We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was the pits - horrible value for the extreme price!”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
seattle, wa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This hotel was the pits - horrible value for the extreme price!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

For the prices this hotel charges I was expecting at least a nice looking room and hotel. The lobby looks great, but that's it. I was on the 3rd floor and the carpet in the halls had stains all over, the walls looking beaten up and need work. My room had a huge hole that had been patched in the wall that the paint didn't match...all these things are simple cosmetics, but at 5 Star prices, I was expecting at a minimum 4 star room...and what I got was a 1 star, or at the very most a 2 star.
Don't spend your money on this hotel! Oh, and getting an Harborview room - you are actually on the main street so you get to hear all the street noise all night - also not worth it.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else - you will get a better value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takeoff321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear takeoff321,

Thanks for your feeback! I will personally follow up on the stains on the carpet. The walls will be undergoing a refurbishment this fall.

All our prices are according to occupancy and demand in the city. The summer season is very busy and therefore the prices are high. However, we will be working on improving the things mentioned so we hope to see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    471
    234
    123
    70
See reviews for
242
538
86
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is nice , has good location and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was disappointing with poor food offer , not enough tables for all the customers and service was not that good

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleitao77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Pleitao77,

Thank you for your review. We are continously working on improvements so I will forward your feedback to the Breakfast Manager.

Hope to see you again.


Yours Sincerely,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A poor rating may be too high. The best feature of the hotel is the front desk staff. Unfortunately, you don't sleep in the lobby. Our room was dirty. The lack of cleanliness was visible. The mattresses were very poor and made for a lousy night's sleep. The hotel is close to the Brygge bars, so it is noisy at closing time. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear JEO_1973,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I would like to know which room you stayed in so we can follow up, please e-mail me at nan-birthe.os@firsthotels.no.

I do hope we can fix it so that you would consider us again in the future....

Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here twice within a 2 week period. Great experience both times. Great location, great breakfast, nice rooms, and friendly staff. They were nice enough to grant us a late checkout during our 2nd day to accommodate our schedule that day. Hope to return again in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear James B,

Thank you for your feedback. We would love to see you again!


Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The First Marin hotel occupies an unassuming block just one street off the waterfront in Bergen, very close to the Bryggen area of the historic old city. The rooms are large and the breakfast expansive. The separate bath was modern and complete. It left nothing to be desired - except possibly smaller chairs to facilitate people moving through the breakfast room. Service at the front desk was fast and uncomplicated. They provided a locked room service for storing luggage. A computer for ordering taxi service is located in the lobby. The hotel is easy walking distance to Rosenkranz Tower, the Bryggen Museum, the Floyn Funicular and the marketplace. I don't think we could have had better lodgings!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on two streets and nothing disturbed our sleep. Those streets were surprisingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear JeanieV,

Thank you for your great review and nice photos, I see you were lucky with the weather also :)

Hope to see you again!


Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leith, Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was my mother and my first trip to Norway so I wanted to make it special, so booked this 4-star hotel. We stayed in a handicap accessible room on the 3rd floor and found it to be a great room. The beds were very comfortable, there was plenty of room to manouver, and the bathroom was a large wet room that catered well for disabilities. I had booked through another online agent and the whole check-in/-out process was seamless, including getting access to the luggage store on our day of departure.

There were only two small issues we had with the hotel. The first was the cleaning was slightly lacking. The room was kept mostly clean, but the light switches had items crusted onto them that I was able to wipe off with some wet wipes. Why this hadn't been done by the hotel confused me. Also, one of the caps on the bathroom door handle was missing.

The main reason I couldn't give this hotel 5 stars was the service in the restaurant for our evening meal. There was one waiter on staff and although we were the lone diners for over half an hour, service was still very slow. Other guests arrived, including a group who had booked a table. Noone was greeted by the waiter and service was very, very slow through the whole meal. The food was absolutely fantastic, though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank failtedakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Failtedakota,

Thank you so much for your review and I'm very glad you had a great stay with us. I have notified the housekeeping manager about the 2 issues in your room and the restaurant manager about the waiter. I would love to know which date it was so that we can adress the right person, please let us know!

Hope to see you again some time.


Yours Sincerely
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Located on a world heritage site in Bergen. Many tourist attractions and museums within walking distance. Staff was friendly. The receptionist went out of her way to help my wife recover her coat left on the public transport bus from airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALimaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear ALimaye,

Thank you for the kind words, it warms my heart!

Hope to see you again in the future.


Your Sincerely

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
609 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bergen
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing