We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Bergen City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Bergen City
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
TIRANA, ALBANIA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Scandic Bergen is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. it is a quiet hotel with spacious rooms and helpful staff. it has three buildings and I think we were in the newest one. Breakfast was nice and plentiful and the room price was reasonable especially compared to other 4 star hotels in Norway.

Room Tip: if you want a nice room ask to be accommodated in the main building where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUNILDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    196
    231
    113
    46
See reviews for
77
183
53
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel has 3 buildings, our room was in the oldest one (I guess you go there if you choose the "cheapest" room: 110 €), but I don't really know how they decide the building.
although the building, elevator, corridors looked very old, the room wasn't bad. It had good size, refrigerator, clean, the toilet size was also ok. It had also iron.
The breakfast was OK, normal.
The hotel has good location, 10 min to the bryggen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amapola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and liked the breakfast buffet.

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is in a good location with nice rooms, tea and coffee making in the room, comfortable beds and the best buffet breakfast in Scandinavia. The staff were very helpful with maps, directions and luggage storage. Great location for joining the Hurtrigruten cruises. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!
It is so nice to read a review like this - thank you for taking your time to write it! "Best buffet breakfast in Scandinavia" is a very rewarding feedback to get. We work hard everyday to give our guests a good and warm service, so we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our helpful staff.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was not our first choice of hotel but as our first three choices were fully booked, we stopped here. It is a functional hotel with pleasant staff and makes a good base from which to explore the city.

The hotel is split into two buildings either side of Hakonsgaten, with most of the facilities(Gym, bar, laundry) located in the newer building. Our room was located in the older building and whilst this building is noticeably older, the rooms have been renovated to give them a clean, light and spacious feel. The room comes with the standard amenities such as TV, mini fridge etc but did not have a safe. Both the new and old buildings have their own breakfast restaurants, serving a continental buffet which is both tasty and filling.

Hakonsgaten can be fairly loud in the evening (The hotel is next door to a cinema and has several cafes nearby) but we got a good night's sleep with the windows shut.

The hotel's main benefit is it's convenient location. The hotel is, at most, a five minute walk from the main town centre, the harbour, fish market, tourist info and Lille Lungegordsvann, also the airport shuttle bus stops outside the door.

All in all, a good base to explore Bergen.

Pro's - Reasonably priced by Bergen standards, good sized rooms, pleasant staff, convenient location, good breakfast.

Con's - Hakonsgaten can be loud in the evening, but this isn't an issue with the windows closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. Nice to hear that you found our hotel to be functional with pleasant staff, and that is makes a good base from which to explore the city.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel, and both times I was happy with it. Given the good location and Norwegian prices in general, it's very reasonably priced. Rooms can differ - the first time I had a very modern one in what appears to be the main building, now it was an older, but apparently freshly renovated room in the other building across the street. Both were clean and comfortable, though. I think the first one had a bathtub with shower, this one's shower was of the tiled-floor type, but a good one: the floor tiling was expertly done so the water really drained off well. I don't remember how it was in the first room, but this one didn't have a kettle, and neither a room safe, which are things you often get in similarly priced hotels elsewhere. But otherwise the room was good, clean and also quiet as it faced a courtyard. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful. There are breakfast areas in both buildings, though one morning (I stayed for several nights) breakfast was in the other building only and it got a bit crowded. WLAN was free and worked very well. Perfect hotel option if you travel with Hurtigruten as it's very close to the terminal, but the absolute city center is also reached by foot quickly. Best way to walk to the center is to turn right (from the new building) resp. left (other building) and walk along Håkonsgaten until you reach Vestre Torggaten, then just follow this street and straight ahead to Torggaten and Torgallmenningen square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntoTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review after having stayed at our hotel. In particular we are glad that you found our staff friendly and the room comfortable.

We hope to see you again at Scandic Bergen City in the near future!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande, MS
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is OK. Not a great location, but it is well located. Good rooms and breakfast.

You can walk to the city, and to the fishermen wharf, tourist info center, and to the boat fjords excursions, it is not a long walk.

It is clean, the rooms are regular size, you will have Internet and space for your luggage.

The breakfast is also ok, nothing special, cheese, ham, fish and great scandinavian bread. You can make pancakes and they offer different kinds of milk (I’m not into it, so I don’t care). But it is a good breakfast overall.

The hotel is located in two buildings, one in front of the other.

You will find a movie theater just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeroC00L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you liked it here - hope to see you back some day!

Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laihia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was in the old part of the hotel. Price was great compared to other hotels with similar location. Room was clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable and fridge (minibar with only a couple of bottles) was useful for me. My room was next to street crossing and very noisy. It was also too hot when it was +25 C outside. The hotel was under the level of Scandic hotels I have sleeped in Sweden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you experienced noise, in situations like this, we recommend letting a member of our staff know and they will help you find a solution to the problem on site.

We are very glad that you thought the room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable.

We hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Neptun
#23 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Scandic Strand
#25 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Property: Scandic Bergen City
Address: Haakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing