We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just had a weekend pre boarding Hurtigruten and our front facing room on the 6th floor was good. We did miss any drawers or space to put clothes as other than a small hanging rail, there was nothing at all - odd, so we kept our clothes in our cases.
However despite the fact that they have built a new tourist centre right in front of what was one of the best views in Bergen if you go above the 4th floor you still get a great view. Really excellent breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff - it has atmosphere and is more interesting than a bland modern hotel and the bar is fab if you are a fan of Vag Vreum. Will be back,

Room Tip: Go above the fourth floor to get the view - also it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our central location and excellent view! We are also very glad you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant.

Varg Veum is an old, dear friend of the hotel and our friendship go way back:) He has his own spot in the bar and next time you visit us make sure you order a Varv Veums special!

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    240
    187
    101
    71
See reviews for
156
257
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As previous reviewers have already written - the view and location is excellent The staff is friendly, the reception area is good and breakfast offerings are what you would expect from a Scandic hotel (=good!). However, the rooms are a bit worn and outdated. The biggest issue is the state of the windows facing the main street - I thought that the window was left open since there was so much traffic noise in the room but soon found out that the window was in fact closed... Well, as closed as it could be since the handle was about to fall off and the window seals were all dried in.

To sum things up: Changing the windows and freshening up the details in the room (for example the shower handle á la 1980...) and the hotel will recieve a 4 star rating next time.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise - ask for a backside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludmilla232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the location and the view from the hotel and not at least we are happy to hear that our staff took good care of you.

Scandic Strand is located in the city centre of Bergen and hotels with such a central location will always be exposed for some city noise. However, as you mention there are a few things we can do to make sure we keep our rooms as quiet as possible and fixing the window is one of them. I will forward your comments to the maintenance dep. so they can look into it.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards

Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a lovely stay here in December. We stayed in the Captain's Cabin - which was a spacious old world style room. It felt like we were staying in an old sea salt's cabin! Plenty of room for two adults and two children. The breakfast was also good and we took advantage of paying for lunch as well. Terrific location - very close to the SAS bus drop off area for the airport link. Internet in lobby - next to some great shops - loved the Oleana shop next door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstruthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay at Scandic Strand last year. A lot of things has happend since your last stay; we have redecorated and upgraded the entire reception- and lobby area and quite a few rooms, including the Captains cabin room where you stayed.

But the excellent location and the fantastic view from the frontrooms and the breakfast restaurant is still the same:)

Hope to welcome you back to Scandic Strand some day!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Scandic is a hotel chain that I know for being minimalistic, environmentally involved and clean, but the Scandic Strand hotel in Bergen does not live up to that expectation. Reception, shop and breakfast are good and at par with other Scandic hotels, but the rooms aren't. It's been mentioned here before that the hotel is undergoing refurbishments, but that's no excuse to charge full price and put people in semi-dirty rooms. I had a great view onto Strandkaien (which comes with the noise of the bars on a Friday-night) and the room was spacious (I paid extra for a superior room), but the coach had major stains on it and I noticed on more than one occasion that the floor wasn't cleaned at all after the visit of house keeping.
Something I've never seen before: you use a key card to access your room, but you need to lock your room again with the same key card from the outside otherwise anyone can enter your room... and they didn't explain this upon checkin.
Staff is friendly but one tells something different from another one.
All this being said, I wonder whether there is a good value for money hotel in Bergen since all reviews on Tripadvisor have been so so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the cleaning of your hotel room. I have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping department and they will immediately look into their routines.

The key system works the way that if you dont lock your door using the key card the room will stay unlocked for a few minutes before the door locks itselves. This is due to the fire/escape plan for the hotel - if the fire alarm goes off and you leave your room and the corridor is full of smoke you should be able to return to your room without thinking about bringing your key. The system is approved by the Norwegian fire department.

All keycards have information in both norwegian and english that you need to use the card to lock the door.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our view overlooking the harbour, Bryggen and the markets from the 7th floor windows was lovely. The noise from nearby bars until 3am was not. The room was really not up to scratch - no storage, squeezing around the beds to get to the lone armchair and see out the window. The bathroom was enormous but with a tiny corner shower (without door, so the floor flooded regularly). I see the hotel is planning renovations so maybe future guests will find the spaces better used. The front desk service was pleasant, the location is very nice, the breakfasts fine and it is handy to be able to get tea/coffee during the day from the dining area. On balance we would look elsewhere on any future visit to Bergen which is a shame because the hotel has the potential to be so much better and the view is iconic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumac2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize for our late respond, due to sommer holiday it has unfortunately taken som time.

We are happy to hear that you liked the good location and that our staff was pleasant. Most of our guest are happy about the possibility to get free coffe/tea during the day and we are glad you enjoyd it to! As you mentioned the remaining parts of the hotel will be renovated in the nearby future and we are happy to recive all good inputs like yours.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights here during the rainy July. We had booked a "superior" twin room but the first room (#714) did not have a harbor view and it's sitting area seemed quite small, although the overall room was quite adequate. It was quiet and faced a back wall. There was a desk, small table, and separate easy chair. There was no safe or fridge, both of which you would expect for the price we paid. The lighting was poor. The bathroom shower did not have good drainage and the water leaked onto the floor. We asked about the "superior" room the next morning and got switched without any fuss to room #710, which faced Bergen's harbor. The room was slightly bigger but for the difference in price, probably not worth it. There were the same furnishings and a larger bathroom. The shower had no door, but did not leak all over the floor quite as much. There were three large bathtowels and no handtowels because the linen delivery had not arrived in time. Breakfast came with the room and was Norwegian very substantial. As we found out in most Scandinavian hotels, there were no toiletries. Wifi was included in the room and there are two PCs in the lobby area. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the town. It faces the harbor with its daily market. The Bergen boats are on the same block and the train station is a short 15-minute walk away. The rooms are expensive for what you get, even compared to other Scandinavian hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize for our late respond, due to sommer holiday it has unfortunately taken som time.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location. The size of the superior rooms may vary a little bit, but they shall all have seperate sitting areas and a good size of the bathrooms. We have choosen not to have fridge in the rooms as you will find the wellequipped Scandic Shop in the reception area.

The price of the room vary by season, and is not always so high, but July is top season in Bergen.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand.

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The worst and most expensive hotel I have stayed in Europe.ng the rooms are but there is no difference in being put in a dogbox or being put in a better room. There are many hotels offering better rooms at a more reasonable cost beside the harbour.

Doesn't take too much to find one and make sure you do. This hotel is the pits, room unclean, walls dirty, marks on doors etc. Size of room was ridiculous.

I took a photo of my partner on the toilet. Her feet actually hung out of the open door while seated! I'll post it later when I get home to my computer. It really is worth a laugh.

Enough said.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Sorry for our late respond, due to summer holiday it has unfortunately taken som time.

We are sad to hear that you didn´nt enjoy your stay with us. The size of rooms vary at Scandic Strand, and larger rooms are available. If you decide to visit us again we will do our best to allocate you to a larger room. Regarding marks on doors and dirty walls I have asked the housekeeping departement to make sure it has been cleaned and taken care of.

We apologize for the small size of the bathroom, but can inform you that the remaining parts of the hotel will be renovated in the near future.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#27 of 49 in Bergen
930 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#22 of 49 in Bergen
62 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
885 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Property: Scandic Strand
Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing