We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food,awful manager”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #172 of 436 Restaurants in Bergen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Traditional Chinese restaurant since 1988. We serve cantonese and sichuan dishes. We are a family and children friendly restaurant. Everyone is welcome in China Palace.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Sullen, manager woman and awful food!
Manager woman is sullen b...., who thinks a world of her, while she is nothing in every way. Somebody should punch her, feel sorry for the waitresses. Unpleasant to everybody and the food is really bad. Dry, small portions and very expensive. Avoid this place, there is much more other restaurants in downtown then this!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karla878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear Karla878,

We always appreciate when our guests provide us with useful, informative and constructive criticism, to help us further improve our restaurant.

After carefully considering your review, and exchanging private messages with you, we regret to inform you that we do not find your remarks either truthful or subject to an unbiased description of the reality.

We come to this conclusion after investigating the remarks you made. When politely asking you to provide additional information, so that we potentially could follow up and improve our way of doing business, you failed to provide us any information that would be easy to provide. For instance, you were not able to mention what food dish you ordered, what date you visited our restaurant, and your description of the “manager” you had strong complaints about, does not match any member of staff at our restaurant.

We feel sorry that you felt compelled to write such a review, but hope you find positive experiences in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Team of China Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

Ordered a simple dish as fried rice. That I order a lot in Chinese restaurant. This is one of the few places it was a big disappointment. It’s a simple dish. The rice was dry and tasteless. I didn’t finish. Ordered a fried banana for dessert and the banana was very doughy, couldn’t finish the dessert.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank SandraMilenaIden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear SandraMilenalden,

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. We normally get good feedback regarding our fried rice, so this is sad to hear. Something must have went wrong both regarding your fried rice and dessert. We will inform the kitchen about this and hopefully it will not happen again.

Thank you for your feedback. We would be very happy to fix this for you in any way we can if you ever give us a second chance.

Best regards,
Charlotte Hui
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

This place is super VEGAN friendly!! So many options! :)
Delicious food, beautiful atmosphere, and excellent service! What more do you want?
I had a delish lunch here :)
I would definitely visit here again!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Veda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear Veda R,

Thank you so much for your great review! ^_^

Best regards from all of us in China Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Good food, vegan section, generous portions and very friendly and professional service.
Broccoli and garlic side is a must!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Vojislaw39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Vojislaw39,

Thank you so much for your nice review. :-)

Best regards from all of us in China Palace :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Good place for lunch time
Fast service, of course all the waiters are not from Norway,take care about the guest.
Food quality can be better, but in general the food it’s good .
Location amazing located in town of Bergen!!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Raiders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte H, Manager at China Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear Raiders58,

Thank you for the review and feedback. :-)

Best regards,
Charlotte
China Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing