We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveler rating
214
358
172
52
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
358
172
52
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egon restaurant great location cosmos tour fish market free coffee machine breakfast is served leave the window open cozy hotel central location outstanding breakfast pedestrian street big tv small things ferry terminal middle of town rooms are clean walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 820 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019

You can't get lost in Bergen and the city is close to the main square in one of the alleys in the city. The hotel was great and we stayed in for 2 night on a Cosmos tour recently and the amenities (coffee kettle, tea, etc). Please note that most hotels in Scandinavia don't have a room locker but it's ok. Breakfast good and the fresh made smoothies in the morning were great. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudeepbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBristolBergen, Booking Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear guest.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We really appreciate it.
It is wonderful to read your positive words and thoughts. We will certainly share it with our staff.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile


The hotel is located very central, with many shops and many nice restaurants close by. Short distance to public transport and about 10-15 minutes walk to Bergen Bus terminal, however you can also take the tram or buss to the terminal as well. Clean rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. Comfortable and calm place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank samurai-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBristolBergen, Booking Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear guest.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. We are glad you had such a nice stay with us.
We hope to see you back with us in the future.
We wish you a peacefull Easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Long time since last visit, and this hotel is like coming home. Every time! Top service, welcoming atmosphere, clean and in the heart of Bergen. Torgallmenningen is the greates starting point to explore the city!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank msklever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBristolBergen, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Dear guest.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and words. We appreciate it very much, and it means a lot to us.
We are hoping to see you again soon with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

PLUS
a) very good position; within the shopping area and 10 minutes walking to UNESCO heritage area and tourism office (same building with what is called “fish market” meaning restaurants)
b) good service, decent staff, not very expensive prices
c) very good breakfast
d) close to many restaurants and souvenir shops
e) umbrellas for guests ( important for Bergen weather)
f) refrigerator and instant coffee/ tea maker
g) warm floor in the shower room
MINUS
a) shower area delimitated by a plastic curtain
b) wall shower gel dispenser (modest for a 4 indicated star hotel)
c) no room temperature controller
d) small rooms ( but common in Scandinavia)
e) some noise due to some refurbishments

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBristolBergen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your positive and very thourough review after your stay with us. We are very appreciative for you taking the time to do so.
We are positively doing something with our shower curtain situation. The refurbishment you heard was us totally renovating the rooms and the bathrooms. They are being re-build, so no more curtains in the near future. Temperature controller is also being installed in the new room layout.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Had a great time their in early february.
Location: the best in town - right in the center, on the shopping street, 2 minutes to the fish market...
Reception very friendly and efficient.
Rooms, good, maybe a bit small, same holds for the bath rooms.
Breakfast excellent.
Only drawback: due to renovation works our bus could not pull up in front of the hotel upon arrival. Works should be finished in summer 2019.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UrsulaHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBristolBergen, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Dear guest.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We are glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back with us after our renovations are finished. We will then have more larger rooms, and for a little upgrade fee, these are more often than not available for our guests.

Kind regards
Team Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews