as the bus only goed once an hour, but that is very do-able.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Airsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is usually difficult to travel abroad with a large family, but Rita was helpful with scheduling our room so the older children had their own little guesthouse to share and the younger one was with us in the two room apartment. It was wonderful to have our own kitchen and to be outside the hustle and bustle of Bergen. It gave the children time to play and explore in the garden and on the fjord. We were very happy with our choice and will recommend her to anyone traveling in Bergen with a car and children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MCB32259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wonderful place, lovely quite, appartaments number B have 70-75 mc with 2 double room, kitchen, bath. garden closed to the fjord. We went in Bergen for 2 days very closed to the Bryggen. Its cool to stay there on a little apartment, but when we returned after a long tour in norway i was so happy of Rita Ripman choice. I am so glad i met this place. Images do not give justice to the place believe me! is a little bit high price high but this place deserve to be tried! We took lobsters to a mini market around fjordside & we got 50% of discount and with 150kr we fully equipped the kitchen that already had coffee, oil,sugar, salt and many free stuff for the breakfast. well, stereo,vhs, dvd, tv, frigo bar. I am still very happy, and i am glad i am writing this review cos i will miss that place. 2 days are just the time to relax. I had the chance to visit Fantoft and we were at 5pm we reached the church in 20 minute. I had another vist to the fish market and bryggen for some shopping and i have to admit that with a gps a side its very easy to find the city and returing back to the apartment. It takes 20 minutes and when u are at fjordside u really relax despite the busy city centre. Its a good starting point when u wanna stay like me 20 days in norway, and its a good ending when like this time i wanna relax after 3 days of hurtigruten cruise before to live norway returning back to my home town. U hit the sack with fjordside!

Room Tip: ask for large apartment with kitchen fully equipped. they also have something more convenient but wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jensajenerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjordside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjordside Lodge

Property: Fjordside Lodge
Address: Steinestoevegen 745 | Hordvik, Bergen 5108, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FJORDSIDE Lodge is located 15km north of Bergen near road E39. FJORDSIDE Lodge is a unique spot near Bergen, with a wonderful garden and a magnificent panoramic view over the fjords, islands and surrounding mountains. Traditional red houses with turf roof and a beautiful garden enclosed by hedges and untouched nature. Here you find two large terraces and a garden where you can eat your breakfast, barbecue, enjoy a silent moment, read a book, or just admire the view over the fjord. Your stay also includes access to a gas grill and a fire pan for barbecue using coal or wood. Both terraces include a wonderful view of the fjords. Fjordside Lodge offers romantic and creative surroundings with a fish pond and one cat. Some free-range chickens and our small organic farm, create the perfect atmosphere. The children also have a paradise with a large playground on the property. It's short trip to the beach where they can find small crabs. There is also a marina close by and mooring is available on private quay. SURROUNDINGS: Close by: Hiking trails, fishing, beach, food market, local bus, and area tourist attractions. Tourist attractions: Bergen Centrum, the world famous Bergen fish market, old postal trail Bergen- Trondheim, Tellevik fort, Saetre farm and Norsk Trikotasje museum (Museum of Norwegian Knitting Industry). After crossing the long floating bridge you are surrounded by islands and waterfalls in the west, and lakes and rivers in the East. Sognefjord and Voss are only a 90 minute drive away. Everything else you need is within a very short distance. APARTMENTS are fully equipped, updated and tastefully decorated including towels and bed linen. Wi-Fi is available free of charge. At approximately 55m2 each apartment is fully equipped for 4 people and self-catering. The bathroom is bright and welcoming with in- floor heating, shower, toilet, washing machine, towels, hairdryer and soap. The kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary equipment for cooking and storage. This includes a Coffee maker, kettle and common spices etc. The living room has HD flat screen TV with most channels, DVD player and a selection of DVD's. Wireless 30MB internet is free of charge. For a small fee we can stock your refrigerator before your arrival, just ask. APARTMENT A (Salhusfjorden 55m2, max 4 persons): - 1 sleeping alcove with double bed - 1 bedroom with bunk beds, 1 living room - fully equipped kitchen - bathroom (shower only),washing machine APARTMENT B (Sorfjorden 55m2, max 4 persons): - 1 sleeping alcove with double bed - 1 bedroom with double bed - Living room including dining table - fully equipped kitchen - bathroom (shower only), washing machine APARTMENT C (Veten 25m2, max 2 persons): - 1 combined bedroom/LR and bedroom - Kitchen and bathroom ANNEX/CABIN (max 2 persons, extra bed space) - approx. 20m2 - bunk beds - wash bowl and potty MISCELLANEOUS: - kettle, coffee-percolator - water from our own well - smoking not permitted - pets allowed only by pre arrangement - cash payment in NOK on arrival - The refrigerator can be filled before arrival INCLUDED: - Free Parking, bed linen, towels, taxes, baby cot, 30Mb WI-FI, electricity and end cleaning RATE: Please contact us for a rate quote or check web our page ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fjordside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing