We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A noisy shoebox”
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A noisy shoebox”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Very small rooms, even by European standards. Very noisy. Decent breakfast buffet although meager compared with other hotels in the area.
First time at this hotel after several stays in Bergen; I will not be returning the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    313
    160
    39
    8
See reviews for
127
291
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
argyll
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed herer for 1 night prior to going on a cruise.
Staff were friendly, the room large and comfortable and reasonable priced for Norway.
The breakfast was adequate. The hotel is situated close to the Fishmarket and is a 5 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The breakfast buffet is terrific - lots of fish, good hard rolls, strong coffee, nice atmosphere. Our top-floor room was fine, if small; there wasn't much room for our bags. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but functional, except for the second day, when there wasn't any hot water (which was explained by the front desk as the result of there not being many guests?). We enjoyed the complimentary waffles and tea/coffee in the afternoons. The historic cellar wine bar is worth visiting just to see it. The location is convenient enough - a 15-20 min walk to the train station, and a 5-10 minute walk to the main attractions of Bergen. We booked with a Fjord Pass and got a decent rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second stay at Augustine. Since I got woken up by loud music on the previous stay I was doubting if I should book it again. But Bergen is a tricky town for finding decent hotels at a decent rate. I've stayed a several places and they are all over priced and rather shabby despite the 4-star rating.
So on this stay I didn't get woken up by music but the stay was nothing spectacular. Small room, very stuffy untill I'd aired it out, most rooms are in a need of refurbishment. Small bathroom, breakfast very standard and really nothing out of the ordinary. If you are aware of what you're getting when you book you won't be disapointed but if you think your £150 in Bergen will give you the same standard as £150 in the UK you'll regret your choice of city.
My tip would be to find a small B&B or lodging house rather than try a hotel in Bergen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in Augustin hotel for 3 days. They offer perfect services. Rooms are really convenient, tidy and quiet. Hotel is situated only couple of minutes away from famous amenities of Bergen. There are lot of shops, restaurants and good places for sight seeing nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great little hotel located very close to the center of downtown Bergen. Breakfasts were wonderful and the staff was very helpful. We used their parking which was very close to the hotel. We had a small room but it was very clean and nice. We spent two nights there and enjoyed the waffles in the evening. They have a light fixture that is made of lightbulbs that someone has attached wing on so it looks like little birds... Really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a total of four nights in the Augustin Hotel in Bergen with two nights each time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was great--within walking distance to the boat terminal, the shopping district, and Bryggen. Plus our room was very large--definitely the best of our trip so far. Extra pillows were in the room and we were able to get extra towels at the desk. There was free coffee and tea in the lobbly all the time and free waffles from 4-6 every day. We would stay here again when we return to Bergen.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AKJane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#15 of 46 in Bergen
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
547 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing