We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location is good but the breakfast is the standout!”
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at the Rica Hotel Bergen in March for only one night after completing doing the Hurtigurten Classi voyage. The hotel is reasonably central and in easy walking distance of the main attractions eg musuems/art galleries, the waterfront, funicular etc. It's also one block/corner from the flybus to the airport and its has free wifi!.
The room was spacious with lots of windows (that open to let in fresh air) and lots of light. For those that like a dark room, the curtains blocked out the light making it easy to sleep. I couldn't hear my neighbours so the rooms are very sound proof!. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom wonderful with great water pressure. There is a safe and minibar. The room also had a large flat screen tv and desk. The room was very clean.
The highlight was the breakfast! It is totally amazing. There is only one another hotel in Lugano that has a breakfast to match. It had everything you could imagine and more. Wonderful shot glasses of youghurt/berries etc, they also had shot glasses of smoothies of so many varieties. There were also a large selection of fruits/juices/pastries/breads. For those wanting a hot breakfast, you will be happy with eggs, bacon, has browns, sausage etc. Also there was a large selection of teas and coffee. You are spoilt for choice and there is no way you will walk away hungry or unsatisfied.
Overall, a great room in a good location with very helpful and attentive staff and the best breakfast offering!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesolotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 955 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here a few days for business. The room was really small, and felt cramped after two days. Also only one (very slow!) elevator up to the rooms is just not enough. Facilities in the rooms are OK, however. Attended a conference at the hotel, the lunch served was far from good. But the breakfast - great! Good selections, also quite a few healthy choices.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are typical European size, small but clean and just enough to use as a base. The highlight of this hotel is the superb breakfast!! There's a wide selection local foods such as bread, jams, and meats. There is a wide variety of deli meats, homemade roast beef and pickeled fish (salmon!) and local cheeses. There's also a delicious selection of fruit smoothies, fresh juices and fresh fruits. Other favorites include the baked beans and the live pate. Be subtle and pack a sandwich to go for picnicing later.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I enjoy my stay in Rica Hotel. The service is good with very helpful-friendly receptionist and assistants. Those who want to combine business and leisure Bergen in a walking distance, Rica Bergen will be a good option.The breakfast was amazing, very tasty with a lot of selections.The room was OK, but there was noisy outside the window that disturbed my sleep--I was not sure if it comes from all outdoor machines for circulating the air from heating systems, which was near to my window. Other than that, things are excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Before coming to Bergen and staying at the Rica I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and noted that many reviewers commented on the excellent breakfasts. Well, they are all spot on! The breakfasts at the Rica are worth getting up half hour earlier for as the choice is vast and the quality of the breakfasts is excellent. The hotel is modern, clean and not in need of refurbishment like many I have stayed at whilst on business. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is expensive by UK standards but it is in Norway where everything is more expensive. A definite recommendation.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank the4poles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our recent stay at the Rica totally exceeded our expectations. From the excellent assistance from the counter staff, the well appointed and comfortable rooms, coffee 24 hours a day, and the amazing breakfasts, there was absolutely nothing lacking at this wonderful hotel. If you can book the Rica, by all means do. You will not be disappointed in anything at this hotel.

Room Tip: lower floors are noisy on weekends if you like to sleep with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Rica Travel Hotel Bergen is a good mid-range priced hotel that has a fantastic breakfast. The room was a decent size and comfortable. The best part was the breakfast the next morning. So much variety! The little fruit juices were sensational.

If I was in Bergen again I would stay there just for the breakfast.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SlowdownLookup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,406 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#21 of 51 in Bergen
974 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 51 in Bergen
75 reviews
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#20 of 51 in Bergen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $115 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing