We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Godt Brod i Vestre Torgatten

Godt Brod i Vestre Torgatten
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Took my visiting cousin here, and she was impressed. The bread was delicious, and she tried and loved the brown cheese. Great coffee and cakes too.
Locals eat here everyday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    60
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent :D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

amazing coffee. try the carrotcake! or eat a healty self-composed sandwich :)

locals go here every day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InaHannestadNygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cheers for raisin rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We found this bakery and its raisin rolls first in Bergen, then Trondheim and finally in Oslo. There are lots of locations. The raisin rolls were great take away (only12% tax as opposed to a sit down for 24% tax) as well as great sandwiches. Certainly a good stop if you are taking the train as we did instead of planning to eat in the dining car.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Sandwich and Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fresh bread, fresh ingredients, beautiful coffee. Have the special of the day and get a cinnamon roll for dessert if you have room. You can also buy gorgeous homemade muesli. This was a frequent lunch for me.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shonna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast, brunch or lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The service we received was excellent, the girl behind the counter really knew what she was doing. We didn't know what kind of sandwich we wanted, so asked her for a recommondation and ended up with a baguette with salted ham, pesto, manchego cheese, semi-sundried tomatoes, garlic and sourcream dressing, lettuce, cucumber, bell peppers and onions. It might have been the best tasting sandwich I ever had. They have a special lunch combo, where you can choose a sandwich, a drink (hot or cold) and a sweet bun for NOK 100, which is really good value. They also have a breakfast combo which is somewhat cheaper, but you don't get a bun. The atmosphere is nice, there are mostly window seats, which are great for people-watching since there's a busy pedestrian-street right outside. They also sell tasty tasty bread.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godt Brod i Vestre Torgatten also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Godt Brod i Vestre Torgatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing