We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, hideously overpriced, pretentious, unclean and out-dated”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a few days recently and were VERY disappointed. We had such wonderful experiences in Oslo and Balestrand, and were hoping at least for the hotel to be true to its website. Our room was unclean, with outdated decor and ragged, stained furniture, and crowded, unsafe electrics. There was a pube in the bath. Eeeek. The room was TINY. This must have been one of their older rooms, as I think there are better ones that have been rennovated. When we complained, we were moved to a much larger room that was quite well kitted out. The breakfast was pretty awful - the eggs were cold, the buffet looked more 'dumped' than 'arranged' and the staff made you feel like a nuisance just for wanting brown bread instead of white. The reception staff were cold. Yes, there were some facilities that were good eg wi-fi etc, but this is pretty standard these days and nothing to write home about. The 'art' experience was pretty dull and not really worth much. As you can see, we were actually pretty gutted as we had spent so much money. We would have turned right around and tried to find somewhere else had it not been for arriving late and then our agent being unavailable at the weekend. Definitely NOT recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hortence53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Neptun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 954 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an independent touring holiday. The mature woman who checked us in was without doubt the rudest receptionist we have ever come across. Thank goodness this was our last hotel and not the first - she gives quite the wrong impression of the people in Norway. However breakfast staff had difficulty smiling and were most unhelpful when the room was full, only just managing to remove dirty dishes, leaving customers to find and share tables and then brush away crumbs etc! In contrast Max was very helpful -unlike other hotels we have stayed in there was no printer available to print out boarding passes. Move with the times! The room was large with separate sitting area with 2 settees. The decor was dated and the bathroom worn and tired.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed there for one night during summertime. Checked in as walk-in and the receptionist was really helpful. She actually gave me a de-luxe room, a large room (for the same price as . When I came up to the room, the room wasn't cleaned. I just asked for clean towels and clean things for the bed and I could make the bed myself. The bathroom was okey, but awful color (some kind of orange/brown). The breakfast was terrible. I came to the breakfast half hour before they closed and they had taken almost all of the food away, and the breakfast staff was not very pleasant. The location was fantastic. The rooms was a bit "old", not very trendy. But the lobby was abviously newly renovated, looked nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariasw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Our stay was not one of our most pleasant. The receptionist was not exactly friendly when we checked in and we were given a room overlooking a busy, noisy street. So bad the next night we asked to be moved to the other side, which unfortunately overlooked a park and since it was a Friday, major party time down there.
To top it off, there was not water that morning because a water main broke near the wharf area.
Recommend staying elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We enjoyed our stayed in the family room. Adequate for 2 adults with 2 kids of 14 & 12 for a 2 or 3 night stay. Lovely art work all over the hotel.
Ask for rooms on the newly renovated floors (3rd and 4th)
Location is close to TI and town center. walking distance from Fiord ferry
The rooms are clean, adequate and hotel staff is quite accomodating.
Good breakfast. Free Wifi and coffee in lounge.
Would recommend the place for a comfortable and central stay in Bergen

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parag_parekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed here for one night due as a result of a technical problem with a flight and the airline sent me to this hotel. From the outside it looks great. Inside its tired, old, shabby and rundown. Food in restaurant was ok, but no better than that. Was extremely glad that it was the airline paying for this hotel and not me as I would have been extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

having been stranded in Bergen due to my wife's hospitalisation after breaking her ankle in a fall I could not have asked for better assistance from the hotel. In particular I would like to single out the reception staff and thank them for their help. We are now back home in UK but hope to make another visit to Bergen in the future. Thank you John Upton

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsCandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#34 of 49 in Bergen
721 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,318 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
First Hotel Marin
#17 of 49 in Bergen
1,298 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $127 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing