We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, average hotel”
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We made a last minute booking so were pleased to find accommodation close to the fish market, Bryggen and town centre. It was central and an easy walk to musuems and the train station (10 - 15 mins). Our room was clean and adequate with a bath. It was a little noisy at times with trafic noise but this didnt impact our stay or sleep.

There was variability in staff, some very friendly, others okay. The hotel was busy with large tourist groups both nights and the wi fi was patchy.

A good breakfast buffet though again busy in the restaurant and basic facilities, little atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the side of the building without traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmela_Vincente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your review!
Sorry for our late respond, due to the summerholiday it has taken a little bit longer than it should. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Bergen and in our hotel. July is a very busy month with a lot of people visiting Bergen so it always tends to be a little bit noisy I´m afraid, but hopefully in a good way.
We are also happy to hear that our staff took good care of you and we hope to see you back next summer in our newly renovated hotel!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager

Scandic Neptun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 982 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were booked into this hotel as part of an independent tour arranged by Fjord Travel Norway. Our hotels in Oslo, Tromso and Balestrand were very good - even magnificent in some cases. However, the Scandic Neptune really was the 'bad apple' in an otherwise lovely barrel! The hotel is being renovated, as everyone else has commented, but at least we had no problem with noise (except for party-noise from the street) since we stayed on a weekend. Our room was shabby and old, with a bathroom that had a distinctly 'off' smell, old fittings (including a scoured bathroom seat that seemed very unhealthy), mirror that had lost some of its 'gloss', and half a hairdryer hanging on the wall. Our room key ceased to work on the second day, because staff thought we were checking out. We were then told that the room would only be serviced when we checked out, only to find a housemaid knocking on the door five minutes later to service the room! Breakfast was not up the standard of the other hotels, in an uninviting room with cheap plastic tablecloths. Most importantly though, we found the emergency evacuation map impossible to understand since it was in Norwegian. Of course, we do not expect to find English everywhere, but the lack of an obvious 'you are here' notation left us puzzled as to our escape route. Even a walk around did not clarify the situation for us (a problem we had in no other hotel). Overall, we have very bad memories of this hotel since it was not of the same standard as the others on our trip. Surely there is somewhere better to stay in Bergen - a lovely town spoiled by our accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for your review!
I am very sorry to hear about your experience. Your complaints about standard is something we are aware of during this period of renovation, you were placed in one of our old rooms that is currently not up to the standard of the newer rooms. The breakfast is currently moved to areas that are temporary for breakfast-serving, due to renovation of the entire hotel. Your comments about the lack of English on emergency evacuation cap will be followed up today! Thank you very much for your valuable input!
Welcome back to Scandic Neptun.
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Bergen Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

In arrival we found the taps produced a dribble of water, none of which was hot.
The fridge was a hole in the cupboard, the kettle was non existent, and the bed linen tired Certainly not the four star standard we were led to believe.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your review!
We are sorry that you are not happy with the standard. We are currently undergoing renovation at Neptun, so during a period until September there might be variable standard throughout the hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the location.
Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Hotels Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Put us in there "new rooms" which are hard to find and get to in the hotel. No door on the bathroom and a telephone that did not work. The "view" was into a parking area. Told us it would be fixed when we came back from dinner, nothing was done, then moved us to another room. Location is fine, rooms are not nice for the inflated price !
Lots of happy talk from the staff with not a lot of action to resolve issues. Looks at other options first.

Room Tip: Higher floors on harbor side might give you a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOURteener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your review!
I am sorry to hear that the phone did not work. We are undergoing renovation and there have been some damages on several doors that must be changed. The view will vary, and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yours. Prices will vary based on season, June is our highest season. Welcome back to Scandic Neptun.
Best regards,
Terje Thorstensen
Scandic Hotels Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip and was put in one of the newly refurbished rooms on the fifth floor (557). My room was well refurbished but small and there seemed to be an issue with the bathroom door as there was sellotape on it? The room and bathroom were spotless and very modern looking, which is in contrast to the rest of the hotel which looks very tired and dated. My colleague was on the 7th floor and was far from complimentary about his room, quoting that it would struggle to receive a 2 star rating.
The reception staff were friendly and nice and in the morning I saw one of them help a french woman with a problem and the woman was very surprised and delighted to hear the girl speak perfect French and this was on top of the English she had already been speaking.
The breakfast was plentiful and well presented in the large Lucullus reataurant and I have no complaints about it at all.
I would think that if after all the new refurb has finished, the same standard was then used on the existing rooms then this could be a very decent hotel but as it is, it is just adequate and far from the 4 star rating it has.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated. It will be small but to a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnmReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review!
We will fix the bathroom door, and apologize for the inconvenience. During our refurbishment there will be some difference in quality throughout the hotel. I am glad that you experienced helpful and friendly staff, and that the restaurant and food was up to standard.
Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Terje Thorstensen
Revenue Manager, Scandic Hotels Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room with breakfast for two, cost only 132 Euro for one night, so the price in summer in the center of Bergen was OK. But the room was very dark, facing the back yard where re-construction was going on. Therefore also one og the two windows in the room was covered.

So don't chosse one of the cheapest rooms in this hotel. They have fine rooms, too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jonas Helge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food. We actually have two restaurants: Pascal and Lucullus, and during autumn 2012 we will open our 3rd restaurant, Entrè.

We apologize that you were affected by the construction, we do understand that it is inconvenient for our guests. We believe it all will be worthwhile when it’s finished, and we will be able to welcome our guests to a new and revamped reception area covered by a glass roof.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The night before we left for our trip north was +- ok. Even though the interieur was outdatet, that was ok, because it was clean and spacious. The two problems were that the curtains did not suffice to make the room anything close to dark. The second bigger problem was the soundproofing, as there was a party going on not far from the hotel. The result of these two factors had the result that we did not sleep very well.
The second stay was even worse. This time they gave us a room in the very recently renovated part of the hotel. The result was.
1) very very new room that still smelled like paint.
2) very modern, but smaller
3) the bathroom door couldn't close completaly, result being that you had no privacy at all when using the toilet as it was placed just next to that door
4) one of the reading lights didn't work (was it already broken or did it never work?)
5) There were way to many small light that disturbed, 1th the tv (could be turned of), 2nd the smoke detector flashing at the ceiling, 3th the dimmer of the bathroom light (feels really unneccesary), 4th even the airco has a light and this one changes colour, so was very very annoying
6) the curtains were better, but couldn't close completaly and the result was that it reflected in the big mirror
As a surplus in the morning at 7h15 they started to drill and hammer. ... as they were still renovating the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kapatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is still undergoing building works which may, unfortunately, cause some noise. The new room you were assigned to the second time, was opened just a few weeks ago. I will forward you comment to our technical department so that they can check if there is anything in need of repair and if there is something to be done with regards to the lighting.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Gitte M. Aasheim
Scandic Neptun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,368 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
935 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 49 in Bergen
68 reviews
Scandic Strand
#37 of 49 in Bergen
741 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgaten 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $107 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing