We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel, near to city Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Bergen City
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Check-in was efficient and we meg a friendly receptionist. Short and relevant info was given, and we followed the suggestion to have dinner across the street. The restaurant with the same Anne AS the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel was good, and a wide selection. Good hotel for fastmoving people!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay. Thanks for all your nice comments, we really appreciate it!

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Bergen City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 776 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Norwegian hotels have to be rated against each other, as the efficiency of the rooms and eco-features are unmatched in other places. Yet it can also be a rare day that one gets conditioner for one's hair, tissues, and a bathmat as well. That said, this hotel in comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying if not fancy, and my stay so close to the sea and walking distance to everything was perfect.

Room Tip: I lucked out with room 551 which is wheelchair accessible. This is by far the largest hotel room I...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you liked it here. We are glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was about a 10-minute, easy walk to the Bergen fish market and wharf. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean. There was a plentiful breakfast buffet. Based on other hotels we researched, this was a good value for Bergen. Our bed was very comfortable, too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyd your stay at Scandic Bergen City. If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is excellent with a brilliant breakfast. One drawback might be that it is a bit far from the centre. Overall its a nice hotel with a great value for money. It is also near several eating places.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back one day!

Best regards
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Scandic Bergen is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. it is a quiet hotel with spacious rooms and helpful staff. it has three buildings and I think we were in the newest one. Breakfast was nice and plentiful and the room price was reasonable especially compared to other 4 star hotels in Norway.

Room Tip: if you want a nice room ask to be accommodated in the main building where breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRUNILDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel has 3 buildings, our room was in the oldest one (I guess you go there if you choose the "cheapest" room: 110 €), but I don't really know how they decide the building.
although the building, elevator, corridors looked very old, the room wasn't bad. It had good size, refrigerator, clean, the toilet size was also ok. It had also iron.
The breakfast was OK, normal.
The hotel has good location, 10 min to the bryggen

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amapola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and liked the breakfast buffet.

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is in a good location with nice rooms, tea and coffee making in the room, comfortable beds and the best buffet breakfast in Scandinavia. The staff were very helpful with maps, directions and luggage storage. Great location for joining the Hurtrigruten cruises. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztravellersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review!
It is so nice to read a review like this - thank you for taking your time to write it! "Best buffet breakfast in Scandinavia" is a very rewarding feedback to get. We work hard everyday to give our guests a good and warm service, so we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our helpful staff.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Neptun
#28 of 49 in Bergen
954 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#20 of 49 in Bergen
903 reviews
Scandic Strand
#35 of 49 in Bergen
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,316 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
664 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Address: Haakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $116 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing