We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Tour”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #172 of 436 Restaurants in Bergen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Traditional Chinese restaurant since 1988. We serve cantonese and sichuan dishes. We are a family and children friendly restaurant. Everyone is welcome in China Palace.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is centrally located and the interior is excellent with a lot of oriental decorations. Today we had lunch at this restaurant. Nothing special the food taste. I only tasted salt in all foods we ordered. The Golden Mountain Chinese Restaurant in Oslo serves much tastier foods.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 387achmadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 387achmadr,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback.

Best regards,
Charlotte Hui
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

I was so looking forward to have food from this place! It looks so fancy and proper. But from my visit to China and Hong Kong.. food here resembles nothing like food I tried there... it’s more like a young housewife who tried to cook after being married. Wok noodle soaked in dark soya sauce as if someone spilled it accidentally.....at least plain white rice was not too bad.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Zhozho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Dear Zhozho,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience was not what you expected and you felt so disappointed.

The local here they like their food with more gravy. I am sorry that the waitress forgot / did not specify that you wanted the noodles in more authentic Chinese style. They made the noodles the way our regular customers usually prefer them.

Had we known that you wanted more authentic Chinese / Hong Kong dishes, we would have recommended different dishes than the sweet and sour pork and deepfried squid paprika that you ordered. Sweet and sour pork is our bestseller, especially for locals, and deepfried squid we normally do not get complaints for. But those dishes are however not what I would recommend for Chinese tourists.

I would recommend for example Mapo Tofu, Aubergine Pot, Beef Tendon Pot, Singapore Noodles, Gongbao dishes, Scallop broccoli, Beef with Chinese pepper sauce. All made in Authentic Chinese style.

We are already working on seperating the dishes we recommend only for Chinese tourists or for people who want to eat more authentic Chinese dishes, in a seperate menu. So that it will be easier for customers like you in the future to order the kind of dishes that you were expecting.

Again, we are sorry that you were so disappointed. I could see that you were not happy when you were leaving, but at that time I did not know why, and I asked the waitress after if there had been any issues with your food. She did mention the noodles, but she did not know that you were unhappy with the other dishes as well.

Our policy is to change the dish if the customer tell us early that they are not satisfied. We would then ask what type of food the customer prefers, and recommend accordingly. If there is any chance or way we could fix this for you, we would.

Sorry again and thank you for feedback that helps us improve,
Kind regards,
Charlotte Hui
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Conveniently located at the central area of Bergen, the China Palace serves great Chinese food. Prices are reasonable, service is friendly, fast and efficient and the place is very clean.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank LuluEspinoNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear Lulu,

Thank you so much for the great review and feedback! :-)

Best regards from all of us in China Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We have been to Bergen a few times, and whilst we are fans of Norwegian food, it has become something of a tradition on our first night to go to this restaurant. It’s on the first floor in the city centre, with window tables good for people watching, but it is for the food....! Excellent choice on the menu, set meals, and all freshly prepared and expertly and efficiently served by pleasant staff. It’s always busy -with locals as well as tourists, which for us is the best recommendation. One not to miss. Not cheap, but good value. Not expensive for Norway.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear John H,

Thank you so much for your great review! ^_^

Best regards from all of us in China Palace :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

after renovation we noticed that the quality of there foods and services get more nicer... last time we went here 2013 was not so satisfying but this time its was a great time.nice food and personnel are nicer than before...
grwat palace somehow.....

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank pryxzelmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Pryxzel May S,

Thank you so much for your nice review. :-)

Best regards from all of us in China Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing