We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to relax and enjoy the city with leisure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to relax and enjoy the city with leisure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

i really thought the room was very comfortable, Huge actually. A nice tub to soak in and the breakfast in the morning was more than enough to keep me going all day long. right in the midle of it all steps to the historic places and shopping. and the mountain behind the hotel has some amazing hikes and its all within 5 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    412
    208
    113
    64
See reviews for
215
479
77
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The rooms were quite modern. Unfortunately my didn't have a minibar inside. Everything was clean but small. The breakfast in the restaurant was good. A lot of stuff but no omlette station. The bar tender was quite often abcent but I guess he hasn't many customers with the norwegian alcohol prices. The location of this hotel was excellent as it is driectly in the city center and very close to the water and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear DanielF,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at First Hotel Marin, Bergen. We sincerely appreciate all the thoughts and comments from our guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay most recently, and that you found our central location excellent. Indeed very pleasant that you found your room satisfactory, even though our standard rooms do not have a minibar. We have many different room types, from ordinary single and double rooms to larger superior, deluxe rooms and suites. I general the size of the rooms are quite large for a Norwegian hotel standard. All room types except standard single and double offer a minibar and several amenities.

I am afraid that we do not offer an omelet station during breakfast hours- but we strive very much to keep a high standard of our breakfast and service, as we offer fried bacon and scrambled eggs instead.

I am sorry that you experienced our bartender being absent and we will work on being more visible at all times.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you plan to visit our beautiful city and in the meantime, please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any additional feedback or would like to discuss your comments in more detail.

Sincerely,
Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
+4753051530
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a midweek. The room was large but interior is getting somewhat dated, altough it was clean and spacious. The sauna in the hotel was not appealling and not tried, it is soemwhat tucked away in the basement. Service was good, price is mediocer for Bergen. Breakfast wasn't special, a bit dissapointing. Beds somewhat uncomfortable, took me 3 nights to get used to it. giving it a 3/5.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RELC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear RELC71,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay at First Hotel Marin,Bergen.

I am sorry you experienced that your room was a bit dated – however I am happy to inform you that we are in the process of refurbishing. We have already refurbished 1 /3 of the hotel rooms and most public areas during 2013 and will continue the process during this year. New beds are of course also being considered in some rooms.

With regard to your other feedback, I am pleased to share that we are continuously working on improving the breakfast quality. I would be happy to hear more from you with regards to why this was a disappointment for you.

Our Sauna and very small fitness room is an extra service we offer our guests at no extra expense. Yes it is small, and it is located in the basement. But should of course still look appealing and I will check this area regularly in order to make sure we maintain an appealing and clean look.

In the meantime, please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any additional feedback or would like to discuss your comments in more detail.

Sincerely,
Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
+4753051530
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Pokey little room which was made up as a single room not as our double. Three visits to reception finally rewarded us with an extra pillow and bath towel. Staff seemed poorly prepared to answer basic questions and whilst not unfriendly didn't engage with us and generally ignored us. We had to make up our own bed, not difficult but not expected at these prices. A fruit plate from the manager on the second and last night was too little too late. The worst hotel experience of our Scandinavian trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear David W,

First of all – I would like to thank you for giving us a truly honest and constructive feedback. I can certainly understand your disappointment discovering that your room was made up as a single room and not a double room, and I do sincerely apologize for making such a mistake.

I also apologize on behalf of our staff not being able to answer basic questions and that you had to revert three times in order to have an extra pillow and bath towel. I can assure you that we have had focus on this spesific matter and that we have some training prepared in order to improve education of our new personnel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have additional feedback, I will be more than happy to hear from you.

Sincerely,
Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
+4753051530.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Littleport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Had 2 nights in this hotel whilst on a business trip. Greeting on arrival was very good and immediate impressions were of a nice hotel which had more character than most big chain hotels. Room was very pleasant . Cleanliness was excellent as was comfort and the room was very quiet. The only slight disappointment was that when I went to the restaurant for dinner I was told that there would be a 45 minutes wait as they had a group in. I was a little surprised as the group was only about 12 people. However in the end I only had to wait for about 30 minutes and the quality of food made it worth the wait. I will certainly rerun here when I am in Bergen on business again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking a moment to share some feedback from your recent stay at First Hotel Marin, Bergen!

I’m delighted to hear that you found the greeting on arrival pleasant and that you were impressed by the character of our hotel, which so many of our guests find easy to appreciate.

With regards to the "long wait" in the restaurant – I am not sure why you would have to wait for 30 minutes when we only had a group of 12 people – but I will certainly investigate this matter. I look forward to passing along your compliments to our chef - I am personally extremely proud of the quality and the excellent tastes of our a la carte menu.

We hope to welcome you again soon to our beautiful city - the Gateway to the Fjords and our “little” house on the wharf.

Sincerely,
Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
+4753051530.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. We were in a family suite which had a spacious living area. The breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is well situated in regards to the UNESCO buildings and the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bron1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
bron1960 -- Thank you for the wonderful review!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious family suites with separate bedroom and spacious living area!.

Thank you very much for your very positive comment about our breakfast and I certainly look forward to passing on your friendly comments about our staff to them all. We feel very lucky to have such great staff and our guests have very much nice to say about them.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any queries.
Sincerely,
Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
+4753051530.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Im In bergen almost every 14 day, always staing at this hotel. Good rooms, good service and close to sentrum. A good breakfast and Ok food in the resturant. The airport bus stops like 5 min away and a easy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TON6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing