We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scandic neptun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Bucks
Level Contributor
162 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Scandic neptun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

-ve. fairly small room, strange barthrom door, did not close, designed this way. Hot room, no AC, difficult to get cool. Building work outside, disturbed early in morning and noisyn throughout the day.

+ve - wifi good, breakfast good, lcation good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are aware of the problem with the new bathroom doors and our supplier is working on it. Usually we dont need aircondition in Bergen as the temerature very seldom is more than 25 degrees and that is why so few hotels have aircondition in rooms.

The hotel is currenly renovating several floors and unfortunately this will cause some noise in periods, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are happy that you liked our breakfast and our good location!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    281
    242
    115
    58
See reviews for
162
281
55
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel was part of a prebooked Fjord tour and the first two hotels were fantastic but even without this comparison we were horrified by our treatment. We were told we could expect to get our room between 2 and 3pm but if we arrived earlier we could ask if the room was ready. Our boat arrived at 12 so we asked to be told we could have a room on the 3rd floor but the implication was that if we waited we could have a newer, quieter room - probably further from the street so we went away leaving our bags in the luggage room. On our return at 2.45 we were given a room which overlooked the courtyard where the noise from builders was way beyond a joke, one of the windows was boarded up so the room was dark and the decor was really depressing. I never complain about hotel rooms but this was to be an exception so back we went to be told that 'our room' was still not ready (there was no suggestion of this at 2,45!) but we could use the room until then so we said we would be back at 5 after we had had a look around the area. At 5 the receptionist had left and the one we spoke t was new and had no record of another room. She offered us one on the top floor facing out so no builders, brighter and quieter so we took it but to reach it we had to pass along dirty corridors and the room was cramped and very tired. We had no minibar or tea facilities - there would not have been room. The only good part was the view. Breakfast was overcrowded, poorly organised and far inferior to other Norwegian hotels that we have stayed in. On checking the price, poor value too!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were not quieter and the one we were shown (and did not take) had one window boarded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are sad to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your stay. The staff try their best to allocate rooms early, but sometimes we get many late check -uts and it is impossible to get the rooms ready for early check-in. Standard check-in time is 15 p.m. We are also sorry that you did get the room you were first promised, and we will aske the staff in the reception to look into their routines.

We are aware that the standard is not good enough in som part of the hotel, but when we are done with the renovation project later this fall we will be happy to welcome you all back to Scandic Neptun.

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night at Scandic Neptun Hotel in Bergen in August 2012.
The location of the hotel is convenient and very close to the port and was easily to find by car-you can park in front of the hotel for a while.
At the reception we had a small problem because despite we booked the room for a special price in advance (it was payable at the moment of booking), they wanted the credit card at the time of arrival and the money were deducted at the time of arrival (this may cause troubles when you have got limited payments by credit card per week and you plan to spend the money on something else).
The room itself was clean but dark, decorated with dark velvet in a masculine style. The bathroom was quite big, with a bath and a hair dryer. No coffe/tea making facilities as in Scandic Hotel in Oslo. There were 2 elevators but only one took the guests to the breakfast room which made some of them a little bit confused and they used the stairs instead.
The breakfast itself was great - english/ continental food, local food, fruit, cereals, pancakes, even the fish oil! The staff quickly refilled the missing food despite there were fully occupied breakfast room.

The only negative thing about Bergen is that you have to pay an extra money for parking, because it is not possible at the hotel garage. Here in Scandic, you will get an 20% off the cost when you show your parking ticket at the reception desk (at least a small compensation).

Room Tip: Windows overlooking the main street are more noisy because of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klimeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location and the selcetion on the breakfast buffet.

Hotels all over Norway have the same practice when it comes to creditcard payment, and there is nothing the hotel can do to change that, I´m afraid.

When it comes to parking in Bergen it is expencive, so we are very happy that we are able to offer our guests 20% discount.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location of the hotel is great and the rooms are spacious but these are the only decent things about this hotel. The condition of the room was awful. Ugly carpeting, poorly maintained barhroom, not very clean room overall. The common areas are very miserable and the worst of all is the breakfast area. Looked like a poor school's cafeteria. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZafirisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and to hear that you were not satisfied with your hotel room. We are currently undergoing a major expansion and refurbishment process which is scheduled to finish by autumn 2012. With this expansion we will be able to offer 70 completely new rooms. During the fall we will also refurbish some of our existing rooms, including the one you stayed in.

The breakfast is currently moved to areas that are temporary for breakfast-serving, due to renovation of the entire hotel. When the renovation is done we will be happy to serve our guest breakfast in a brand new restaurant placed on the ground floor, next to the reception.


Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Scandic Neptun for attending a conference in the Grieghallen. The hotel is nicely located in the center of Bergen, convenient to get anywhere in the city.
I was lucky, since I got one of the remodelled rooms, which where not very large, but comfortable (you shouldn't take american hotel rooms as standard for anything ;)
Nice, big TV, fridge for your own use, VERY good wireless internet connection (another plus, you can pretty much find wifi all over the city) and a scandic-style breakfast!

Minor disadvantages: strange shower...maybe I am too stupid, but I flooded the whole bathroom every time...no swimming pool...and no leverpostej for breakfast ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxfulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have forwarded your comments on the flooded bathroom floor to our maintenance department so the can look into it.

We are also happy that you liked our new rooms with all new facilities as flat screen tv and fridge. There should always be "leverpostei" on the breakfastbuffet so hopefully you will find it the next time you stay with us:)

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Really disapointing stay here. Didn't read Trip Advisor first before booking so lesson learned. As others report this hotel is undergoing a refurb. We booked a non smoking twin. We got a very smelly old room on arrival smokers heaven, not ours room 713 and 714, broken furniture, burns on the sink, stench was awful, hotel fully booked so couldn't get shifted til next day. Used a can of deaoderant to try and control it to no avail. We were told to return at 3pm next day so interupted our sight seeing to come back for 3pm. Firstly sent to a queen room small but freshly refurbed but not a twin this was rm 313. Then sent to 451 I think, in the new wing, a twin but with a cracked and see thru bathroom door. Not safe and too up close and personal for us. Staff have no idea what the rooms are like. However they did offer 651 also in the new wing small but modern. Bathroom door didn't close left a small gap but at least the glass is sort of frosted still a bit public for our comfort but we accepted out of exhaustion! Discovered at night the wetroom floods when you shower thru poor drainage and finishing, soaks into the carpet in main part of room and leaves puddles everywhere. There is no plug near the kettle so you need to move that for a cuppa. All in all, even when the refurb is finished this hotel is going to be bother. We had the noise problem others mention on the Monday drilling starts very early. Price wise there are other options I think for hotels rather than this. There is no management around knowing what's happening. No apology or compensation is offered although I did ask for a glass of wine I'd had to be complimentary and they agreed to this. The staff are nice and clearly used to complaints and take it cheerfully.
Plus points it's well located near the Fish Market breakfast is basic but plentiful. Bergen itself is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The new room you were assigned to was opened earlier this summer and we are thankful for feedback. I will forward you comment to our technical department so that they can check the things in need of repair. We have chosen to have the plug for the kettle next to the tray where the kettle is stored, in the closet. As you mentioned we are still renovating the hotel and that may cause some noise, but we are trying to do most of the drilling after breakfast and at daytime when most of our guest are out exploring Bergen. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyd our good location.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We didn't have a bad experience, but it was mediocre. As noted by another reviewer, we were booked into this hotel as part of an independent tour arranged by Fjord Travel Norway. All of our other hotels were very good, even memorable, so this was the exception. Our room at Scandic Neptun had a mediocre 1960's-70's decor and the breakfast had a similar feel. I assume things will be better after the renovation is completed, but I can't say that I saw an effort to compensate for this in the interim (I can't refer to price, because the cost was included within a tour package).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pug-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Sorry for our late respond, due to the summerholiday it has taken a little bit longer than it should. We are glad to hear that you had good stay, but as you refer to we are currently renovating the hotel and unfortunately you were placed in one of our old rooms that is currently not up to the standard of the newer rooms. The breakfast is currently moved to areas that are temporary for breakfast-serving, due to renovation of the entire hotel.
When we are done with the renovating we will have a brand new breakfastrestaurant next to the new reception and lobbyarea that will meet the expectations and standards that our guest deserve.

Best regards
Birte Iversen

Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#25 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Property: Scandic Neptun
Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing