We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great little hotel located very close to the center of downtown Bergen. Breakfasts were wonderful and the staff was very helpful. We used their parking which was very close to the hotel. We had a small room but it was very clean and nice. We spent two nights there and enjoyed the waffles in the evening. They have a light fixture that is made of lightbulbs that someone has attached wing on so it looks like little birds... Really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    306
    158
    38
    8
See reviews for
124
286
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a total of four nights in the Augustin Hotel in Bergen with two nights each time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was great--within walking distance to the boat terminal, the shopping district, and Bryggen. Plus our room was very large--definitely the best of our trip so far. Extra pillows were in the room and we were able to get extra towels at the desk. There was free coffee and tea in the lobbly all the time and free waffles from 4-6 every day. We would stay here again when we return to Bergen.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AKJane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

oh, bergen, what an amazing city! it a must see in scandinavia, and from there you can start/finish the Norway in a Nutshell, to fantastic trip that takes you in the fyjords.
but, about the hotel: you need to reserve everything early! the city is very,very,very small so, there are not a lot of hotels, BUT, (i gues is because of the trips and tours that you can star or finish in the city) there is a lot of tourist! when i went on booking to book my hotel (two months early) there wasent a lot of place left for me. so i had to pick one that i tought that was a little too expensive, but, the only choice.
the agustin is a family hotel (but its very big) very well located (but i guess everything is well located in bergen..) and with a very nice staff. food is great, rooms also. there is also a restaurant and a 'relaxing room' with internet, sofas, coffe, tea, books and other nice things. but there is also wi-fi in the rooms. nice place to go, i would definitelly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luizacerioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a “Norway in a Nutshell” tour. The rate was reasonable and the breakfast was high quality. The lounge area features coffee and tea and contains an eclectic collection of books, games, a TV and a piano.

There was one incident during our stay. When the drain was pulled out of the bathtub, the water flowed out of an opening at the bottom of the tub and flooded the bathroom. Apparently that opening is supposed to drain water from the bathroom floor, but because of a blockage in the system, the reverse happened! We were told the hotel was full so rather than being relocated to another room, we were given a stack of towels to soak up the water.

The room was quiet enough and had a decent washroom (except for the flooding part).

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms by the central stair next to the elevator. The door closes slowly then slams s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed two nights here in September. Check-in was courteous and efficient with information provided about local transport and places to eat. The hotel is located within walking distance of all main attractions in this very appealing Norwegian city. The room was clean, good bathroom, all well maintained. The hotel also offered complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day, and waffles with jam and cream between 4.00 pm and 6.00 pm. Highly recommend this hotel to other travellers as ideal start/finish location before or after Hurtigruten cruise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you want a comfortable hotel with extremely friendly staff, close to the City centre then at the price you pay you cannot possibly be dissapointed with your stay at this hotel. The hotel is very clean and tidy - the lounge is relaxing with 24/7 tean and coffee - and you can have fun making waffles at 4pm every afternoon. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are comfortable but small - ok for us as we didnt spend much time in the room. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertNeilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Let me preface this by saying we wanted to stay at the Clarion Admiral where we had stayed previously, but there were not enough rooms available for my group. The Augustin was well reviewed so we picked that as an alternative. The hotel is very nice and the staff quite accomodating, however....

I was supposed to share a room with my brother who is also on the trip. We had selected this option primarily because of the cost of the rooms in Bergen. When we got to the room however, the two twin beds actually ended up being two singles that were side by side - touching. I've actually seend massage tables that are wider than these beds - they were tiny. As a result I ended up getting a separate room and incurring the extra cost just to make sure to get a good nights sleep.

The rooms are clean and well appointment if a little small as they are in much of europe. The bathroom is clean and large enough for 1. The only climate control in the room is an dial for the electric radiators, not uncommon in a country that is generally not more than 80 degrees F in the summer. My room however when I opened the door was about 85 degrees and I've had to leave the windows open for a couple of hours to cool down the room. I'm guessing someone bumped the dial and accidentally turned up the heat.

The bed for being in the land of "hard beds and big breakfasts" is suprizingly comfortable. It's not as luxurious as the Admiral, but it's not a bad hotel and it's just down the street.

Room Tip: The beds are very small, if you have people travelling together that are just sharing a room, they m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Property: Augustin Hotel
Address: C. Sundts gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing