We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but cheap”
Review of Basic Hotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basic Hotel Bergen
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Room was clean, modern and good, we had upgraded so it was a good size. Shower room facilities very good, bed very comfortable. As we were on fitfth floor we could look over the roof tops and see the funicular railway and mountain side. Yes there was a tea and coffee machine on the second floor but no sign anywhere telling you how much the drinks were. There was a kettle in the room and fridge, but not being that seasoned a traveller yet I forgot to get milk and coffee ( mental cruelty, not having that first cup in the morning!). Ear plugs were provided to block out sound of nightclub and they did work. Good base with friends but definitely not for the romantic.

Room Tip: Try and order a room at the back of the hotel you might get less noise from nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 409 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lobby consists of a reception counter but the (double) room is good sized and has excellent bathroom. Even has tasteful silk flower decorations and TV. Hotel has no other amenities, but Bergen is small enough and you're within walking distance of everything from the hotel. Only problem is the thumping noise from the next door bar for several hours each night, but if you're tired from an all day sight-seeing you'd probably already asleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samargatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here either side of a Hurtigruten cruise and were really pleased with our choice. The room was really spacious and the bathroom great. We were on the 5th floor the first time which was a bit of a pain as the lift only goes to the 4th and because it was in the roof space the side of the room with a slanted ceiling was only an option for one of us... The second time we had a much larger room on the 3rd floor, with more than enough space for bed, desk, chair, armchair, footstool and all of our stuff.
There was noise from the clubs on the road below, but not anything that kept us awake (and I think we managed to stay during Fresher's Week as well!!)
Breakfast no-site would be nice, but nothing to put us off staying again. We didn't use the nearby places recommended and just opted for brunch options once out & about.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room - less noise from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The name of this hotel says basic, but the rooms are definitely up to date in terms of design, space and comfort. The reception is small and there is no breakfast available, but the city centre is really nearby.
The only downside is the noise from the street. We were there on a monday, so no party people on the streets, but we could hear the busses and trucks loud and clear, even on the fifth floor. Although earplugs are available, I can't understand why they didn't invest a little more in sound insulation.

If you are by car, try to park in Bygarasjen after you dropped your luggage in the hotel. The rates are lower there than in other parking places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benedictusXVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is located in a row of houses close to the center. The entrance is a small space, with a reception right after it,and an elevator and stairs.

Our room consisted of a double bed, kettle, small fridge without content, shower and toilet in bathroom with hair dryer as well. All functioned well and internet was very stable and reliable plus fast on our smartphones.

The hotel has a few little quirks:
5th floor is reachable only via stairs (elevator goes to 4th floor).
Elevator is only going up from ground floor, on other floors you can only select to go down, however on the 2nd floor is a coffee/tea machine located and if you use that you can only select to go down with the elevator on the buttons.
The doors have some kind of lock solution we could not understand and was Always a few minutes fight leaving the room before it would lock.
Close by there is some disco wich we could hear in our room on the 5th floor at the back side of the hotel (for light sleepers ear plugs are provided in the room).
Rooms are cleaned once a week or on request.
Parking needs to be done in any of the public Q-park facilities close by.
Our room on the fifth floor would get hot with the sun on it, however we could limit that damage by closing the blinds during the day. These blinds are quite good at keeping the light out. Also we found out keeping the door to the bathroom open got the temperature down a bit more.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor while boking the room if you have trouble walking stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhnld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice hotel. Good location, nice design, clean, great bed. I read before about the noise because of the night club with is very close to the hotel, but we had a room with the window facing not the street but the court, and it was ok, we didin't have any noise, thouth it was saturday night. I would recomend it, and I will surelly choose it if I come again to Bergen (I hope that it will be soon :) )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just left the hotel. We found it clean and everything we needed for the night, but there are two bars below the rooms. We were unable to open the windows, due to the noise which caused us to have a very hot night in a room which was advertised to have air conditioning. I got up several times in the night to the screaming and brawls going on below us and looked out the window. We were able to sleep until midnight, and that is when the party began. The drumming all through the night was painful at best. Complimentary ear-plugs on the desk, should have been our first warning that things were going to go awry.

The staff came and said that the vent in the ceiling was the air. He climbed up on a ladder and said that it was coming out, but not very much. You cannot adjust it, or feel the air flow.

At the airport, exhausted! The only reason I gave it TWO was because the room was nice, and the staff was very helpful!!!

Room Tip: NEVER STAY ON SATURDAY NIGHT, I understand that this is a party night in Norway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGAWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Citybox Bergen
#25 of 49 in Bergen
53 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
746 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Bergen City
#34 of 49 in Bergen
789 reviews
Sentrum
Magic Hotel Xhibition
Magic Hotel Xhibition
#41 of 49 in Bergen
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Hotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Address: Haakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $69 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basic Hotel Bergen is located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing