We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leone di Mare - CLOSED

Leone di Mare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We came back twice in five days. The gentleman looking after us had a great manner and even suggested places to go out afterwards. The seafood/fish stew is incredible - huge cuts of fish, clams, mussels, squid, lobster in a delicious sauce. Delicious!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank worthyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    56
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

the only restaurant open on new years day!!!(apart from fast food outlets)
it is real italian family cooking,we had 2 excellent pastas and the waiter was charming.if you like authentic pasta-pazza restaurants you wont be dissapointed.they now serve wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lionel531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Little Italy in Bergen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked a table at Leone di Mare on a whim, and we were pleasantly surprised. Conveniently located a stones throw from Fløybanen, the restaurant offers genuine Italian food made fresh from scratch. It´s a small place (guessing max pax around 20), and it adds to the quaint atmosphere. This is no frills cooking with passion. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Norseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How Much is that Focaccia in the Window?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were just sauntering around Bergen after the funicular, and we happened upon Leone di Mare. They had lots of beautiful focaccia in the window, and my husband started drooling. So we walked in and they immediately cut us off a little sample to taste. They had numerous varieities. We split a zucchini focaccia for 30 kroners (about $5.25 USD) and it was very good. The restaurant gave us complimentary water and caramels as well, without us even asking. Very nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annacanna_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food maybe, but cannot serve wine for the moment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

looked like a super place, we wanted to eat there, but were told that they did yet receive the permission to serve wine..5 gold stars for the open and honest approach. I hope to go there soon when we can have a glass of wine!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leone di Mare also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing