We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very strong 3 out of 5 score”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in what must have been a renovated room, as it was fresh and modern. I do not agree with those who argue that other hotels in Europe normally provide better breakfast, as this is top class considering that the hotel is mid-range priced. They have a variety of continential selections, such as ham, cheese and fresh vegetables. They offer 4-6 different types of jam. They have 3-4 types of juices, and two different types of milk. Much of what they offer is organic and this is clearly marked. In the hot breakfast selection they have bacon, potatos, beans, and so on. I would rate the breakfast at about top 20% of hotels that I have stayed at in Europe. However, the criticism is rather on actually offering all of their selection until the end of breakfast hours, as I expect everything to be available independently of whether I arrive as the first customer or 30min before they close. Two out of three days they did not have everything available, such as newly made pancakes (or not exactly pancakes, but dont know the english name for it). They also seem to differ in the service level that they provided, one morning they had staff cleaning our table by hand as soon as the plate was empty, the other day they cleaned "all" tables in once with a large trolley making lots of noise.

Location is perfect in Bergen. Staff are generally friendly, but they do not deliver the quality that I would expect. Wifi speed is great, but they should have it secured and not open to all (weak security). Rooms are small, but more than enough considering its downtown Bergen. They do offer good enough showergel/shampoo alternatives. All in all a mid-priced hotel in downtown Bergen that does well. I will return in October, hope to have a renovated room that time too.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgjedrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you think our breakfast is among top 20. The selection should always be on the same, high level so the F&B manager will look into this to make sure that the routines and standards are followed.

Look forward to welcoming you back in October!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were initially allocated to one of the "old" rooms on the 7th floor. To be fair, it is clean enough, and does provide a little view. But the smell is a bit off-putting, and the TV is facing 90 degree to the beds. We were lucky enough to be changed to a newly refurbished room on the same floor, and that is a game changer: everything is new and fresh; the deco is modern and pleasant; all the socket are built-in on the table and easy to access; bathroom is bright, clean and spacious. Sure there is no view at all, but that is hardly a problem for us when the dock is just 2 mins away. Location is fairly good, very close to Bryggen, probably 10 to 15 mins walk from train station, and there is an airport bus stops right in front. The variety of breakfast buffet isn't really out-standing comparing to other hotels we have stayed in Europe, but easily the best we have had in Norway, and the quality of the food is indeed very good. The wifi is incredibly fast, I was surprised they could manage that with an open network.
Overall very good value for Norwegian standard, but the possibility of getting an old room makes it a risky choice. I do hope they will complete the renovation project soon.

Room Tip: Do try to get a renovated room, it does make a world of difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nighthaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you were so pleased with your new room. With regards to the other room I can assure you that we are working on it ,and hopefully we will start refurbishing them as well pretty soon.

Glad to hear that you think our hotel is very good value for Norwegian standard!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards.

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was clean and tidy but a little tired. There was a 3cm long hole in the wall next to our bed which was odd. The furnishing could do with an upgrade.The location was excellent and so was the breakfast. The staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: check which rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are aware the some of our rooms are in need of redecoration. We hope to get things done within a few months, so if you ever choose to visit Bergen and Scandic Neptun again hopefully you can stay in a brand new room.

We are happy to hear that you liked our central location, the breakfast and not at least the service provided by the staff.

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Found this hotel near fish market and theatre. It has everything you would look for.
Excellent value for Bergen. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff . Comfortable clean beds, good sized rooms.
Excellent buffet breakfast. Airport shuttle stops at door every fifteen minutes.
Really bright and cheerful hotel..had art exhibition in lounge when we visited.
Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel so much! Thank you for taking time to write the review - we really appreciate it!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is obvious that the people managing this hotel read the reviews here. My room had lotion, shampoo, conditioner in various large containers. It also did have an ironing board and iron. So environmentally sound and convenient!

Free wireless is available and worked in my hotel room as well as the lobby fine.

I stayed in room 405. The room was beautifully decorated, large, had great water pressure and plenty of hot water! The bed was comfortable, windows opened out to the street so plenty of fresh air.

The breakfast buffet was the standard Scandinavian layout with a mix of hot and cold options (eggs, pancakes, variety of fish, deli slices, fresh baked bread). I watched some rolls come out toasty hot! It was amazing to watch the coordinated efforts of the staff to keep things clean, stocked, and fresh on the buffet bar. Kudos to the entire staff for keeping things so appetizing and management for ensuring that there were enough people to handle the influx of the breakfast crowd!

Having stayed in the Scandinavian countries for two weeks, this hotel was actually one of the cheapest I stayed at and competing at the top for value. Everything in this area is expensive if you try to compare it to say US hotel prices (it's a somewhat pointless comparison). For this area it's a great value.

Getting to the hotel is a breeze. You could potentially take the tram (didn't try that), and there are buses that take you out that way from the airport. We walked from the train station. It's a pleasant walk past a park, down the pedestrian area, and a couple more blocks. Approximately a 7 minute walk (if that).

It's smack dab close to the heart of the various places to visit so it would make a great place to explore Bergen. We walked along the harbor and saw many of the famous sites to see.

It has a great little area to take a break in when waiting for your bus back to the airport with plenty of power outlets and free wireless.

Thanks for a beautiful experience and one day I will definitely be back. Please do keep up the great service of keeping the services/amenities updated!

Also thanks to the receptionist who let us know that the airport bus outside the hotel was having an issue. We caught the SAS bus instead at the bus station and didn't miss our flight due to her help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review!
So nice to read your review - thanks for your kind words! I´ll pass the review on to all my colleagues to make sure they get a good start of the week.

Hope to see you back one day!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The reception staff was not very friendly, I didn't feel myself very welcome. The room is outdated. Thick dusty carpet. Old smell in the room, the cleaning staff left even the windows open to let in some fresh air. In some corners the carpet was felling off. Dusty dull sofa. Dusty brown decoration pillows on the bed. Humidity problems in the bathroom. Really old design in the bathroom, tiles with some brown roses. A huge flat screen tv on a huge black table behind (!)the sofa and too far away from the bed. Dirty windows. The room was not super clean, or maybe it was, but it felt like it was old and smelly. The location is perfect though. The breakfast was ok, I liked the fresh bread. The conference section was ok. Though the fruits were old. Free access to a fitness center in the neighbour. 20% discount in the parking hall owned by Europark, I guess still too expensive. The room was expensive, not a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the standard of your hotel room. We are aware of the fact that some of our hotel rooms are in need of renovation. Luckily this is scheduled, and will start in 2014.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location and that you thought our breakfast was good.

We hope to see you again at Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really loved this hotel , I just stayed there for 2 days , I highly recommend it , the location is perfect , the bedroom is spacious , the bathroom is big with a nice bathtub , huge tv screen even not so many channels on it or missing ... , when you need to go back to the airport there is a shuttle bus that stops in front of the hotel , the restaurant of the hotel is amazing ! the room is clean , I would definitely go back, the price for Norway with this location is great !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review!
This makes us really happy to hear! I´ll forward this to the staff - I know they will be happy to read your review:)

Hope to see you again some time!

Best regards,
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,406 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 51 in Bergen
955 reviews
Scandic Strand
#37 of 51 in Bergen
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Bergen City
#34 of 51 in Bergen
822 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#25 of 51 in Bergen
82 reviews
Sentrum
Magic Hotel Kloverhuset
Magic Hotel Kloverhuset
#31 of 51 in Bergen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $117 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing