We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's worth bearing in mind that staying anywhere in Norway is expensive, so the price you pay for a room in this hotel may feel like you aren't getting your money's worth when comparing similar standard hotels across Europe. Having said that, despite small rooms and rubbish A/C, we really enjoyed our stay. The amenities provided (tea/coffee, shampoo etc) weren't great and staff were perhaps a little stingy with them but were happy to provide more when asked. I'm also doubtful that our room was cleaned properly whilst we were there - I'm pretty sure it wasn't hoovered. Beds are comfy, but made up with a memory foam topper on top of the mattress which slips around all over the place. Breakfast was included in the room rate and pretty good - an excellent and entirely over-the-top selection of bread was the most pleasing part! Given eating out in Bergen is particularly expensive, we took the opportunity to fill up before heading out for the day. Airport bus pick-up right outside the hotel is brilliant if you are only in town for a short time.

I'm probably being a bit stingy rating this as Average. It's actually a very nice hotel, but it doesn't quite warrant Very Good purely for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b3ttyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    839
    315
    92
    38
See reviews for
350
717
109
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for New Year last year. It's an interesting building with well-appointed rooms. The best aspect of this hotel is the breakfast - one of the best I've ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world. Location is pretty good and the airport bus drops and collects you right outside. Biggest issue we had was when we arrived. We'd booked a double room and were given a twin. We asked to be moved and they moved us up a floor to a tiny (and I mean properly tiny) room in the eves, which they claimed was the only other "standard" double available. We realised after no time at all that the door lock didn't work, so we complained and were moved again - to another twin room! On the fourth time of asking we were upgraded to a business double room, which was very comfortable. The staff were generally very helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a double - make sure you check you're not getting a twin. Changing rooms is a real p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for exploring Bergen. The rooms were too warm and seemed the air-conditioning did not work in most rooms,including ours. . The check-in for our group was slow. The fish market was very close with lots of great options for good fresh sea food. Thanks for a good breakfast buffet ,although not as good as other hotels visited in Norway. The food and drink in Bergen otherwise is VERY expensive. We enjoyed this compact city and found the hotel to be just ok other than being close to everything.

Room Tip: Did not visit the pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in the Radisson Blu Bergen for 2 nights. The lobby and restaurant area are very nice and new, the breakfast buffet is also quite good. Great location in the center of Bergen right next to the port and the fish market. The rooms on the other hand seemed to be slightly old and the color combination/style made it look like they had not put much thought into it. The hotel is obviously ok if you are planning on taking trips around Bergen and only return to the Hotel to sleep, but if you are looking for that extra little bit of comfort I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is definitely not a 4 stars hotel. Apart of a great location we could not find any other good points to add. We stayed there for 4 nights and did not have a good sleep at all. Our room was hot, an air conditioner did not work properly because they set a maximum temperature centrally from a main control for the whole hotel and you cannot adjust it in you room. A bed was very uncomfortable, a thin mattress was slipping off the bed all the time. A carpet floor was stained all over. We asked to change a room after a first night and were offered few other rooms we had a look at, but at the end we decided to stay in our room, because they were all the same and some of them even did not have a wardrobe! Breakfast was OK. A room cleaning service was very poor, they did not even do a vacuum cleaning or change a bed linen for 4 nights. Very disappointing place, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_A_M_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbergen, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. All of our 342 hotel rooms have been totally renovated with new high quality Jensen beds, among other things. However, we are very sorry to hear you did not get a good night’s sleep here. In terms of the issues you had with the cleaning of the room we are always working on improving our routines in order for all of our guests to enjoy our new product. Regarding the room temperature there are an adjustment panel in every room, but sometimes during the summer when it is very warm outside it happens that the room becomes a bit warm. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the great location of our hotel. Hopefully you will give us another chance to welcome you here at Bryggen. Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. You can of course also contact me directly if there is anything I can assist you with!

Best Regards


Kjartan Vestbø
-Sales Manager-
kjartan.vestbo@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fantastic level of design, spotless and well maintained rooms.

But pricy and the rooms are very small. No smaller than the Rica or the Park.

This is the only hotel in Bergen not offering free coffee from a posh push-button machine to the guests.

Restaurant poor. It's a pizza & pasta joint at cordon bleu prices. Service excrable.

Room Tip: All about the same. Ask for a bath, the better rooms have bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbergen, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our brand new hotel. All of our Business Class rooms and suites have Nespresso Machines, while our Standard rooms all have a kettle and instant coffee. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our Food & Beverage department so they may address this situation with the team. Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. You can of course also contact me directly if there is anything I can assist you with!

Best Regards


Kjartan Vestbø
-Sales Manager-
kjartan.vestbo@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

As mentioned previously, the hotel is located in an ideal location to explore Bergen. The bus from/to the airport stops right outside the hotel which is extremely convenient. In addition, the hotel is located right next to Bryggen with lots of options for wining and dininy close by. With Bergen being such a compact city, you can pretty much get to anywhere in Bergen on foot from the hotel. I would reckon that the Fish Market is a 10 min walk, Floibanen (funicular) about 15 min walk, Kode Museum about 15 min walk and the train station around 20 min walk. With food and drink in Norway being so expensive, the breakfast at the hotel is quite great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbb1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#6 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing