We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having read the reviews we were sceptical about our one night stay at the end of a Hurtigruten cruise. Hurtigruten had booked this for us. The stay was very comfortable indeed. The room was spotless and functional. I assume we would have had a different room for a more substantive stay with more storage space but we only needed to be there overnight.. We were not expecting a breakfast at all. Yet the provision was extremely good...far beyond what would be expected of a coplimentary breakfast. There was even free coffee in the lobby. The beds were superb. The location was brilliantly central..we looked down on the Fish market from our room on the 6th floor. The only criticism is the thickness of the walls...not brilliant for noise/(tv noise in particular), transmission.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the view. The higher the better. Good lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location brilliant.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    218
    166
    88
    54
See reviews for
133
227
47
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived on sunday 30th December for a two night stay (at the end of a cruise), and looking forward to a freshen up, then a drink before dinner. I asked the receptionist to reserve a table for dinner in the restaurant - but guess what ? - the hotel has NO restaurant.
OK, drinks then before we go out to look for food, but bar is closed because it's Sunday.

Up to the room on the sixth floor, which was cramped, shabby, and dirty with minimum of cheap and nasty furniture. The paint was peeling off, carpet was threadbare and shabby, no tea/coffee making facilities, and the lighting was so dim it was impossible to read either in the room or in bed.
Shower room was ok, but you could actually feel the dirt on the tiles with your hand. The twin beds were clean and comfortable, although they were so narrow that turning over in bed was a problem without the risk of falling out of bed - didn't know you could get beds this narrow.
The only plus point in the room was a flat screen television on the wall.
We were told by another guest that some rooms had been refurbished, but one can only review what one has experienced - so our room clearly was overdue for action.

Breakfast was admittedly very good with limitless tea and coffee and lots of choices.
Following a day in Bergen (Location of hotel is excellent in this regard), went to the bar for a drink before going out again for dinner, but (you've guessed it), bar was closed because it's New Years Eve !!! Please believe me, I'm not making this up, no restaurant in the hotel, and the bar is closed on Sunday and New Years Eve - are these people in the hotel business or
not ?
Staff that we saw were quite pleasant and helpful, but this did not make up for the hotel's lack of facilities and other problems.

Room Tip: Accept only a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_gadsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you experienced several issues during your stay at Scandic Strand. Regarding opening hours it is quite common in Norway to keep bars closed on Sundays. The hotel bar has an external owner, so unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the opening hours.
The hotel is located in the city centre and is surrounded by restaurants and bars. Just across the street there are at least ten different restaurants and several bars. Due to this it is very seldom a problem for our guests to fint a suitable restaurant offer within two minutes walk.

Dirty rooms however is our problem. There is no excuse what so ever, and your review has been forwarded to the manager in charge. As you mention you have stayed in a room which has not been renowated recently. I am happy to tell that the few remaining rooms will be renovated this spring.

We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and and we do hope you accept our apology.

Best regards
Scandic Strand

Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Nimes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The view and the location are very good (we were on the 5th floor) As previously said, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good too. Our room was a family room as we are 2 adults, 3 children (one a baby) It is a bit outdated, but the room itself was certainly big enough. Its true that we could have been doing with a bit more hanging/drawer space! One thing that was annoying was that there was no kettle in the room. For heating up bottles etc we had to go down to where we eat breakfast and use the machines for hot water, not really ideal.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view! you might have more traffic noise but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have the best location in town and from the hotel you can get to almost everything in Bergen within a few minutes walk. I do understand that you found it a bit of a hazzel not having a kettle in your room. But we do have kettles in other room categories, so next time please contact our staff and they will bring one to your room. However, I will forward your reply to the housekeeper so we can ensure that familyrooms get kettles as a standard in the future- It makes everything so much easier, I know:)

We do hope to see you back again, and in the meantime: Merry Christmas!


Best regards
Scandic Strand
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just had a weekend pre boarding Hurtigruten and our front facing room on the 6th floor was good. We did miss any drawers or space to put clothes as other than a small hanging rail, there was nothing at all - odd, so we kept our clothes in our cases.
However despite the fact that they have built a new tourist centre right in front of what was one of the best views in Bergen if you go above the 4th floor you still get a great view. Really excellent breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff - it has atmosphere and is more interesting than a bland modern hotel and the bar is fab if you are a fan of Vag Vreum. Will be back,

Room Tip: Go above the fourth floor to get the view - also it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our central location and excellent view! We are also very glad you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant.

Varg Veum is an old, dear friend of the hotel and our friendship go way back:) He has his own spot in the bar and next time you visit us make sure you order a Varv Veums special!

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As previous reviewers have already written - the view and location is excellent The staff is friendly, the reception area is good and breakfast offerings are what you would expect from a Scandic hotel (=good!). However, the rooms are a bit worn and outdated. The biggest issue is the state of the windows facing the main street - I thought that the window was left open since there was so much traffic noise in the room but soon found out that the window was in fact closed... Well, as closed as it could be since the handle was about to fall off and the window seals were all dried in.

To sum things up: Changing the windows and freshening up the details in the room (for example the shower handle á la 1980...) and the hotel will recieve a 4 star rating next time.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise - ask for a backside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludmilla232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the location and the view from the hotel and not at least we are happy to hear that our staff took good care of you.

Scandic Strand is located in the city centre of Bergen and hotels with such a central location will always be exposed for some city noise. However, as you mention there are a few things we can do to make sure we keep our rooms as quiet as possible and fixing the window is one of them. I will forward your comments to the maintenance dep. so they can look into it.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards

Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a lovely stay here in December. We stayed in the Captain's Cabin - which was a spacious old world style room. It felt like we were staying in an old sea salt's cabin! Plenty of room for two adults and two children. The breakfast was also good and we took advantage of paying for lunch as well. Terrific location - very close to the SAS bus drop off area for the airport link. Internet in lobby - next to some great shops - loved the Oleana shop next door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstruthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay at Scandic Strand last year. A lot of things has happend since your last stay; we have redecorated and upgraded the entire reception- and lobby area and quite a few rooms, including the Captains cabin room where you stayed.

But the excellent location and the fantastic view from the frontrooms and the breakfast restaurant is still the same:)

Hope to welcome you back to Scandic Strand some day!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Scandic is a hotel chain that I know for being minimalistic, environmentally involved and clean, but the Scandic Strand hotel in Bergen does not live up to that expectation. Reception, shop and breakfast are good and at par with other Scandic hotels, but the rooms aren't. It's been mentioned here before that the hotel is undergoing refurbishments, but that's no excuse to charge full price and put people in semi-dirty rooms. I had a great view onto Strandkaien (which comes with the noise of the bars on a Friday-night) and the room was spacious (I paid extra for a superior room), but the coach had major stains on it and I noticed on more than one occasion that the floor wasn't cleaned at all after the visit of house keeping.
Something I've never seen before: you use a key card to access your room, but you need to lock your room again with the same key card from the outside otherwise anyone can enter your room... and they didn't explain this upon checkin.
Staff is friendly but one tells something different from another one.
All this being said, I wonder whether there is a good value for money hotel in Bergen since all reviews on Tripadvisor have been so so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the cleaning of your hotel room. I have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping department and they will immediately look into their routines.

The key system works the way that if you dont lock your door using the key card the room will stay unlocked for a few minutes before the door locks itselves. This is due to the fire/escape plan for the hotel - if the fire alarm goes off and you leave your room and the corridor is full of smoke you should be able to return to your room without thinking about bringing your key. The system is approved by the Norwegian fire department.

All keycards have information in both norwegian and english that you need to use the card to lock the door.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Scandic Neptun
#23 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#17 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Property: Scandic Strand
Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing