We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right where the bus stops!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The location is very good! The bus from the airport arrives at the door. The train station is 10 mins away ( walking distance).
Very close to the fish market.
Clean, nice breakfast. We stayed for a night, went to Flåm and came back. There was an overbooking (awesome when you are tired!) but Anette, the reception trainee, was very nice in telling us that we had to go to another hotel ( fortunatelly a fancier one). She had helped us the day before, really nice girl.
The bathroom was great, finally no water mess, there was a tub.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericapm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

There are many more good things about this hotel than not. The airport bus stops at the door. The lobby is spacious and group friendly. Although most rooms do not have views, the location is excellent for enjoying the waterfront and downtown. The windows open so that the air is fresh in the room. The beds are comfortable and the room compact but well organized. Our room had a high ceiling(566) and a shutter to keep out all that light Bergen gets in June. Staff is efficient and polite. Our room was kept clean and done everyday. Breakfast was adequate although I would recommend that the hotel add a few more traditional Norweigen foods such as the waffles. All in all an pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location but essentially no view. We had 2 rooms. One looked at interior wall of building so was like looking at a brick wall and was like having no window in the room at all. The other looked at the hotel driveway. Located on the wharf near restaurants. But also right near where all the cruise ships let the passengers off. Breakfast in the restaurant was average but not excellent. It was the worst breakfast of our trip (compared to small hotels, a Sheraton and a Marriott). Housekeeping did not make up the room one day. We had to call 3 times at 5 pm when we got back after a long day and wanted a shower. Also, in the 3 night stay they never left new shampoo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 76,543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. Your feedback is important to us and we are very sorry to hear the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Remember that all the Radisson BLU hotels offer 100% Satisfaction guarantee – we just need to know about your issues when you stay here in order to solve them. Your feedback has already been passed on to the rest of our management team and will be reviewed together with both the housekeeping department and the breakfast chefs.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My comments are similar to what others have reported. This is a very clean and functional hotel located in a very good location. The room was adequate, but there were limited amenities. The breakfast was also adequate. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Take advantage of the airport bus as it stops in front of the hotel. I would suggest a floor on an upper level and away from the noisy elevator.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, mr_los_angeles.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed our Super Breakfast buffet and that you found the airport shuttle convenient (as it leaves every 15 minutes right outside the hotel).

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Location, Location but don't expect any views!
The situation of the hotel is excellent to venture out from and enjoy Bergen town but they do charge you for this facility!
This was the most expensive hotel during our ten nights in Norway and poorest review.
Our booking had obviously been lost, so we were given the usual end of the corridor room that looked onto not the sold views of Bergen but a brick wall, I've posted the photo, so do enjoy it.
The room facilities were great and nothing to complain about. A good nights sleep but don't be sold by the coffee making machine as it takes as long to heat as the standard kettle.
If parking under the hotel make sure you check in and drop off your luggage first as the parking (not belonging to the hotel) is underground, dark and has very narrow and limited parking spaces. The route up to the reception is past the loading bay and up a set of stairs which would not be the easiest with luggage. If travelling in by car, we found the postcode takes you to the main road side of the hotel and not into the courtyard in order to park and offload.
Plenty of bar space and seating around the hotel to relax with friends in and as mentioned the location is perfect to just step out into the heart of Bergen.

Room Tip: Not 533 for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwp12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, gwp12c.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to read you enjoyed the great facilities and that you got a good night sleep. I am sure other guests who read your review also appreciate your tips in terms of parking in the underground garage, which is run by Europark.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Really nice hotel with friendly staff on hand.
Décor is "OK" but the rooms are ok and very clean.
The rooms can be a little pricey depending on time of year but the hotel is placed in a great spot ideal for everything you need.
Not the Best Radisson but it does the job.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pspeed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your last stay, pspeed19.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful part of Bergen and it was so nice to be able to walk everywhere you wanted to go. The room was small but clean. The problem is in the design of the bathroom where taking a shower floods the bathroom floor and there is no way to prevent it. The breakfast was adequate with excellent fresh fruit. The front desk employees were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabgkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay, backmg.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to everything Bergen has to offer. It is also a great pleasure to hear our service-minded Yes I Can front desk employees took good care of you. Your feedback is important to us and we will discuss the issues you mention when taking a shower.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here at Bryggen again.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 50 in Bergen
754 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 50 in Bergen
626 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 50 in Bergen
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5 | Bryggen, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $117 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing