We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect way to start your vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Byparken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Byparken
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Split
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The perfect way to start your vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent one night at the Rica Hotel in Bergen before starting on the Hurtigruten. As all the restaurants in Bergen were collectively closed on the evening of December 25, we had no way of having a proper Xmas dinner. From a touristic and commercial point of view it makes absolutely no sense that the restaurants and hotels do not take turn in catering to the tourists and public in general. We were totally unprepared to this situation and thus spent Xmas in our hotel room, drinking tea and eating cookies from home. We therefore had a good chance to experience the room which was quiet, large in size, nicely furnished, creating an agreeable and friendly atmosphere. It would have been a nice gesture if at least the hotel had offered a small Xmas snack to its few tourists. As we arrived to the lavish breakfast buffet the next morning (December 26), we were more than compensated for the hungry previous night. The selection and variety of food, its freshness and creative presentation... any five star hotel cannot do a better job than that! The black cook is a magician! Plus were told that the buffet is normally even bigger, if there are more tourists around! So, my suggestion: stay at the Rica Hotel in Bergen, but be prepared to go to bed hungry on any Xmas night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabineBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    336
    192
    62
    24
See reviews for
126
255
73
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hastings uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on boxing day. Although Norway appears to close down for the whole holiday period, we received a genuine welcome at this hotel. The receptionist was waiting for us and patiently gave directions that we asked for and gave us a map. We asked which bars were opened and she directed us to the town centre with a warning that many bars may be closed. Although it was 4 below in Bergen, our room was lovely and warm. It had everything we could need (tea/coffee, TV, beautiful toiliteries) and plenty of room. When we arrived back downstairs, the receptionist was talking to the owner of a local bar who took us back to his and ensured that we were made to feel welcome.

The following morning, the breakfast was perfect! We have stayed in many hotels and had some fabulous breakfasts, but this one just couldn't be beaten. Whether you wanted hot or cold, everything was on offer and it was unlimited and unrushed.

The hotel happily stored our bags while we explored the city before embarking on a cruise.

Be aware though that compared to the UK, Norway is very expensive. A 20 minute taxi ride from the airport was 500 NOK (9 to the £). A beer is 75 NOK, a small, measured glass of wine 79 NOK and a meal in a local restaurant will cost you approximately 200-350 NOK just for a simple main dish - without drinks. Even a McDonalds meal will cost you 125 NOK. I haven't carried a hip flask in my handbag since I was 16, but for this I was prepared to make an exception!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagawong, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Bergen is a very compact city even with its large population so getting around is easy. Rica Hotel is right downtown. We stayed 2 nights and the room is smaller like most European hotels but the breakfast was amazing.
We have found Norway hotels a bit expensive but this hotel was just average in price in Norway.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmsund
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the Rica Travel Hotel Bergen in the first week of December 2012. This was a job related stay.

The location of this hotel is very good, just a couple of minutes’ walk away from “Lille Lungegårdsvannet” and” Torgalmenningen”. The airport bus also stops 100-150 meters away from the hotel entrance.

The room was very clean and had a decent TV as well as a nice bathroom. Wifi worked very good and I did not have any connection problems during my stay. The bed was also good.

Breakfast was very good indeed with a lot to choose from. Hot meals, fruit, vegetables, cereals, simply a lot of tempting food. The service offered by the waiters was also very good during breakfast. Here you don’t have to wait for a long time before they show up at your table and asks if you want some more coffee or tea.

I also used on the conference rooms during my stay, and alsso here everything worked fine. Fruits, cakes and soft drinks as well as water and coffee was always available for us during the whole day. And if we asked the person who was in charge of the conference rooms about something she simply fixed it right away.

We had lunch at the hotel everyday as well. Lunch is not a buffet as in many other hotels. But you get a plate with a dish on and that’s it. But the food was good and the portions were more than large enough for me. You also get a desert after lunch and this was good as well.

There were some minor hickups with the lift at the section of the hotel where my room was located. It somehow “lived its own life” due to a failure on a photo cell. But whatever it is only good for your health to walk the stairs to the 4th floor a couple of time each day.

Reception service was good. Check in took me about two minutes, and check out took maximum 3 minutes.

All in all a pleasant stay and I already miss the breakfast.

Will I stay there again; definitely!

Room Tip: The hotel itself does not have a fitness center, but they have an agreement with the iTrain Fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here on my own for work at the end of November (3 nights). The room was small but perfectly formed, lovely hot shower and very comfortable bed. TV in various languages, good quality Wi-Fi, Towels and they lent me an iron.. I found it to be a great location, very close to a series of interesting museums and near a range of restaurants. I found the staff incredibly helpful and friendly, which always helps. The breakfast really was outstanding, with fresh juices and smoothies, and all the other usuals you'd expect in a high quality hotel - perfect to set you up for the day. They facilitate guests to take a packed lunch (at a cost) from the breakfast buffet which was perfect for me travelling home on the last day and meant I avoided overpriced yuck in the airports. Also they have a deal with a restaurant around the corner that means that hotel guests get 15% off the price of their meal - which given Norweigan prices is totally relevant. All in all a very good choice..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My room was small, and it looked as if it could at times be set up as a double, and that would be a tight fit. But for one night for one person, the setup was OK: good reading lights, a work desk etc. My room had a view of a backyard and a window straight opposite - so close that I prefferred to close the curtains. The positive aspect was that there was not any street noise at night, but one might wish to ask for a room with a nicer view (my room was 201).
The breakfast as on the other hand excellent. Lots of choices of fish, meat, fruit, cereals, egg in various forms etc. There was good coffee served buit the choice of teas was not very great (English Breakfast + various perfumed teas or fruit teas).
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EspenSOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Been returning to this hotel several times for the past three years. Nice and tidy, with everything a frequent traveller needs. Good breakfast! Normally the restaurant doen't offer dinner, but since the hotel is located in the city center this is really no big deal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Ceke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Byparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Byparken

Property: Scandic Byparken
Address: Christiesgate 5-7, Bergen 5808, Norway (Formerly Rica Travel Hotel Bergen)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Byparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Byparken (formerly Rica Hotel Bergen) is centrally located in the heart of charming Bergen, near to the bus station, railway station and city sights. Our hotel restaurant serves a generous breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner on request. We also have a nice lobby bar which is a great place to relax and have a freshly brewed cup of coffee. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 80 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Byparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Bergen
Bergen Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing