We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergen, Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bergen Travel Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bergen, Norway”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

very accommodating and quite with business support facilities

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
9
30
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Decent enough hotel, given the quite low price and very convenient location. Our room was spacious, light and nice. Bathroom was okay.

The breakfast is way below par, though. And our room faced the street, right next to a couple of popular bars. Needless to say, it was quite noisy on Friday and Saturday night.

I will probably stay there again, but will try to get a room facing the back yard.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ingeborgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Centrally located hotel downtown Bergen with modern reception area, reasonably decent staff, disappointing room and bath with peeling paint, low upkeep, subpar breakfast. Does the low price justify it? Naaaah, not so sure!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norskiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

we were warmly welcomed. We had a big room, bigger than many of the others. The beds were good and we had a nice sleep. There was some noise from the street, but it did not disturb at all. Close to the airport bus. I forgot a book which they sent me the same day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I read the reviews after booking and I was REALLY nervous to arrive. I was already looking up some other places. Silly me. We traveled through Norway for two weeks and this has been my favorite hotel. The rooms must've been recently renovated - they're well outfitted and modern! The bed was incredibly comfortable, again, better than the others I had slept on. The bathroom was clean. It's a little small, true, but jeez, this is in the middle of a European city!

To address concerns about the noise, my future-in-laws stayed at the front of the hotel and they didn't have problems with the pub. We stayed at the back and the noise was also not a problem. If you're really noise sensitive, the center of town probably isn't the best place for you - you'll always be surrounded by cars, people, and restaurants. Also, bring earplugs!

A few other points: The breakfast was great! Hot and cold food and a good selection. The location of the hotel was also amazing, just 10 minutes from the fish market, maybe 12 from the furnicular, and near tons of amazing restaurants.

My summary: I would stay here again and I recommend that you do too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

First night was in a large room with kitchen at the front of the hotel. Didn't get any sleep because of loud pub next door. The curtains didn't fit the windows and as it's summer, doesn't get dark. We asked for a different room and were moved to a much smaller room but it was at least quiet.
I know it was cheap for Norway, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very small room, adequate bathroom. NOTHING is "affordable in Bergen but this comes close. Not central but Bergen is walkable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PJMJLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Basic Hotel Bergen
#25 of 47 in Bergen
389 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#17 of 47 in Bergen
868 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#14 of 47 in Bergen
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citybox Bergen
#30 of 47 in Bergen
10 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen Travel Hotel

Property: Bergen Travel Hotel
Address: Vestre Torggaten 7, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bergen Travel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen Travel Hotel offers spacious rooms at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Bergen within easy strolling distance to all the town's attractions, shopping and restaurants. Cosy pub and breakfast room as well as a nice courtyard with tablesserving. Public parking just outside. Spacious rooms, 1 - 4 beds. All rooms en-suiteen suite, with parquet flooring, TV and telephone. A hearty welcome to Bergen Travel Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bergen Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing