We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, reasonable price”
Review of Marken Gjestehus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marken Gjestehus
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just stayed here for two nights over a weekend. We had a double private room with shared bathroom which was all we needed. The rooms were nicely decorated and the communal areas were nice although everyone very much kept to themselves and in my opinion it wasn't a very social place to hang out.
We didn't use the kitchen at all but the facilities looked good.
We loved how when we arrived late at night we could just slide out credit card to get in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Marken Gjestehus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed there for two night - staff at reception were really really helpful - particularly the Argentinian guy.

Kitchen got a bit messy, but the staff went through and cleaned it regularly, so no complaints here.

Dining room looks out onto one of the hills surrounding Bergen - great view!

Bed was really comfortable, and room was clean (twin room)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller755953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I think it's a good decision to stay here even though I had many problems in my stay. Firstly, I could not entrance the main door, the hostel door or my room door with my credit card (I came lately so they told me to use my card as a key card). I could not use my locker key too. The other girl in my room had the same key. This problem happened to another person too. I think the first problem was my fault. Maybe my credit card didn't work with their machine (I found lot of problems with Thai credit card). Luckily, some people opened the door so I could came in. When I check out, a staff asked me about using my own credit card as a key card. He said sorry for my inconvenience. It made me feel good.

The room was clean. The WC in my dorm was large. Love it. Location is the best. It's not far from train station and bus station. The kitchen room was great. I love atmosphere at this hostel. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seranie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location, within walking distance to train station, supermarket, restaurants, bars and the fish market.

Staff was very approachable and friendly. Clean and good toilets and shower rooms. Huge locker space and need not use your own lock too.

The entrance was a little hard to find though, it is the elevator on the left the moment you enter the building (do not go up the stairs!). I walked up and down the stairs 2 times before I saw the elevator, and several times, I saw new travelers in the lobby, looking lost with their luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhenLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for Norway and the rooms are clean - common area not as big - but good enough with a smallish kitchen
But the location is right in the middle of town - next to the train station and the main areas
Staff friendly and did I mention the price

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Only stayed for one night so I didn't spend much time there, but the location was perfect! I was in a 4 person dorm with a locker for each person. It was clean, cozy, and they have free wifi. Sheets and towels cost extra, and breakfast is not included either, but there's a kitchen where you can cook your own food and lots of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and peaceful if you are looking to relax , The staff were friendly but not intrusive I enjoyed my stay there , the wifi connection and speed was great which was what I needed at that time . The hostel is also in a great location in-between the fish market end and the main city which makes exploring easy I would highly recommend this as a hostel experience if you are looking for a bit of quiet at the same time . The elevators are pretty cool too with an antique/steampunk look about them !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkllH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
924 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
675 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#24 of 49 in Bergen
50 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marken Gjestehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marken Gjestehus

Address: Kong Oscars gate 45 | Entrance : Tverrgaten, Bergen 5017, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Price Range: $43 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marken Gjestehus 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central and reasonable priced Guesthouse / Hostel for those who want to spend their money on something more than just sleeping - an excellent base for exploring the city of Bergen. Our hostel is stylish and modern, centrally located, safe and affordable. We also have rooms with private bathroom, TV, fridge and a water kettle. Common areas to use for all our guests are a fully equipped kitchen, TV room, sitting room and a laundry room. We offer accommodation for everyone from corporate clients, families and backpackers . Also suitable for school classes, sports teams and groups. A variety of people who want to stay the best possible way, at a low price. Together with our staff, they are all part of creating that special homely and cozy atmosphere that characterizes Marken Guesthouse - a modern hostel! Marken Guesthouse is superbly located and is clean and comfortable, with these extra touches that make you feel more like a hotel - without the price tag. We are convinced that there can be luxury and design in simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Marken Gjestehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marken Gjestehus Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing