We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishes lacked meaty portions and flavor”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #172 of 436 Restaurants in Bergen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Traditional Chinese restaurant since 1988. We serve cantonese and sichuan dishes. We are a family and children friendly restaurant. Everyone is welcome in China Palace.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

My plate only came with 5 little pieces of chicken and lots of veggies. Typical Chinese restaurant that overloads the veggies and gives you little meat! Also the chicken didn’t seem to “catch” the flavor of the rest of the dish. For a 20 euro dish I would have expected more.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 139viajerofrecuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Bernie C,

Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the chicken dish. 5 small pieces is indeed too little. It should be 6 - 7 pieces minimum depending on the size. It is possible that when kitchen make multiple portion of the same dish that the meat was not distributed evenly. This should not happen, and if this was your case, we apologize. Can you write to us which chicken dish it was and when you where here? We would like to check what happened.

Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience.
Best regards,
Charlotte Hui
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2018

I went with a group of friends for a late lunch/early dinner and we really enjoyed our visit. The prices are more than fair considering the downtown prime location, and the portions are generous. Our waitress was extremely friendly and sweet, and our food was delivered quickly. I've been here 5-6 times now and have never been disappointed. I've tried the deep fried sweet&sour chicken, fried rice and chicken with cashews. All delicious!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear Maren L,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy visiting us.

Best regards from all of us in China Palace :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Took my daughter here for lunch after getting her back to school haircut. I wasn't expecting much, due to location and decor but the food was terrible. The lunch menu only had a few items on it and none of them had any spice in it. The meat was chewy and the sauce was too thick. The staff was nice though.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tripptrapp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Tripptrapp42,

We are sorry to hear that your meal was not how it should be, and thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate this, because the meat should not be chewy, and the sauce should not be too thick.

Can you tell us the date and time, and what you ordered so that we can check what went wrong? Did any staff follow up your table and ask if the food was good?

If you prefer a personal message, you can write us there instead.

We greatly appreciate your feedback to help us improve.

Thank you,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Sullen, manager woman and awful food!
Manager woman is sullen b...., who thinks a world of her, while she is nothing in every way. Somebody should punch her, feel sorry for the waitresses. Unpleasant to everybody and the food is really bad. Dry, small portions and very expensive. Avoid this place, there is much more other restaurants in downtown then this!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karla878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear Karla878,

We always appreciate when our guests provide us with useful, informative and constructive criticism, to help us further improve our restaurant.

After carefully considering your review, and exchanging private messages with you, we regret to inform you that we do not find your remarks either truthful or subject to an unbiased description of the reality.

We come to this conclusion after investigating the remarks you made. When politely asking you to provide additional information, so that we potentially could follow up and improve our way of doing business, you failed to provide us any information that would be easy to provide. For instance, you were not able to mention what food dish you ordered, what date you visited our restaurant, and your description of the “manager” you had strong complaints about, does not match any member of staff at our restaurant.

We feel sorry that you felt compelled to write such a review, but hope you find positive experiences in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Team of China Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

Ordered a simple dish as fried rice. That I order a lot in Chinese restaurant. This is one of the few places it was a big disappointment. It’s a simple dish. The rice was dry and tasteless. I didn’t finish. Ordered a fried banana for dessert and the banana was very doughy, couldn’t finish the dessert.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank SandraMilenaIden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear SandraMilenalden,

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We normally get good feedback regarding our fried rice, so this is sad to hear. Something must have went wrong both regarding your fried rice and dessert. We will inform the kitchen about this and hopefully it will not happen again.

Thank you for your feedback. We would be very happy to fix this for you in any way we can if you ever give us a second chance.

Best regards,
Charlotte Hui
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing