We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay after Nutshell tour”
Review of Bergen YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bergen YMCA Hostel
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here after the Nutshell Tour with 3 friends for one night in June. Pros: cheap stay, safe hostel, clean private bathroom, free wifi, centrally located (10 minute walk from train station), small mini mart next door.
Cons: Rough sheets, towels to be rented, heater broken, however, staff came in at 12 am to fix, and brought us a new one.
For the price of staying in Bergen, it's hard to complain, though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msjem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Average hostel in a convenient location. The cheapest you can find in Bergen and the price includes bed linen (extra charge at most places). The 12 bed dorms were actually more comfortable than I thought.

Nice to have a kitchen but would be better to have some staples like oil, salt, pepper.

Common rooms aren't that cosy and single travelers may find it hard to meet other travelers.

Door to the women's toilet on second floor has a lock but it does not properly lock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I spent a couple of days in a budget dormitory (both for females and males). Good quality for reasonable prices. Nice rooms, great location near the city centre, has a kitchen (equipped and open to all guests). Very nice people working there - very helpful and understanding. A very good place to stay in Bergen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night in a room of four. It was equipped with two bunk beds from Ikea. The problem with these metal beds is the noise when you turn around, but beside that it was ok.
The sheets are provided and are included in the price, a towel you need to bring yourself. The room of 4 has an ensuite bath/shower which I did not expect but was very convenient. There is also a fridge and a clock in the room. I did take out the battery though as the tick every second is not my favourite noise while falling a sleep.
Breakfast is NOK 65 extra, can't judge on the quality as I did not opt for it.
The airport bus (both companies flybuss and flybussbergeb) stop in front of the tourist information, from where it is a 3min walk go the hotel. The location is really a big plus, very close to bryggen and many more sights.
I don't stay in hostels a lot but I can't see a reason why i would not enjoy staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here with my college in 1999 and for our reunion last summer most people flying into Bergen opted to stay there again. It has obviously undergone a massive refurbishment. Polite, helpful staff allowed us to store our bags in their office before check in, as there had been a theft from the luggage room.

Female only dorm in ensuite, but probably too many beds for one bathroom.

Wonderful sunsets from the rooftop terrace with a large BBQ, large enough for us to BBQ for about 20 people that afternoon!

The downstairs dorm is HUGE and probably has too many beds for a good sleep.

There is a no alcohol policy at this hostel, which is a shame as alcohol in pubs/restaurants is so expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Reasonably priced.
Cheap, compared to normal Norwegian prices.
Clean, neat, friendly and is located in the very center of the city. (Bryggen)
Cheap, and very good, breakfast.
I slept in the dorm, but they can also offer rooms for 2,4, and 6 persons.
free internetaccess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angnorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a double room. Yes, expensive (900kr) but had a private shower and was quiet and clean. GREAT rooftop patio with view of city! Breakfast 65Kr, good value. Great location. Good common rooms, free Wifi in the common areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Citybox Bergen
#25 of 49 in Bergen
54 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
700 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#16 of 49 in Bergen
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen YMCA Hostel

Address: Nedre Korskirkeallmenningen 4, Bergen 5017, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Price Range: $24 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen YMCA Hostel has a superb location in the city center, minutes from the main attractions! The rooms are bright and spacious, with en-suite facilities and kitchenettes. We offer single, double, 4 and 6 bedded rooms. Budget dorms are available during summer. Other facilities: Internet Cafe, WiFi, TV lounge and common rooms, guest kitchen and a roof terrace with incredible views over the harbour! We are open all year. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bergen YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergen Ymca Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing