We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location...”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Last weekend I stayed in this hotel for one night after the Norway in a Nutshell tour from Oslo. This hotel is located right by the harbor in front of the Fish Market. Restaurants, bars, shopping all nearby. Bus stop for Airport Bus around the corner. Very convenient. Hotel itself is simple. Wifi was weak but worked. I booked one adult for 2 single beds and only got one bed. Not a big deal as it was just me. I was harbor front on sixth floor and view was amazing. One thing about being harbor front is that it is noisy until about 4am. I finally shut the window and was then able to fall asleep. My bathroom snd shower were fine, unlike some other reviews. Breakfast was ok. I went at 730 and the eggs were cold. Everything else was fine. Front desk was excellent. They gave me directions on multiple locations and also loaned me an iphone charger when I realized I had left mine at home. Great location and service. Will stay there again when I go back. Will probably get room in back as sleep is more important to me than the view. Also Andre's bar was nice. Service was excellent there too. Hansa IPA draft.

Room Tip: Harbor view is nice on upper floors but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs-clover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. Our hotel bar is well-known and has been voted one the best bars in Norway based on its selection and expertise. We recommend trying one of the special Varg Veum drinks next time, author Gunnar Staalesen’s famous crime-fighting hero.

We look forward to see you again!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    226
    175
    90
    56
See reviews for
137
234
49
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked this hotel mainly for the location. We took the flybus from the airport, nine pounds each, which delivered us to the fish market. Getting off there it was a thirty second walk to the hotel. We had a room on the seventh floor overlooking the harbour but beware because of this the nightlife noise was quiet loud. Across the road was the tourism office and a hop on hop off bus stop. The only. Down side was that on the last two days there was a terrible smell of excrement coming from the there is no room service or minibar but there is a small vending area downstairs

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you liked our central location.With regards to the smell, if you experience issues like this in the future, we recommend contacting a member of our staff who can help you find a solution to the problem.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This city centre budget hotel (you'd miss that fact with Norwegian pricing!) is a perfect location overlooking the fish market, (the tourist centre of town) in fact so close you can smell it on a hot day- not good.

The rooms we had were the Presidential Suite and were ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. We really hit the jackpot. Great views plenty of space. Highly recommend you stay in these rooms the view alone was worth the money!

Some reviewers say the hotel is 'tired' and needs an upgrade, this was not my experience yet I sympathise with the comments but I think there are limits with what you can do in a very old city centre building.

No tea making facilities in the room was a surprise and a negative. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice from a buffet style arrangement well serviced by pleasant staff.

The bar on the 2nd floor for a 'nightcap' was just fine.

If I come back to Bergen anytime soon (unlikely unless I go to work in a bank on obscene bonuses) I would put this hotel top of my list to stay in. A 4.5 rounded up to a 5

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Count_colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are so glad to hear that you liked i it here! Thank for all your nice comments on the location, the suite and breakfast. Since we do not have coffe/tea making facilities in all rooms we offer free coffe/tea in the restaurant all day and night.

We hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Good location (great views over harbour) and a good breakfast buffet with plenty of choice. The room was a bit on the small side. There was no way to cool the room (no fan or AC), and opening the window let in a lot of noise from the street, even midweek, making it hard to sleep. The hotel claims to have WiFi but it never worked in either of our rooms, meaning we had to go down to reception to use it there where there was a strong signal. Staff friendly enough. Somewhere above "average" but not quite at "very good".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hera that you enjoued our goog location and the breakfast buffet. Our rooms vary in size, if you want a bigger room next time you stay with us, please inform us in advance and we will try our best to accommodate you. The unsusally warm summer in Bergen makes it unfortunately a bit warm for everybody staying in hotels. Only 2 hotels in Bergen has aircondition due to the fact that 99% of the time we really dont need it.

Enjoy the rest of the summer and welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Scandic Strand has a fantastic location right in the heart of beautiful Bergen. We were fortunate enough to have stayed in a room overlooking the market and harbour. Breakfast was good, with plenty of variety. That's where the good points end, however. The overall impression of the hotel room was tired and lacking any imagination, let alone any clue the guest is in Norway. We were disappointed also that the room had no tea/coffee making facilities, surely an absolute basic nowadays. And something which would have been a problem to anyone staying more than our one night is that there is virtually nowhere to hang up clothes. Overall okay, potential to have been outstanding.

Room Tip: A room with a harbour view is an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you liked our central location and the breakfast. Not all rooms have coffe/tea making facilities, but to make up for that we offer free coffe and tea in our restaurant 24/7,

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
292 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is right on the harbor, with a great view of Bryggen, the fishmarket and the harbor- be sure to ask for a harbor view room. The rooms are quite a bit dated, though, and in need of a significant upgrade, although it was comfortable. Breakfast buffet is done well with a wide variety of choices. Service is friendly and accommodating throughout. Parking is available two blocks away in a covered garage with a discount, and free wifi is available. Overall, 3.5 rounded up to 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast buffet. We are aware that some of our rooms need an upgrade, luckily this is scheduled to take place in 2015.

We hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I needed something close to the port and this was very central and the bus from the Airport (10 euro 1 way) brings you straight to city center and in front of the Hotel
Price was regular for being in Norway (100 $ 1 night single room) but I am afraid that room was really small and only 1 set of 2 towels was provided (?)
Wifi working but only in the main hall since signal is really poor up to the 3rd floor

Breakfast is quite ok, served from 7 am till 10 am, full range of continental breakfast

Check in at the reception was quite fast and I took my room immediately

Overall a hotel where you can spend 1 or 2 night just if you pass by here
but everything is right here, Fish market, main shopping mall etc etc

No iron, and condition of some wall not that amazing (see the picture). I mean with 100 $ a night you could take care of this a bit better right?

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of course, really noisy in the inside and opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you liked our great location right by the popular Fish Market. Your feedback regarding the walls will be forwarded to our technical department for inspection.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#23 of 46 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Property: Scandic Strand
Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing