We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to put your head down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    416
    209
    113
    64
See reviews for
217
483
77
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for a few days last week. After booking the hotel some time ago we heard from others that this hotel was no good. Lots of bad things but we will stay here next time we visit Bergen. We had ordered a double room and got a spacious one with sitting area ,desk, minibar , coffee and tea maker. Huge bed which was very comfy. Huge windows that had sight of Fløien and let in the sun. A new and nice bath with products to use. Very happy for the wooden flooring instead of carpets. It was clean. And the best thing was that they did the rooms very fast every morning fresh new towels and products. A friendly staff. And the breakfast was very good. The staff kept it full all the time. Did not miss a thing there. It was a very popular hotel for tourist specially Japanese ones. And it was very close to all the sights. Around the corner is Bryggen and the other way was Fløien. The fish market just a few minutes walk. A walk in the old art of Bergen is easily done just around the corner. The only bad thing was the wifi it came and went all the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Due to our cruise ship schedule we needed a room before regular check-in time. The reception staff found us a room at 0900 in the morning. What a convenience! We had courteous help printing out airline boarding passes and making connection to the free WiFi network.

Our room was spacious, quiet, and clean. Breakfast was excellent as usual, even though we came in late. Wait staff were efficient and friendly.

This is a business hotel, not a resort. Expect efficiency and the kind of service to make a comfortable stay and then move on.

We will stay here again whenever in Bergen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher_Tabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The check-in process at this hotel is thus: What is your name? Can I have your credit card? Personally, I like these questions broken up with the words, Welcome or How was your trip?, and maybe even a smile.
My children are reaching the age where they can be trusted not to thrust their fingers in electrical sockets or to drown in baths. Being cautious, I chose this hotel because it offered a family room.
Location is certainly great, breakfast good if you get there early enough, the family room was spacious.
However, the economics of this versus two rooms in other Bergen hotels I considered weren't so different - and, guess what, a warm welcome is worth something to me.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms facing the Exodus night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_of_NW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Yes, the hotel is extremely well located and the staff were very helpful. Lovely morning breakfast as other have commented, but the rooms are definitely minimalist and spartan -- nothing special at all, but quite suitable for 1-2 nights stay in Bergen. "This ain't no Four Seasons"....but rather a tourist hotel in a very good location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank devoted_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location near the 'harbour" just a stones throw from all the restaurants and cafes and bars.

Clean & impressive hotel on the outside, and just as impressive on the inside.

I had an excellent spacious room with a fantastic immaculately clean bathroom....Check in receptionist was awesome and so helpful with great impeccable manners....a real credit to the hotel (evening of 25 September).

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would have no issues staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr0pdead_g0rge0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Coming directly from staying at the luxurious THE THIEF in Oslo, my expectations were low when I checked into the First Hotel Marin. Thanks to the nice guy at the front desk, the check-in process took about 2 minutes. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. In addition, the hotel's location to the Bryggen and other major tourist attractions in Bergen is awesome. Great stay!

Room Tip: Book directly online with the hotel to get the best rates and room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing