We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, OK Breakfast, Poor Views, Poor Service - Hotel vs. Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed a long weekend (4 nights) and I took home a bit of a mixed impression from this Radisson Blu hotel.

The location is great and the first impression when you arrive is really nice.

When we checked in, I got the first surprise, I have never expereinced a checkin with so little communication, and only starring of the 'slow computer' byt the clerk. Even when she gave us our keys, she didn't say nothing, just lookat at us. I think this is at least normally the point in time where she coudl have told us where the elevators are and what floor we are on - but nothing. So I asked, and I also asked what the breakfast times are and she told us 7:30 to 10:00, and I asked everyday, even on Sunday, and she replied yes - which is actually wrong (???).

We had a friend staying for one night on our second night and the rolled in an extra bed (into this tiny room) for a really good rate. However, they forgot to take the bed out again and also to clean our room on the 3rd day So When we came back from Breakfast the following day we asked the cleaning lady on the floor for some toilet paper, and she told us that she would have non, but could give us some paper tissues instead. :-) I was a bit 'surprised' and just thought if we booked a Hotel or a Hostel here...

In regards to the views, all room look at each other with a narrow path in-between, so not much of privacy or any kind of views at all because the hotel is directly BEHIND Bryggen - the World Heritage Site.

The Breakfast (with an average 'Hotel coffee' that is made probably just once in the morning in a huge pot) was really nice at first, but they didn't seem to fill up the bread and also started to put everything back together again pretty early...

Overall, the rooms are tiny and I think the other Radisson Blu (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g190502-d206867-Reviews-Radisson_Blu_Hotel_Norge-Bergen_Hordaland_Western_Norway.html) is much cheaper and also pretty central with nice big windows facing away from the hotel and not into other rooms might have been the better option - maybe next time, because Bergen and surrounding areas are just breathtaking!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcAroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fantastic location, in the UNESCO Old Town. A short stroll to the Fish Market and Bergen town centre. Across the hotel is a supermarket. Adjacent to the hotel is the UNESCO designated shops with open air tables for a snack and drink and to watch life in this beautiful town.
The hotel has a good Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poh Chu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the only hotel during my week in Norway that I didnt completely love. Its a great business class hotel, if I was on business it would be an easy choice. It lacks the charm of a tourist destination. The location is definately fun, just at the end of the Hanseatic quarter. Breakfast options were good, the quality was not what I experienced elsewhere. The room size was good (I was suprised by other reviews), and the bathrooms were fine in terms of size, I didnt see a single bathtub at any property I stayed at in Norway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for the first time. Had a business class room which was small but OK. You get a coffee machine but they don't refresh the coffee pods. TV selection is poor - a ploy to buy the movies I suspect. The free internet was poor with the connection intermittent. Something business people really want. Breakfast was good.
All in all I would stay again with hope some of these things improve.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank derekm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I commented on this hotel in 2011 when improvements were being carried out and was disappointed. I stayed here again in May 2013 and the improvements are a definite improvement. Lobby area is comfortable, restaurant and bar areas have been smartened up considerably and the service is quietly efficient. The room i stayed in was overlooking the harbour and couldn't be faulted but colleagues commented that their rooms were rather small.

All in all i had a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ovceanwaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is located at Bryggen. Good location. The airport bus (Flybussen) stops here too.
However we were left disappointed on our second stay here (first stay was in Aug 2012). We checked in to a 'half cleaned' room. We found used towel at the shelf and water left over in the kettle. Called the lobby. They apologized and told us they have another room for us, and would be able to give us a double bed room of the same standard instead of twin beds. We were very surprised when we got into the new room. The room is meant for handicapped guests. The room is very spacious for easy accessible using wheel chairs. The toilet is spacious and handicap friendly. However the room does not have 'normal' cupboards. We think it is good for the hotel to have a room specially catered for handicapped guests and we totally respect that. However, the staff should have informed us in advance that the room is for handicapped before giving it to us. We were so tired and exhausted after a long trip and changing rooms, so we did not ask for a 3rd room and settled with the handicapped room. Soon we realized that things in the room are broken and we find it dangerous for handicapped people. The screws, and almost the whole foldable/retractable 'luggage shelf' fell off when we tried to use it.
Overall it was a weird experience staying at a handicapped room while we were on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsonistfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to our Hurtigruten cruise and one night after the cruise ended. It is in a great location for seeing the best parts of Bergen. The room was very clean and Scandinavian. The shower had a small glass partition which is customary for European bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was also typical for Northern European countries but the offerings more than adequate. They even have a small ice dispenser near the elevators on each floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 50 in Bergen
754 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 50 in Bergen
626 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#21 of 50 in Bergen
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5 | Bryggen, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#7 Business Hotel in Bergen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: $116 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing