We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for business travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay for business travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice and clean hotel, centrally located in beatiful Bergen. Just what you need for a short stay. Nice breakfast. Slept well in a bed which was neither too soft nor too hard. I would recommend it as a good place to stay if you wish to see central Bergen from within.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiMo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear NiMo66,

Thanks for your nice review. Hope to see you again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Nan-Birthe Os Gangdal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    431
    215
    115
    64
See reviews for
222
496
82
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent two nights in this delightful hotel located a block from the fish market. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We were on the second floor and had no view, but enjoyed the fresh air and quiet. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and found it acceptable although crowded with tour groups. Parking was in the basement and was tight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear tom I.

Thanks for your feedback. Come again!

Yours Sincerely

Nan-Birthe Os Gangdal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel in August. Great location near Bryggen - the historic area, but really badly kept. Our room was large but had. Dirty shower curtain, scraped up floors, tub drain that didn't work, banged up tub cabinet, no knob on the fridge cabinet, and only one bedside lamp for a double bed. The worst part was that we told the reception of these issues and the did nothing about it at all. Wow. Unfortunately after 12 days in Norway, I think there is a general national apathy about tourists. Neither the hoteliers, nor restaurateurs, nor shopkeepers seemed to care less whether or not we tourists we're happy or enjoyed our time being guests in their country. Luckily the natural beauty of the nation made up for their attitude.

Room Tip: On Saturday nights the disco across the street has revelers until wee hours that will wake you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear graztravels,

Thank you for your feedback and I want you to know that we do take it seriously. Without knowing the date of your stay, but if you did stay during the weekend we unfortunately have nobody to fix these issues. However, they could have offered you a different room.

For that matter, we are working on room improvements and will look into these matters in all rooms.


Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

For the prices this hotel charges I was expecting at least a nice looking room and hotel. The lobby looks great, but that's it. I was on the 3rd floor and the carpet in the halls had stains all over, the walls looking beaten up and need work. My room had a huge hole that had been patched in the wall that the paint didn't match...all these things are simple cosmetics, but at 5 Star prices, I was expecting at a minimum 4 star room...and what I got was a 1 star, or at the very most a 2 star.
Don't spend your money on this hotel! Oh, and getting an Harborview room - you are actually on the main street so you get to hear all the street noise all night - also not worth it.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else - you will get a better value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takeoff321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear takeoff321,

Thanks for your feeback! I will personally follow up on the stains on the carpet. The walls will be undergoing a refurbishment this fall.

All our prices are according to occupancy and demand in the city. The summer season is very busy and therefore the prices are high. However, we will be working on improving the things mentioned so we hope to see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is nice , has good location and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was disappointing with poor food offer , not enough tables for all the customers and service was not that good

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleitao77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Pleitao77,

Thank you for your review. We are continously working on improvements so I will forward your feedback to the Breakfast Manager.

Hope to see you again.


Yours Sincerely,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A poor rating may be too high. The best feature of the hotel is the front desk staff. Unfortunately, you don't sleep in the lobby. Our room was dirty. The lack of cleanliness was visible. The mattresses were very poor and made for a lousy night's sleep. The hotel is close to the Brygge bars, so it is noisy at closing time. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear JEO_1973,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I would like to know which room you stayed in so we can follow up, please e-mail me at nan-birthe.os@firsthotels.no.

I do hope we can fix it so that you would consider us again in the future....

Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here twice within a 2 week period. Great experience both times. Great location, great breakfast, nice rooms, and friendly staff. They were nice enough to grant us a late checkout during our 2nd day to accommodate our schedule that day. Hope to return again in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear James B,

Thank you for your feedback. We would love to see you again!


Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#10 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing