We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, but not the real feeling of Scandic”
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Scandic is a hotel chain that I know for being minimalistic, environmentally involved and clean, but the Scandic Strand hotel in Bergen does not live up to that expectation. Reception, shop and breakfast are good and at par with other Scandic hotels, but the rooms aren't. It's been mentioned here before that the hotel is undergoing refurbishments, but that's no excuse to charge full price and put people in semi-dirty rooms. I had a great view onto Strandkaien (which comes with the noise of the bars on a Friday-night) and the room was spacious (I paid extra for a superior room), but the coach had major stains on it and I noticed on more than one occasion that the floor wasn't cleaned at all after the visit of house keeping.
Something I've never seen before: you use a key card to access your room, but you need to lock your room again with the same key card from the outside otherwise anyone can enter your room... and they didn't explain this upon checkin.
Staff is friendly but one tells something different from another one.
All this being said, I wonder whether there is a good value for money hotel in Bergen since all reviews on Tripadvisor have been so so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the cleaning of your hotel room. I have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping department and they will immediately look into their routines.

The key system works the way that if you dont lock your door using the key card the room will stay unlocked for a few minutes before the door locks itselves. This is due to the fire/escape plan for the hotel - if the fire alarm goes off and you leave your room and the corridor is full of smoke you should be able to return to your room without thinking about bringing your key. The system is approved by the Norwegian fire department.

All keycards have information in both norwegian and english that you need to use the card to lock the door.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 730 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our view overlooking the harbour, Bryggen and the markets from the 7th floor windows was lovely. The noise from nearby bars until 3am was not. The room was really not up to scratch - no storage, squeezing around the beds to get to the lone armchair and see out the window. The bathroom was enormous but with a tiny corner shower (without door, so the floor flooded regularly). I see the hotel is planning renovations so maybe future guests will find the spaces better used. The front desk service was pleasant, the location is very nice, the breakfasts fine and it is handy to be able to get tea/coffee during the day from the dining area. On balance we would look elsewhere on any future visit to Bergen which is a shame because the hotel has the potential to be so much better and the view is iconic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumac2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your review! We apologize for our late respond, due to sommer holiday it has unfortunately taken som time.

We are happy to hear that you liked the good location and that our staff was pleasant. Most of our guest are happy about the possibility to get free coffe/tea during the day and we are glad you enjoyd it to! As you mentioned the remaining parts of the hotel will be renovated in the nearby future and we are happy to recive all good inputs like yours.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights here during the rainy July. We had booked a "superior" twin room but the first room (#714) did not have a harbor view and it's sitting area seemed quite small, although the overall room was quite adequate. It was quiet and faced a back wall. There was a desk, small table, and separate easy chair. There was no safe or fridge, both of which you would expect for the price we paid. The lighting was poor. The bathroom shower did not have good drainage and the water leaked onto the floor. We asked about the "superior" room the next morning and got switched without any fuss to room #710, which faced Bergen's harbor. The room was slightly bigger but for the difference in price, probably not worth it. There were the same furnishings and a larger bathroom. The shower had no door, but did not leak all over the floor quite as much. There were three large bathtowels and no handtowels because the linen delivery had not arrived in time. Breakfast came with the room and was Norwegian very substantial. As we found out in most Scandinavian hotels, there were no toiletries. Wifi was included in the room and there are two PCs in the lobby area. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the town. It faces the harbor with its daily market. The Bergen boats are on the same block and the train station is a short 15-minute walk away. The rooms are expensive for what you get, even compared to other Scandinavian hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your review! We apologize for our late respond, due to sommer holiday it has unfortunately taken som time.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location. The size of the superior rooms may vary a little bit, but they shall all have seperate sitting areas and a good size of the bathrooms. We have choosen not to have fridge in the rooms as you will find the wellequipped Scandic Shop in the reception area.

The price of the room vary by season, and is not always so high, but July is top season in Bergen.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand.

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The worst and most expensive hotel I have stayed in Europe.ng the rooms are but there is no difference in being put in a dogbox or being put in a better room. There are many hotels offering better rooms at a more reasonable cost beside the harbour.

Doesn't take too much to find one and make sure you do. This hotel is the pits, room unclean, walls dirty, marks on doors etc. Size of room was ridiculous.

I took a photo of my partner on the toilet. Her feet actually hung out of the open door while seated! I'll post it later when I get home to my computer. It really is worth a laugh.

Enough said.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Strand, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your review!
Sorry for our late respond, due to summer holiday it has unfortunately taken som time.

We are sad to hear that you didn´nt enjoy your stay with us. The size of rooms vary at Scandic Strand, and larger rooms are available. If you decide to visit us again we will do our best to allocate you to a larger room. Regarding marks on doors and dirty walls I have asked the housekeeping departement to make sure it has been cleaned and taken care of.

We apologize for the small size of the bathroom, but can inform you that the remaining parts of the hotel will be renovated in the near future.

Welcome back to Scandic Strand!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Strand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in early July, 2012. Initially, our group four family members were given two rooms on the fifth floor. Both rooms overlooked the harbor and Bryggen area, but they were shabby and incredibly small. Since we were about to embark on a 12-day voyage on Hurtigruten, we had a lot of luggage and there was no place to stow it in the rooms. My room had an old-fashioned European bathroom - a wet room with no water containment for the shower, a small sink with no counter space and no ventilation. Showering there was like showering in an airplane bathroom! The other room in our group had a much nicer bathroom with a modern glass enclosure. After the first night, I asked to be changed to an updated room, which was done quickly and without issue. The updated room on the third floor had new carpeting, was twice as large, and had a nice bathroom with glass shower enclosure.

Breakfast had a very limited selection and was very crowded and poorly laid out.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank pbbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you had several complaints about the rooms and breakfast. We apologize for the inconsistent standard of the rooms, but can inform you that the hotel will be renovated in the near future. The price of the room vary by season, and is not always so high. We are very happy that our staff gave you another room without issue. Welcome back to Scandic Strand Hotel!
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Hotels, Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Very nice reception area, and the breakfast is ok, but the rest of the place is a disaster when you consider the price. Very worn, very sad and very bad condition of walls, floor etc. Not that the hotel is a poor hostel or something like that, but you expect more for those prices. I stayed in the Varg Veum's cabin, and what was waiting for me at the room was only a tiny piece of a newspaperpage on the wall.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that your room was not according to standard for the price payed. We have different levels of quality for the rooms, and Strand will be renovated in the near future to avoid a too large gap in quality throughout the hotel. Prices vary much by season, and is not always so high. We are happy you liked the reception area and breakfast!
Welcome back to Scandic Strand Hotel.
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Hotels Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

To be honest the best thing about this hotel is its location in the centre of the town.

Tiny room with very old basic fittings and in desperate need of renovation, there was peeling paint and tired chipped fittings and furniture - the only good thing about ours was on the front overlooking the harbour and sunset, though with the window open there was a lot of noise from the road and fish market as well as all the revellers but that may not bother some it was just that we'd come from a very peaceful location.
There were new windows being installed on the 2nd floor whilst we were there, and I'm so pleased I wasn't working there during the day due to the noise...

The lobby and restaurant are recently renovated, so it would seem that there's a lot of investment going on... but how they're going to improve the bedrooms I wouldn't like to guess...

The food in the restaurant was again like all Norwegian hotels, excellent.
Staff were helpful and spoke excellent English like all Norwegians :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickw7coc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for your review!
We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay due to renovation. The size of rooms vary at Strand hotel, and larger rooms are available. We are very happy that you are pleased with the food, service and location!
Welcome back to Scandic Strand Hotel!
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#28 of 49 in Bergen
967 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#16 of 49 in Bergen
100 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Harbour Hotel
Bergen Harbour Hotel
#33 of 49 in Bergen
35 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $136 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing