We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much agree with Jane M's review. Recommended, but do your research.”
Review of AnneHelene's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AnneHelene's B&B
Ranked #11 of 20 Bergen B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not much more to add than in Jane M's review except read the other reviews and details carefully. I loved the place but it may not suit everyone. If you are of the chain hotel persuasion then this will not work for you, however if you want to live like a local in a quirky little property with a great hostess then choose this. Great value for Norway especially if you have the superb breakfast spread also.
Recommended but please make sure this fits your needs.

Room Tip: There is only one!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for AnneHelene's B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Delighted to have stayed at Anne Helene's B&B rather than a typical hotel. Cozy, comfortable and very well located to all amenities in Bergen. Felt like I was living the experience of being in Bergen, as the accommodation is situated in a wonderful neighbourhood of cobbled streets and beautiful wooden homes. Anne Helene is a charming host and her attention to detail was much appreciated. Breakfast was 'fit for a King' and highly recommended. For those who wish to relax in house, Anne Helene provides Flat screen TV, Videos, a library of books and computer. Everything at your fingertips! Fantastic location to centre of Bergen - just 10mins walk at the most and very safe. Most definately recommend to those looking for a unique stay in this beautiful and breathtaking city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in Anne Helene's B&B for five nights while on a research trip in Bergen. There was no problems in booking the room or settling in, and Anne Helene is a wonderful host. The location was perfect for exploring the city, and the main, picturesque harbor is only a five to ten minute walk away. The house itself is situated in a residential neighborhood, so there was never any problems with noise or safety issues. The entire house feels cozy and welcoming, like you are staying with a friend or family member rather than in a hotel. Breakfast was perfect, with many different options of fruit, bread, cold cuts, yogurt, juices, cereal, and more. I would recommend this B&B to any solo traveler or couple, especially since you get an incredible value for your money. I know the next time I am in Bergen I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterlynx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the room downstairs at Anne Helene's B&B. She's a lovely lady who is very warm and welcoming. Booking a room, and then arriving and getting settled in was very easy. No hassle whatsoever.

Room itself is a bit small but very comfortable, with plenty of beautiful decorations. You can see that effort has been spent on all the various hangings on walls, lamps and carpets. Room is also segregated from the rest of the house so there's plenty of privacy.

It's about 10 min walk to the city centre. Streets are well lit and very safe. Just be wary of walking to Anne Helene's with heavy and large suitcases as there are plenty of cobble-stoned streets, and there are some up and downhills on the way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rendezvous_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Anne Helen's B&B was the perfect place for us to stay for our long weekend in Bergen. The whole house is decorated beautifully. You have the downstairs section all to yourself - a bedroom and bathrooom. The room is cosy and very comfortable with television and internet. There was jazz played during breakfasts and we thought the plates of different food supplied by Anne Helene would never stop arriving! The B&B is located in the best place in town - right by the sea. Anne Helene herself was a fantastic host. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived and were immediately made to feel welcome in this lovely house. There's lots of colour and objects and paintings all over the house, making it feel wonderfully cheerful and . The room is comfortable, and the bathroom is just next door. We had the most delicious breakfast in the morning, and would recommend this place to anyone else spending time in Bergen. It's the kind of interesting place we love to stay, and great value, to boot.

Room Tip: There's only one room - but it's lovely, so you can't go wrong!
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bergen is such a beautiful, friendly City. Norway is an expensive country to visit but what a bargain we found at Anne Helenes - The room was warm, tidy and comfy. The shower and bath area is huge and the B&B is located in a amazing area and within walking distance to everything. The breakfast was HUGE and the food was so fresh and tasty. Anne is such a colourful character and really made our time very enjoyable. I throughly loved my stay and will most definetely stay there again when I visit Bergen.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tashmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
675 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#3 of 49 in Bergen
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
924 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnneHelene's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnneHelene's B&B

Address: Nedre Strangehagen 8, Bergen 5011, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annehelene's B&B offers a small, but nice room adjoining private entrance and bathroom in a new part of an old wooden house at Nordnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your AnneHelene's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing