We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel in a town with a hotel problem” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Uppsala
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a town with a hotel problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second stay at Augustine. Since I got woken up by loud music on the previous stay I was doubting if I should book it again. But Bergen is a tricky town for finding decent hotels at a decent rate. I've stayed a several places and they are all over priced and rather shabby despite the 4-star rating.
So on this stay I didn't get woken up by music but the stay was nothing spectacular. Small room, very stuffy untill I'd aired it out, most rooms are in a need of refurbishment. Small bathroom, breakfast very standard and really nothing out of the ordinary. If you are aware of what you're getting when you book you won't be disapointed but if you think your £150 in Bergen will give you the same standard as £150 in the UK you'll regret your choice of city.
My tip would be to find a small B&B or lodging house rather than try a hotel in Bergen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    301
    156
    38
    8
See reviews for
120
285
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in Augustin hotel for 3 days. They offer perfect services. Rooms are really convenient, tidy and quiet. Hotel is situated only couple of minutes away from famous amenities of Bergen. There are lot of shops, restaurants and good places for sight seeing nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great little hotel located very close to the center of downtown Bergen. Breakfasts were wonderful and the staff was very helpful. We used their parking which was very close to the hotel. We had a small room but it was very clean and nice. We spent two nights there and enjoyed the waffles in the evening. They have a light fixture that is made of lightbulbs that someone has attached wing on so it looks like little birds... Really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a total of four nights in the Augustin Hotel in Bergen with two nights each time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was great--within walking distance to the boat terminal, the shopping district, and Bryggen. Plus our room was very large--definitely the best of our trip so far. Extra pillows were in the room and we were able to get extra towels at the desk. There was free coffee and tea in the lobbly all the time and free waffles from 4-6 every day. We would stay here again when we return to Bergen.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AKJane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

oh, bergen, what an amazing city! it a must see in scandinavia, and from there you can start/finish the Norway in a Nutshell, to fantastic trip that takes you in the fyjords.
but, about the hotel: you need to reserve everything early! the city is very,very,very small so, there are not a lot of hotels, BUT, (i gues is because of the trips and tours that you can star or finish in the city) there is a lot of tourist! when i went on booking to book my hotel (two months early) there wasent a lot of place left for me. so i had to pick one that i tought that was a little too expensive, but, the only choice.
the agustin is a family hotel (but its very big) very well located (but i guess everything is well located in bergen..) and with a very nice staff. food is great, rooms also. there is also a restaurant and a 'relaxing room' with internet, sofas, coffe, tea, books and other nice things. but there is also wi-fi in the rooms. nice place to go, i would definitelly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luizacerioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a “Norway in a Nutshell” tour. The rate was reasonable and the breakfast was high quality. The lounge area features coffee and tea and contains an eclectic collection of books, games, a TV and a piano.

There was one incident during our stay. When the drain was pulled out of the bathtub, the water flowed out of an opening at the bottom of the tub and flooded the bathroom. Apparently that opening is supposed to drain water from the bathroom floor, but because of a blockage in the system, the reverse happened! We were told the hotel was full so rather than being relocated to another room, we were given a stack of towels to soak up the water.

The room was quiet enough and had a decent washroom (except for the flooding part).

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms by the central stair next to the elevator. The door closes slowly then slams s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed two nights here in September. Check-in was courteous and efficient with information provided about local transport and places to eat. The hotel is located within walking distance of all main attractions in this very appealing Norwegian city. The room was clean, good bathroom, all well maintained. The hotel also offered complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day, and waffles with jam and cream between 4.00 pm and 6.00 pm. Highly recommend this hotel to other travellers as ideal start/finish location before or after Hurtigruten cruise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing